Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Statistics Resources for the United Kingdom, Ireland, France, and Belgium: United Kingdom

Find here web and print resources containing statistics on the United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales), Ireland, France, and Belgium.

United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland)

Annual Abstract of Statistics [British]   Main HA 1107 .M5

Annual Abstract of Statistics contains statistics on the United Kingdom's economy, industry, society and demography presented in easy to read tables and backed up with explanatory notes and definitions. It covers the following areas: area; parliamentary elections; overseas aid; defence; population and vital statistics; education; labour market; personal income, expenditure and wealth; health; social protection; crime and justice; lifestyles; environment, housing; transport and communications; national accounts; prices; government finance; external trade and investment; research and development; agriculture, fisheries and food; production; banking and insurance etc...

British Historical Statistics Main HA 1134 .M58 1988

Provides statistics on population, labour force, agriculture, fuel and energy, metals, textiles, building, "industrial statistics,", external trade, transportation and communications, public finance, financial institutions, consumption, prices, "miscellaneous statistics," and national accounts. Some on education and schools and some on crime.  Most stats are about the 19th and 20th centuries.

British Social Attitudes Information System

British Social Attitudes survey asks over 3,000 people what it's like to live in Britain and how they think Britain is run. Since 1983 the survey has been tracking people's changing social, political and moral attitudes. It informs the development of public policy and is an important barometer of public attitudes used by opinion leaders and social commentators.The surveys are carried out by NatCen Social Research who also publish the Annual Reports. The 30th British Social Attitudes Report was published on Tuesday 10th September 2013. Analyse the responses to over 20,000 survey questions with results shown in time-series tables and charts. There are three pathways to search for questions. Questions may be found by drop down content lists of topics, full-text searches of the question wording, or browsing the survey-by-survey listings. You must register to use this site, but there is no charge for the information.

U.K. Data Archive

UK Data Archive (UKDA) is a centre of expertise in data acquisition, preservation, dissemination and promotion and is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the U.K. It is a designated Place of Deposit by The National Archives allowing it to ingest and preserve public records. UKDA is based at the University of Essex. Among its family of services are the History Data Service, Economic and Social Data Service, and UK Census Portal. The History Data Service collects, preserves, and promotes the use of digital resources, which result from or support historical research, learning, and teaching.

Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)

Three menu items: About CESSDA, Data Catalogue, and Resources.  Home page has a map indicating member countries.  Click on a country to get to that country's data archive site.  CESSDA's data catalogue may be browsed by topic, keyword, or data publisher. Search box above folder tree.  Goals of CESSDA are to encourage standardization of data and metadata, data sharing, and providing access across repositories, nations, language, and research; it's a legal entity.

Great Britain Historical Database Online 1841-1939

Large database of British nineteenth and twentieth-century statistics. It contains: Statistics from the 1861 Census and the Registrar General's reports, 1851-1861; Employment statistics from the census, 1841-1931; Demographic statistics from the census, 1841-1931; Mortality statistics from the Registrar General's reports, 1861-1920; Marriage statistics from the Registrar General's reports, 1841-1870; Trade union statistics for the Amalgamated Society of Engineers (ASE), 1851-1918; Official poor law statistics, 1859-1915 and 1919-1939; Small debt statistics from county courts, 1847-1913." Free but registration is required.

Focus on London  

Focus on London 2003 is a statistical digest bringing together a wide range of demographic, social, industrial and economic statistics to provide a comprehensive view of London. It is the product of a unique collaboration between the Office for National Statistics, the Government Office for London, the Greater London Authority and the London Development Agency. There are 12 chapters each focusing on a different aspect of London with key facts and figures: the overview, population, environment, housing, economy, labour market, education and training, living in London, tourism and leisure, travel and communications, public services and London government. For older volumes, see same title, Main HA 1139 .L8 F63.

London Datastore

"The London Datastore has been created by the Greater London Authority (GLA) as a first step towards freeing London’s data. We want everyone to be able access the data that the GLA and other public sector organisations hold, and to use that data however they see fit – for free. The GLA is committed to using its connections and influence to request and cajole other public sector organisations into releasing their data here too, and it’s an objective backed strongly by Boris Johnson, Mayor of London."

Monthly Digest of Statistics [British]  

An important reference work containing the latest monthly and quarterly business, economic and social data. Twenty chapters of tables, covering the following topics: National accounts, including Gross Domestic Product (GDP); Population and vital statistics; Labour market; Social services, Law enforcement; Agriculture, food, drinks and tobacco; Production, output and costs; Energy; Chemicals; Metals, engineering and vehicles; Textiles and other manufactures; Construction; Transport; Retailing; External trade in goods; UK balance of payments; Government finance; Prices and wages i.e. Retail Prices Index (RPI); Leisure; and Weather. For older volumes see same title, Main, HA 1122 .A332

National Statistics Online [British]  

This is the U.K.'s home of official statistics, reflecting Britain's economy, population, and society at the national and local level. Summary stories and detailed data releases are published here free of charge.

Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency (NISRA)

NISRA is the principal source of official information on Northern Irelandᄡs population and socio-economic conditions. Statistics are offered here thematically: on agriculture, fishing, forestry; commerce, energy, industry; crime and justice; economy; education and training; health and care; labour market; natural and built environment; population and migration; social and welfare; transportation, travel, tourism. The site also offers links to other U.K. and Irish stats sites.

Regional Trends Archive [British]

Regional Trends is a comprehensive regular source of official statistics for the Statistical Regions of the United Kingdom (Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Government Office Regions within England). It includes a wide range of demographic, social, industrial and economic statistics, covering aspects of life in the regions. The publication is available to download free as a PDF file. The PDF is linked to Excel spreadsheets containing data for each table and figure provided. To access the data, either click on the tables and figures in the PDF or download the Zip file. For older volumes, see Regional Trends and Abstract of Regional Statistics in Main, HA 1122 .A2

Scottish Executive Statistics

The aim of the statistical service in the Scottish Executive is to provide relevant and reliable statistical information, analysis and advice that meets the needs of government, business and the people of Scotland. For older Scottish statistics, see Scottish Abstract of Statistics, Main, HA 1153 .A22.  See also: Scottish Abstract of Statistics  Main HA 1153 .A22 of which we have 1-26, dated 1971-1998; Statistical Account of Scotland Special Collections HC 257 .S4 S48 v. 1-10, published 1791-1799; New Statistical Account of Scotland, published 1845.

Statistics for Wales

The Statistical Directorate collects, processes, interprets and publishes information about the economic and social condition of Wales; and promotes the use of that information in decision making within government and beyond. They cover a wide range of topics including demography, health, housing, education, training, agriculture, industry, the economy, local government, transport, the environment and the Welsh language. For older material see:  Digest of Welsh Statistics in Main stacks at HA 1161 .D5 and Statistical Focus on Wales Main stacks HA 1161 .S73.  Also, Digest of Welsh Historical Statistics Oversize Basement Center HA  1166 .W544 1985 v. 1 and Digest of Welsh Historical Statistics: 1974-1996 Oversize Basement Center HA 1165 .W55 1998.

U.K. 2005 the Official Yearbook of the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland

Definitive overview of the United Kingdom in text, tables, maps, charts. Latest edition includes chapters on government, international relations, defence; education and training, labour market, social protection, health, crime and justice, religion, culture, communications and media, sport, environment, housing, planning and regeneration, transport, sustainable development, the economy, public finance, international trade and investment, science, engineering and technology, agriculture, fishing and forestry, manufacturing and construction, energy and natural resources, and financial services. Information on England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland.

Sources of Non-Official UK Statistics

Published statistical series and marketing data play an important role in provision of information for business, industry, economic analysis, academic, and other research. In the United Kingdom, as in most major economies, central government and its departments are the main suppliers of statistical information. Their statistics are referred to as "official statistics"; the entries above point to "official statistics." However, many other organizations do compile and disseminate statistics. These include trade associations, market research organizations, banks, other financial companies, chambers of commerce, economic research and forecasting organizations, consultants, academic institutions, and commercial publishers. Their data is called "non-official" statistics. This book provides details of almost 900 non-official titles and services in the UK. The book is arranged alphabetically by the title of the organization issuing the statistics. It is indexed by subject and by title of document. Entries describe the contents of the publication briefly, provide frequency of issue, cost, and directions for obtaining the information (address, telephone, web site, etc.)

 

Michigan State University