Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Statistics: Asia, the Middle East, and the Pacific

Sources of international statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive, but provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources.

Asia, the Middle East, and the Pacific

Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific

[Latest in Statistics Alcove, Reference Desk, HA1665 .S73; earlier in Gov. Docs. stacks; also IIS microfiche #3170-S10]
Annual. 1968 on. Published by the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, this has summary tables for the region, and detailed tables for each country. Statistics cover a wide variety of subjects: population, agriculture, industry, household expenditures, wages, transportation and communication.

Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific

Latest in Statistics Alcove, Reference Desk, HC411 .E357; earlier in Int'l Docs.]
Published by the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, this publication gives an overview of economic conditions along with some statistics and graphs. Goes with the Statistical Yearbook, above, and is good for analysis.

Key Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries

[Latest in Statistics Alcove, Reference Desk, HC 411 .A754; earlier in Main stacks; also IIS microfiche #1130-S2]
Annual. 1990 on. An Asian Development Bank publication providing summary tables for the region, and detailed tables for each country. Statistics cover a wide variety of subjects: population, agriculture, industry, energy, national accounts, and trade. Earlier title: Key Indicators of Developing Member Countries of the ADB.

SESRTCIC: Statistical Database for Islamic Countries

Statistical Database for Islamic countries, which means here most countries in the Middle East, Central and Southeast Asia, and Africa. Data covers a broad spectrum of economic, social and demographic topics from 1975-present, but there are many gaps in the actual data that is available.

Arab Monetary Fund: Foreign Trade

Covers 1990-2003. Includes exports and imports by SITC.

Arab Monetary Fund: Economic Indicators

Covers 1990-2001. Includes National Accounts, prices, public finance, money and credit, foreign trade, balance of payments, external debt and exchange rates.
Provides data on China, including macroeconomic statistics, economic reports, city statistics, regional statistics, industrial statistics, yearbooks, etc.

China Data Online

Provides data on China, including macroeconomic statistics, economic reports, city statistics, regional statistics, industrial statistics, yearbooks, etc.

IndiaStat

Indiastat.com is a cluster of 51 sites including India-specific, Sector specific and State specific sites rendering its dedicated services to the research fraternity from academic, professional and corporate world with authentic and comprehensive compilation of secondary level socio-economic statistical data about India and its states on more than 35 variables.
Limit one simultaneous user, click "IP Access User" link on login box.


Michigan State University