Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Criminal Justice: Data and Statistics: Data Archives

Data Archives & Data Set Compendiums

Data archives contain raw data files that are used for secondary analysis in research.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
A special topical archive of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).  It is primarily sponsored by agencies within the U.S. Department of Justice, namely the Bureau of Justice Statistics.  The central mission of NAJCD is "to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data." Data files are available for download and online data analysis is available for some studies.  Users must first register with ICPSR using a current @msu.edu email address.  Reports and publications based upon NACJD data may be found in the Bibliography of Data-Related Literature and are also listed with the documentation for each corresponding data set.  Researchers can also deposit raw data from research projects for others to use as well.

National Juvenile Court Data Archive 
The National Juvenile Court Data Archive houses the automated records of cases handled by courts with juvenile jurisdiction.  The Archive was established by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, within the U.S. Department of Justice, to promote access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policymaking efforts.  This web site was developed to inform researchers about the available data sets and the procedures for use and access.

Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center
The Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC) is housed at the University of Michigan's Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). TPDRC archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror.  TPDRC is jointly managed by researchers here at the Michigan State University School of Criminal Justice along with other contributers.

Hall of Justice (Sunlight Foundation)
A robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.  While not comprehensive, Hall of Justice contains nearly 10,000 datasets and research documents from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the federal government. The data was collected between September 2014 and October 2015. We have tagged datasets so that users can search across the inventory for broad topics, ranging from death in custody to domestic violence to prison population. The inventory incorporates government as well as academic data.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Contains data on numerous topics such as violence. Note : A Saundra Schneider and Christopher Maxwell are the Michigan State University contacts for these data sets.  See. https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/membership/administration/institutions/12

---

Data set links

Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets
This website is a section of the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Statistical Briefing Book.  It is an online resource for researchers that is intended as an aid to investigations of juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. It both publicizes data sources that users may find valuable and provides information intended to help with the practical aspects of obtaining and analyzing data.

Data Sets on & related to Violence Against Women
This list was developed by the National Resource Center on Domestic Violence (NRCDV) in collaboration with the National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC) to serve as a resource for advocates and others concerned about safety and justice for women and their children.

Finding, Acquiring, and Using Criminal Justice Data

Christopher S. Dunn, former Director, National Archive of Criminal Justice Data, ICPSR/University of Michigan, shared a powerpoint presentation on Finding, Acquiring, and Using Crime and Justice Data at the 2002 American Library Association Conference. 

Captured by Amy West, University of Minnesota Libraries Social Sciences Data Services.

More Archives

For a list of additional data archives go to the Data Archives Research Guide.

Michigan State University