Skip to main content
Michigan State University

U.S. Federal Government Information: A Basic Guide: Miscellaneous

Interesting Web Sites

Free Government Information : excellent compilation of breaking news from government information related blogs around the country.

Government Information : The College of William and Mary Earl Greg Swem Library posts new documents of interest almost every day!

Government Information on the Web Subject Index : courtesy of Kathy Amen, St. Mary's University, Blume Library, San Antonio, Texas.

Government Information Student Interest Group (GISIG) Tumbler Page : The University of Wisconsin, School of Library and Information Studies, tracks breaking news and current interest items.

University of Colorado Government Subject Guides.

University of Louisville Government Resources Quick Find : a portal for finding numerous library research guides related to government information.

GODORT Occasional Papers.

Benefits of Being a Federal Depository Library

FDLP Desktop  : Helpful advice for the federal depository librarian.

Godort of Michigan Wiki Page : Helpful information for Michigan depository librarians.

Documents to the People (DttP) Archive From Stanford University: This digital archive contains all issues of the journal published from its inception in 1972 through 2002 (volumes 1-30). In addition to the journal issues, the site contains the indexes that were published and a number of related resources.

Red Tape Blog : focuses on Michigan state government news and also features items highlighting today in Michigan history.

GPO Digitization Registry ProjectGPO is trying to coordinate library digitization projects with the Digitization Projects Registry.

Government Documents Quiz from Rob Lopresti, Western Washington University.

Presentations

Help! I’m an Accidental Government Information Librarian : a webinar series from the North Carolina Library Association's Government Resources Section.

Government Information BasicsNearly 300 federal agencies. Millions of websites. 1 clueless patron. 1 somewhat clueless library staffer. How do you connect all these pieces together to create a positive reference transaction? Join Kirsten Clark, Government Information and Regional Depository Librarian, University of Minnesota Libraries, to learn government information reference interview techniques and basic websites to start with in answering government related questions. Gain confidence in dealing with government information and find out contacts within the Minitex region to go to for additional help in answering those more complex questions. This webinar is first in a series of government resource trainings to be offered throughout Fall 2012 and Spring 2013.

From News to the Document: Finding Government Information Mentioned in Newspapers, Blogs & Tweets.  "I read about this EPA document on a news blog last year and want a copy." "Representative Ellison mentioned a report on Twitter. How do I find it?" Surprising as it is to library staff, media doesn't focus on the same citation level as we would like. Sometime all you have is a popular title, an author's last name, perhaps an agency identified. In this webinar, join Kirsten Clark, Government Information and Regional Depository Librarian at the University of Minnesota Libraries, to learn tips and techniques to help track down these sometime elusive government publications.

Homeland Security Digital Library webinar, February 27, 2013 : a webinar series from the North Carolina Library Association's Government Resources Section.

LGBT Resources in Government Information, February 12, 2013.   Powerpoint and handout also available.  Often, we think of LGBT resources as those specifically labeled and recognized as such: an encyclopedia called “encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history” or a database indexing articles from LGBT journals. However, there are many excellent LGBT resources hiding in plain sight and freely available from government sources. Census data, legislation about human rights, and agency reports on a range of topics are a few examples of these riches. Join us in this webinar with Reference and Instruction Librarians, Danya Leebaw and Heather Tompkins, from Carleton College to explore an array of government publication sources useful for supporting research in LGBT studies and serving LGBT communities. Presenters:
Heather Tompkins, Reference and Instruction Librarian for Humanities, Carleton College
Danya Leebaw, Reference & Instruction Librarian for Social Sciences, Carleton College

Six-State Virtual Government Information Conference : includes presentations made August 8-10, 2012.

Six-State Virtual Government Information Conference : includes presentations made in 2010.

FDsys Educational Webinar Series

American Factfinder : Access to Census Statistics, February 13, 2013.

Census Data Immersion : From Novice to Skilled Data Miner in 60 Minutes, August 7, 2012

A Year and a Week in the Life of … a Depository Librarian.

 

Census Info

American Fact Finder

Census Bureau Regional Office (Chicago) not only answers difficult questions, but can provide workshops on occasion.

Census Tract and Map Info

Historical Census Browser, 1790-1960 (University of Virginia)

Guide to State and Local Geography

Census Bureau Training Resources Library provides a collection of tutorials.

Census Bureau Training Events provides a list of upcoming webinars.

Michigan State University