Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Education Statistics Sources

A guide to finding education related statistics.

Other Web-Based Sources

Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education  A framework for describing institutional diversity in U.S. higher education.  Begun in 1973, the Carnegie Foundation has made an effort to both expand to meet a changing landscape but to also maintain enough consistency to allow comparisons in time.

Education Week's Quality Counts   Contains state by state data on education quality. See also Technology Counts

Faculty Salaries  AAUP and the Chronicle of Higher Education provide information on faculty salaries by rank at more than 1,400 institutions. The Chronicle covers faculty salaries annually, but appears not to have pulled this information together on this part of their website since 2002.

Grapevine  A national database of tax support for higher education hosted by the Illinois State University College of Education. Individual state reports include current fiscal year and previous fiscal year state tax appropriations for operating expenses and a 50-state summary table showing state totals for the current year, the previous two years, a ten-year figure, and percentages of change over one, two, and ten years.

Higher Education Research Institute (HERI)  HERI is based in the Graduate School of Education & Information Studies at UCLA. Its web site provides information from surveys of faculty and students on such topics as attitudes toward technology, service learning and the college experience. The Institute's holdings include more than a hundred datasets that are regularly maintained for analysis of postsecondary education.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research   ICPSR maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

Kids Count Sponsored by the Annie E. Casey Foundation this series of data reports on the status of children offers a few insights into school aged children at both the national and local levels.

NationMaster.com  Created by Rapid Intelligence, a web tech company based in Sydney, Australia. Allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from the CIA Factbook and other statistical sources. All statistics on the site provide source references.

National Survey of Student Engagement  The National Survey of Student Engagement(NSSE) is annually obtains information from colleges and universities nationwide about student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development. The results are intended to provide an estimate of how undergraduates spend their time and what they gain from attending college.

Teacher Rules, Roles and Rights  National Council on Teacher Quality's online research portal containing data on collective bargaining agreements, board policies, and teacher handbooks from the nation's 50 largest school districts. The database provides answers to over 300 questions, ranging from salary and benefits to how a teacher gets evaluated or download the full text of a teacher contract, just the salary schedule, even the school calendar.

Michigan State University