LibGuides: Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Newspapers and Magazines

How to Search: Newspapers

Latin American Newsletters at LatinNews.com (London, England)
Leading source of political and economic intelligence. Regional reports are issued monthly:

Andean Group
Brazil and Southern Cone
Caribbean & Central America
Mexico & NAFTA

Latin American Newsletters Weekly Report

The Newsletters ceased print distribution with the March 2020 issues. Back issues in print:

Latin American Regional Reports. London: Latin American Newsletter, Ltd., 1986-

Andean Group [HC161 .L255, Remote storage]
Brazil and Southern Cone [HC186 .L375, Remote storage. Aug. 2003- ]
Caribbean & Central America Report [HC151.A1 L37, Remote storage]
Mexico & NAFTA Report [HC131 .L374, Remote storage]

Brazil [HC186 .L37, Remote storage] 1999-July 2003 only
Southern Cone [HC161 .L256, Remote storage] 1999-July 2003 only

Latin American Weekly Report. London: Latin American Newsletter, Ltd., 1986- .
[F1401 .L25, Remote storage]

Briefings on key developments in Latin America, with the currency advantage of a weekly publication schedule.

NACLA Report on the Americas New York, N.Y.: North American Congress on Latin America, 1977-
Offers commentary and analysis of political trends and events in Latin America, especially as related to relations with the United States. Issues for1992 forward, with full-text articles from Sept/Oct 1997. Earlier print issues are available in Main Library Special Collections.

Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection traces the evolution of Mexico during the pivotal era of Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929). It provides rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era, including coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.

Most of the titles were sourced from the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, a renowned research library at the University of Texas at Austin for area studies pertaining to Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Latino presence in the United States.
Open Access collection of titles digitized by CRL and East View Information Services under the Global Press Archive (GPA) Charter Alliance. This collection, with a preliminary release of 135,000 pages from 477 titles, will ultimately include approximately 1,000 titles.
World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers, 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable collection of Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Issues from some 80 titles are now included in the expanded collection.
Access World News, Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection includes local, regional, national and international news sources. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions. **To use Company Dossier, pop up blocker must be turned off.**

To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from this database, use Text Assembler.

MSU Newspaper Database List
Latin American Daily Briefing
Border Report
Latin American Network Information Center
Please note that as of July 2015, this page is no longer being actively updated or maintained. The page remains at this address as an archival and research resource.

Gale OneFile: Informe Academico This link opens in a new window
The first electronic database in Spanish, Informe! is specifically designed to meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users. With full-text articles from the most popular Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals, it provides quality Hispanic reference material not simply Spanish translations of English-language materials. And its powerful, easy-to-use interface is configured for Spanish-speaking users allowing researchers to think about a topic and conduct searches in Spanish. In short, Informe! offers Spanish-speaking library users the same high-quality research environment that is available to English speakers.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Latin American and Caribbean Studies: Newspapers and Magazines

How to Search: Newspapers

Newspapers and Magazines