GRAIN resources: Home

Search: Afghanistan AND wheat

Plantwise is a global programme led by CABI, which helps farmers lose less of what they grow to plant health problems. Working closely with national agricultural advisory services we establish and support sustainable networks of plant clinics, run by trained plant doctors, where farmers can find practical plant health advice.

AgriKnowledge provides access to key information for agricultural development. 1782 resources are available through AgriKnowledge for searching and downloading. Geographic concentration is currently primarily Africa.

Contains the books digitized by Google from the CIC/Big Ten university libraries, University of California system, many American East coast university libraries and others, Full texts with full text searchability for items published prior to 1924, and some after 1924 that have Creative Common License permissions.

USAID Knowledge Services Center
Library Catalog
More for USAIN employees, not the aid-based population.

The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Access to Global Online Research in Agriculture (AGORA). The AGORA programme, set up by the FAO together with major publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to an outstanding digital library collection in the fields of food, agriculture, environmental science and related social sciences.

Lists free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Covers all subjects and languages. This is THE listing of open access journals.

Google Scholar provides links to open access links and citations to articles and ebooks. Searching is not always precise, but the discovery level is high.

The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) seeks sustainable solutions for ending hunger and poverty. IFPRI is one of 15 centers supported by the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research, an alliance of 64 governments, private foundations, and international and regional organizations.

PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 42,709 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 1,346,186 citations. The Library will add about 20,000 citations each month. The new release also previews its directions for intended functionality and will serve as the foundation for further enhancements. Note that there is both citation-only and full-text content. Many of the citation-only items can be found at the MSU Libraries in subscribed content.

The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Production statistics: Statistics on agricultural production are the most important building blocks for the formulation of development plans and policies. A total of 633 crop and livestock commodities, primary and processed, covering aspects of productive activity such as area harvested, animal numbers, output and yields are housed in the division’s statistical databases.
Trade Statistics: In collaboration with our sister agency, the United Nations Statistics Division, FAO gathers and publishes traded quantities, trade flows and trade values for 540 commodities for every country and region in the world. FAO’s trade data system constitutes the global benchmark for monitoring international product flows in agriculture.
Coverage: generally 1961-curent
Data: Downloads to a CSV table.

In "Publications and Surveys" are Surveys, Statistical Yearbooks, and Statistic Publications.
The Central Statistic Organization (CSO) function as an independent Governmental administration for the purpose of creating and integrated scientific system for Statistic ensuring harmonization and coordination of all statistical activates in the nation.

The Famine Early Warning Systems (FEWS) Network is a leading provider of early warning and analysis on food insecurity. Created by USAID in 1985 to help decision-makers plan for humanitarian crises, FEWS NET provides evidence-based analysis on some 35 countries. Implementing team members include NASA, NOAA, USDA, and USGS, along with Chemonics International Inc. and Kimetrica.
Data & Monitoring tab: Data Shapefiles: Livelihood Zones; Food Insecurity Mapping
Agroclimat Monitoring - available from USGS and NOAA

Contains references to over 95,000 pieces of USAID-funded documentation, including studies, evaluation, conference proceedings, and surveys, about topics such as democracy, population and health, economic growth, the environment, and humanitarian assistance. Reports are in pdf format. Search can be limited by subject, country and year published

The USGS FEWS NET Data Portal provides access to geo-spatial data, satellite image products, and derived data products in support of FEWS NET drought monitoring efforts throughout the world. This portal is provided by the USGS FEWS NET Project, part of the Early Warning Focus Area at the USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Center. Most data sets are from 2012-current but a few go as far back as 1982.

Provided by Ag Data Commons (USDA-NAL), this dataset measures food availability and access for 76 low- and middle-income countries. The dataset includes annual country-level data on area, yield, production, nonfood use, trade, and consumption for grains and root and tuber crops (combined as R&T in the documentation tables), food aid, total value of imports and exports, gross domestic product, and population compiled from a variety of sources.
Coverage: 1990-2015
Countries covered are listed on the site.

The University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries maintain a guide with links to online publications.

Newest Statistical Yearbook issued by the FAO.

This page feature digital collections of documents related to Afghanistan history, culture, and its development during the Jihad period and more. It came about as a partnership of Afghanistan Centre at Kabul University and the University of Arizona Libraries.

The Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection at the University Library at the University of Nebraska-Omaha is the largest collection of Afghan materials in the USA. The Collection is dedicated to the preservation of Afghanistan's history and cultural heritage for current and future generations of scholars. Some materials have been digitized and are available here.

PDF download. This report from 2013 assesses the impact of three ACIAR projects on wheat and maize in Afghanistan. An initial desktop analysis was augmented with a detailed survey of farmers in Afghanistan, undertaken by in-country non-government organisations.

PDF download. The Afghanistan Agricultural Research for Development Program comprised three research projects and was funded by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT). It ran from July 2012 to Dec 2018. This Final Review of the Program was undertaken by a three-person team between August and October 2018.

The Organic Roots Digital Collection is an electronic collection of historic USDA documents published before 1942 (before synthetic chemicals became widely used) that contain information and data that is still pertinent for today's agriculture.

Tools include: Time Series Analysis, Spacial Visualization, Hypothesis Verification, and Knowledge Discovery.

Global Information and Early Warning System (GIEWS) from the FAO. Country Briefs provide up to date information on the food security situation of monitored countries. The Country Briefs include information on the current agricultural season and the harvest prospects for the main staple food crops and livestock situation. In addition, the Briefs provide estimates and forecasts of cereal production and imports together with food price and policy developments. Other topical information may be included when relevant. The Briefs are updated no less than four times per year.

IFDC ( International Fertilizer Development Center) provides a number of Technical Bulletins, Special Bulletins, and other reports as PDF downloads, covering Sub-Saharan Africa, some of which are also country specific.
Click on Publications at the top of the page, the select a category to see the titles available.

The Global Forum for Rural Advisory Services GFRAS is about enhancing the performance of advisory services so that they can better serve farm families and rural producers, thus contributing to improved livelihoods in rural areas and the sustainable reduction of hunger and poverty.

Source: Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics at the University of Maryland.