LibGuides: MSU Map Library: Links to Useful Sites: Imagery

Online Imagery (Aerial & Satellite)

NAIP Imagery
The National Agriculture Imagery Program (NAIP) acquires imagery during the agricultural growing seasons in the continental U.S. A primary goal of the NAIP program is to enable availability of digital orthophotography within a year of acquisition.
USDA National Resource Conservation Service
Provides county-wide mosaics of 2005 through present orthoimagery.
Aerial Views of Detroit Area, 1949-1997
From Wayne State University, funded by DTE. Available in 72ppi and 600 ppi
SEMCOG Imagery
SEMCOG (Southeast Michigan Council of Governments) collaborative aerial photography purchases. SEMCOG's aerial imagery collection consists of nine flights (or surveys), the first in 1966 then every five years since 1970. Each survey covers the seven counties in Southeast Michigan consisting of Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, Wayne, and Washtenaw Counties.
The Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth
The Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth hosts the best and most complete online collection of astronaut photographs of the Earth from 1961 through the present. Click on the world map to bring up a list of available tiles. From the list, click on the Tile Number to see a full list of viewing options and tools.

MSU Aerial Image Archive

The main repository of aerial photography at MSU is located in the Geography Building (formerly the Psychology Research Building) on Auditorium Road at the corner of Bogue. The Archive contains photos back into the 1920's, some in black-and-white and some in color. The Archive is entirely scanned and available online. You must create an online profile for yourself in order to see the inventory and place an order. Please contact them with any questions at (517) 355-3771

Detail from 1938 photo near Gull Lake.

Google Maps

Google Maps recently improved its imagery for the Lansing area. Right click on a place and choose "What's Here?" to reveal the latitude/longitude coordinate.