Skip to main content
Michigan State University

U.S. Census Statistics: Census of Agriculture

Census statistics are a rich source of U.S. economic, social and demographic statistics, particularly for small areas and local communities.This is a basic guide to the major U.S censuses.

Agricultural Atlas

Percent of Principal Farm Operators Reporting Primary Occupation as Farming: 2007

Source: Ag Atlas, 2007

Census of Agriculture

The Census of Agriculture was part of the Census of Population and Housing (Decennial Census) until 1920. After 1925, it was conducted at 5-yearly intervals, currently in years ending with -2 and -7.  In 1997, responsibility for the Census of Agriculture was transferred from the Census Bureau (Dept. of Commerce) to the National Agricultural Statistics Service (Dept. of Agriculture). The census provides information on agricultural production, statistics on farms and farm operators, values for crops and livestock and fertilizer use.

Agriculture Census Data

CURRENT AGRICULTURAL CENSUS OF THE UNITED STATES

USDA Census of Agriculture - 2012

USDA Census of Agriculture - 2007

USDA 2002 Census of Agriculture

Census of Agriculture - Michigan
The Census of Agriculture for Michigan is available online from 1945 through the current 2007 Census.

MAPS -

Agricultural Atlas Maps - 2007 Census of Agriculture
Agricultural Atlas Maps - 2002 Census of Agriculture, Maps and Cartographic Resources 
1997 Agricultural Atlas of the United States, Maps Index
1992 Agricultural Atlas of the United States 

HISTORIC AGRICULTURAL CENSUS OF THE UNITED STATES
Agriculture and crop information was published in the Census of Population & Housing series from the Census Bureau until 1997, after which the USDA compiled and released the information. The links below will take you to the Census of Population & Housing site then you will need to click on the year and a list will appear to select the appropriate volume or series, and then you may select between PDF and HTML formats.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970, Bicentennial Edition, 1975.
Supplement to the Statistical Abstract, bicentennial edition. Contains annual, time-series data with national coverage on almost any aspect of United States economics, population or infrastructure since the government began recording statistics. Data by decade from 1850 to 1970.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 3 WEST C 3.134/2:H 62/789-970/  pt.1 and pt. 2

Census of Agriculture - Historical Reports, USDA Ag Census website  WORKS BEST IN INTERNET EXPLORER - FIREFOX EDITIONS WON'T ALWAYS LOAD CORRECTLY
The 1840 Census was the first to include statistics on agriculture. Since then, each subsequent census has continued to gauge the overall picture of U.S. agriculture. Many of these are available on-line through the U.S. Census Bureau website or here as PDFs. [Site covers 1840-1950, with links to the 1992, 1997, 2002 and 2007 reports.]

Below are individual titles and links to the volumes that contain field crop and vegetable information for Michigan and Michigan Counties and Michigan Territory, oldest to newest.

Third census of the United States, 1810. V. 2. Statement of the arts and manufactures of the United States of America, for the year 1810.
Contains information for the "Michigan Territory" on pages 37 and 38 in part 1, and on page 166 in part 2. [You will need to un-zip the file to access the tables in the pdf format.]
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East  I 4.5:  v.2

The seventh census of the United States: 1850. Embracing a statistical view of each of the states and territories, arranged by counties, towns, etc. with an introduction, embracing the aggregate tables for the United States compared with every previous census since 1790...
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      I 8.5:1

Agriculture of the United States in 1860; compiled from the original returns of the eighth census, under the direction of the Secretary of the Interior by Joseph C. G. Kennedy, Superintendent of census.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      I 9.5:2

Census reports. United States. Census Office.  9th census, 1870. v.3. Industry and wealth.
Vol. 3 contains the Agriculture Stats by State.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      I 10.5:  v.3

Tenth census: June 1, 1880. United States. Census Office. 10th census, 1880.  FINAL REPORTS: v. 3. Productions of agriculture; v. 9. Forests of North America
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      I 11.5:

Census reports: Eleventh census: 1890: FINAL REPORTS:. V. 5 - Agriculture; V. 13: Report on Farms and Homes: Proprietorship and Indebtedness in the United States
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      I 12.5 

Census reports: Twelfth census of the United States, taken in the year 1900. v. 5 pt. 1 - Farms, Livestock and Animal Products; v. 6 pt. 2 - Crops and Irrigation.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      I 13.5

Thirteenth census of the United States taken in the year 1910. V. 5 - Agriculture, 1909 and 1910: General report and analysis. V. 6 - Reports by States, with statistics for counties; Alabama-Montana; V. 7 - Reports by States, with statistics for counties; Nebraska - Wyoming, Alaska, Hawaii and Porto Rico.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.16

Fourteenth census of the United States taken in the year 1920. V.5 - Agriculture: General report and analytical tables. 1922. V. 6 pt. 1 - Agriculture Reports for states, with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States and the north, south and west. The northern states. V. 6 pt. 2 - The southern states. V. 6 pt. 3 -  The western states and outlying possessions.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East     C 3.28/5 

Census of agriculture: 1925. Reports for states, with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States ... Prepared under the supervision of William Lane Austin, chief statistician for agriculture.     pt. I. The northern states; pt. II. The southern states; pt. III. The western states.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East     C 3.31/4:925/

Fifteenth census of the United States. 1930. Agriculture.
  v. 1 Farm acreage and farm values by townships or other minor civil divisions;

  v. 2. Reports by states, with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States:
    v. 2 pt. 1. The northern states;
    v. 2 pt. 2. The southern states;
    v. 2 pt. 3. The western states;

  v.3. Type of farm. Reports by states, with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States:
    v.3 pt. 1. The northern states;
    v.3 pt. 2. The southern states;
    v.3 pt. 3. The western states;

  v. 4. General report, statistics by subjects.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.37/5:AG 8/  

Fifteenth census of the United States. 1930. Census of distribution. Agricultural commodity series.
  V. 1 -  The assembling of agricultural commodities by retailers
  V. 2 - Cooperatives as a factor in the distribution of agricultural commodities;
  V. 3 - Assembling of butterfat through cream stations;
  V. 4 - Distribution of butter, cheese, evaporated and condensed milk, and ice cream;
  V. 5 - Distribution of grain;
  V. 6 - Distribution of livestock.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East     C 3.37/34:1-6 

Fifteenth census of the United States: 1930. Horticulture. Statistics for the United States and for states, 1929 and 1930. Prepared under the supervision of William Lane Austin, chief statistician for agriculture.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.37/5:H 78 

Fifteenth census of the United States. 1930. Special or Miscellaneous Agriculture Reports:
Chickens and chicken eggs and turkeys, ducks, and geese raised on farms. Chickens and poultry products, with selected items by size of flock, for the United States, and counties, 1930 and 1929MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.37/15:C 43
The farm horse. 1933. MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East     C 3.37/15:F 22/ 

Farm real-estate values in the New England States, 1850-1930MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.37/15:F 22/3
Large-scale farming in the United States, 1929MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.37/15:F 22
The Negro Farmer in the United States. 1930MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.37/15:N 31
Taxes on farm property in the United States. 1933. MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.37/15:F 22/2
Types of farming in the United States. 1933MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.37/15:F 22/4

Census of agriculture, 1935 Reports for states with statistics for counties and a summary for the United States ... 
Vol. I. Farms, farm acreage and value, and selected livestock and crops. pt. 1. The northern states [Includes Michigan]. pt. 2. The southern states. pt. 3. The western states. 1836.
Vol. II. Farms and farm acreage by size, land of part owners, farm population, dwelling, labor, years on farm, part-time work; specified livestock and livestock products; annual legumes, vegetables, fruits and miscellaneous crops; and irrigated crop land. pt. 1. The northern states. pt. 2. The southern states. pt. 3. The western states. 1936.
Vol. III. General report. Statistics by subjects. 1937.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East       C 3.31/1:935/  v.1- 3

1940 Census

16th census of the United States: 1940. Agriculture ... First series. Uses of land, principal crops and classes of livestock with statistics for counties ...  [Michigan]
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.31/4:940/  v.1:pt.1

United States census of agriculture: 1945 / prepared under the supervision of Ray Hurley, chief, Agriculture division. Department of commerce ... Bureau of the census.
1. Statistics for counties. Farms, acreage, value, characteristics, livestock, livestock products, crops, fruits and value of farm products. 34 pts.--2. General report, statistics by subjects, for the United States, geographic divisions, and states.
Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 6
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East   C 3.31/4:945/  v.1 pt.5-9

1950 - Census

United States census of agriculture: 1950.
v. 1. Counties and state economic areas. 34 pts. -- v. 2. General report. Statistics by subjects. -- v. 3. Irrigation of agricultural lands. 18 pts. -- v. 4. Drainage of agricultural lands. -- v. 5. Special reports. 10 pts.Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 6
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.950-9:  v.1, pt.6

United States census of agriculture: 1954.
v. 1. Counties and State economic areas. 33 pts. -- v. 2. General report, statistics by subjects. -- v. 3. Special reports. 12 pts.
Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 6
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East     C 3.31/4:954/  v.1, pt.6

U. S. census of agriculture, 1959 : final report. Vol. 1, Counties. Pt. 13. Michigan / prepared under the supervision of Ray Hurley ; U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.31/4:959/v.1/pt.13  v.1:pt.13 

United States census of agriculture: 1964.
Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 13
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East    C 3.31/4:964/ v.1, pt.13

1969 census of agriculture.
Michigan crop data is in Vol. 1, pt. 13
C 3.31/4:969/ Vol. 1, pt. 13

1974 census of agriculture.
v. 1. State and county data. 54 pts. in 34 v.--v. 2. Statistics by subject. 2 v.--v. 3. Agricultural services.--v. 4. Special reports.
Michigan crop data is in v.1, pt.22
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.31/4:974/  v.1, pt.22

1978 census of agriculture.
v. 1. State and county data. (pts.1-56) -- v. 2. [Statistics by subjects and the ranking counties report will not to be published] -- v. 3. Agricultural services -- v. 4. Irrigation -- v. 5. Special reports: pt.1. Graphic summary. pt.3. Coverage evaluation. pt.4. Special reports. Procedural history. pt.5. Drainage of agricultural lands. pt.6. 1979 farm finance survey. pt.7. 1979 census of horticultural specialties. pt.8. 1979 farm and ranch irrigation survey. pt.9. 1979 farm energy.
Michigan crop data is in v.1, pt.22
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.31/4:978/  v.1 pt.22

1982 census of agriculture.
Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan, state and county data
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.31/4:982/v.1/pt.22

1987 census of agriculture. Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan state and county data
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.31/4:987/v.1/pt.22

1992 census of agriculture. Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan, state and county data
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      C 3.31/4:992/V.1/Pt.22

1997 census of agriculture. Volume 1, Geographic area series. Part 22, Michigan, state and county data
MSU CENSUS ALCOVE, 1 East      A 92.53/22:AC 97-A-22

2002 census of agriculture.

2007 census of agriculture

2012 census of agriculture

Census of Agriculture News

Loading
Michigan State University