Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Statistics: Africa

Sources of international statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive, but provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources.

Africa

World Bank Africa Development Indicators

Now available through World Bank Open Data.  ADI is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators. It also brings an essay on a key topic for Africa, and this years’ theme is the long term growth challenges of the continent.

World Bank Africa Database

This CD-ROM offers a comprehensive database with year-by-year time series of most indicators going back to 1965. It contains over 1,200 indicators of macro-economic, sectoral, and social data for 53 African countries and 20 regional country groups. HC800.A1 W677 Gov Docs CD-Rom collection, 3 West

African Development Report

[Latest in Statistics Alcove, Main Reference Desk, HC800 .A1 A37; earlier in Main; also in IIS microfiche #1020-S5; related statistical publications are available online ] Annual. 1990 on. Published by the African Development Bank, the Report covers "recent economic developments in Africa; an in-depth analysis of a development policy issue of major importance to Africa; and updated statistical information on the African economies."

African Socio-Economic Indicators

[Latest in Statistics Alcove, Main Reference Desk, HC800 .A1 A36; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #3190-S5] Annual. 1983 on.
Contains demographic and social indicators (e.g., population by age, male/female ratios, fertility, access to health care, education) and economic indicators (e.g., GDP, land use, production, imports and exports, government finance).

African Statistical Yearbook

[Latest in Statistics Alcove, Main Reference Desk, HA1955 .U5; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #3190-S1]Annual. 1973 on.
Covers population, employment, agricultural production and trade by industry and commodity, transportation, communications, finance and health facilities. Not all data are available for each country. Note: There is usually several years difference between the publication date and the data coverage dates.

Senegal. Direction de la Statistique. Databases.

Data compiled by the Senegalese Direction of Statistics. Includes socio-economic statistics for Senegal, 1970-2002; socio-economic statistics for the countries of the Union economique et monetaire Ouest africaine, 1990-2000; address book of Senegalese companies, 2002; and Senegalese customs statistics, 1996-2002.

Afrobarometer

"The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa. Afrobarometer surveys are conducted in more that a dozen African countries and are repeated on a regular cycle. Because the instrument asks a standard set of questions, countries can be systematically compared. Trends in public attitudes are tracked over time. Results are shared with decision makers, policy advocates, civic educators, journalists, researchers, donors and investors, as well as average Africans who wish to become more informed and active citizens."

Michigan State University