Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Selected Basic Resources for Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Find Articles

Use Indexes to Find Journal Literature

NOTE: Many of the discipline-based indexes, and the large inter-disciplinary indexes such as Proquest and Social Sciences Abstracts, are international in scope and are linked under "Commonly Used Indexes" on the Libraries' Electronic Indexes page. Listed below are a few key indexes only. Prisma and HAPI are the indexes devoted to Latin American studies.

Prisma and HAPI Online are fully integrated-- Prisma offers key titles that are indexed in HAPI Online and incorporates HAPI indexing directly into the database. They are produced by different providers using different search algorithms, so results differ. Try both!    

Prisma

More than 150 full-text titles are currently available, most with a backfile to the year 2002, with some back to the mid-nineties. The Prisma search interface is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodical Index)

 Provides access to articles in journals published in Latin America, but also indexes the Latin America-related content of many major North American and European journals. Coverage from 1970 to the present. 

About a third of citations are linked to full-text outside of HAPI. Click through the Article Linker for full-text access from other sources.

Tip: HAPI assumes truncation. For example, “argentin” would return results including “argentina”, “argentine”, “argentinian”, etc.

Historical Abstracts

Good coverage of Latin America. Index coverage from 1954 forward, providing access to historical articles for the Modern period (1492-present).

MLA International Bibliography (standalone)

MLA International Bibliography (via Literature Online, LION)

MLA is the most important index for the world's languages and literatures, folklore and linguistics scholarship. Indexes journals, books, working papers, proceedings, and dissertations.

PAIS International (including Archive)

A key resource for the literature of public and social policy. Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books and book chapters, and government documents. PAIS Archive is a retrospective database supplementing PAIS International containing more than 1.2 million records covering the years 1915-1976.

Michigan State University