Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Statistics: Europe

Sources of international statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive, but provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources.

European Statistics

Eurostat

Official website of the statistical agency of the European Commission. Hundreds of statistical reports under Data and Publications, including a broad range of statistics from health to exports to employment.

Eurostat Yearbook

[Latest in Statistics Alcove, Main Reference Desk, HA1107.5 .E976; earlier in Int'l. Docs. 3 West; also IIS microfiche #1600-S62] Annual. 1995 on.
Data are provided for EU and EU candidate countries, U.S., Canada and Japan. Topics include: people (mortality, migration), land and environment, national income and expenditures, trade and industry, the European Union budget and internal economy.  Most recent year also available online at the Eurostat website.

Regions Statistical Yearbook

[Latest in Statistics Alcove, Main Reference Desk, HA1107.5 .A2; earlier in Int'l Docs. 3 West; also IIS microfiche #1300-S57] Annual.
Main regional indicators including population, birth rate, employment, activity rate, gross value added. Economic and social data by province. Earlier title: Yearbook of Regional Statistics

TransMONEE Database

From the UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre, this database provides access to economic and social statistics for 27 transition countries in Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. Data is from 1989-present, but there is usually a 2 year delay in data publication..

Trends in Europe and North America: Statistical Yearbook of the ECE

[Latest in Statistics Alcove, 1 East, HA1107 .T746; earlier in Int'l Docs. 3 West]
Data provided include population, density, life expectancy, infant mortality, employment, unemployment, expenditure on education and health, GDP, consumer price index, exports, imports, exchange rate. Most recent edition is available online.

stat@unece: Statistical Database of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

stat@unece is the statistical database maintained by the Statistical Division of the UNECE Secretariat. It provides detailed statistical information on countries in Europe, North America and Central Asia. Data are organized by domains and subject or policy areas. Currently two main domains are covered: Macroeconomic statistics Gender and social statistics The database is free of charge and data can be exported in several file formats.

Statistics Resources for the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, and Belgium

Library research guide.  Find web and print resources containing statistics on the United Kingdon (England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales), Ireland, France, and Belguim.

Michigan State University