LibGuides: Company Research: Directories

Directories

Directories are useful for determining if a company is public, private, a subsidiary of a larger company, or an international company. They provide basic company information such as address, phone number, type of business, number of employees, names of key executives, and sales figures.

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Provides access to D&B's Hoover's private and public U.S and international company data. It also contains a directory of U.S. consumers, industry profiles, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. **To use Company Dossier, pop up blocker must be turned off.**

To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from this database, use Text Assembler.
Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Contains directory information on over 14 million U.S. and over 1.4 million Canadian businesses, including detailed information for private companies and franchise locations. ***Previously known as ReferenceUSA.***
Ward's Business Directory This link opens in a new window
***Dates Available: 2007 (ed. 50) - 2012 (ed. 55)***
Provides company profiles on U.S. companies, arranged by alphabet, geography, and industry. Includes brief company data and company rankings.

Nasdaq Public Companies Listings
Free website that lists publicly traded companies by name, region, and industry. Includes international companies.

Michigan Directories

Michigan Business Directory
HF5065.M5 M52 (Business Library, Reference Collection)
Harris Michigan Industrial Directory
HD9727.M5 H3 (Business Library, Reference Collection)
Michigan Manufacturers Directory
HD9723 .D552 (Business Library, Reference Collection)
D & B Regional Business Directory
HG4058.D6 D86 (Business Library, Reference Collection)
There are two regional business directories for Michigan. One covers the Detroit Metro Area, the second covers all Metro Areas aside from Detroit.

MSU Libraries

William C. Gast Business Library

Company Research

Directories

Michigan Directories