LibGuides: Linguistics, Second Language, TESOL Resources in the MSU Libraries: Find Articles

Selected Journals

Linguistics Indexes: Articles, Book Chapters and More

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
LLBA provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of monographs, recent books, technical reports, occasional papers, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for LLBA. 1973-present
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC provides indexing and abstracting for more than 600 publications, and includes selected full-text coverage for more than 240 journals in communications, mass media, and related fields. Topics include (among many others) health communication, gender and communication, communication theory, and mass media.

Language Teaching
Brings together in one journal the latest findings in important research worldwide in language teaching and learning.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Other Linguistic Databases
This expanded list includes multidisciplinary discovery tools and indexes in disciplines related to linguistics such as the Social Science Citation Index and PsycINFO.

Finding Article Full Text (After Searching an Index)

Many indexes provide the full text of articles; however, many others do not. For those that do not, there are several ways to find the full text of articles (either in print format or online) after you have searched an index. The steps are detailed below:

Step 1: Look for a Link

When searching an index for articles, take a look at your results screen or a more detailed record of the item you want to retrieve. Often there a link to the full text of the article somewhere on the results screen or in the detailed record. The link may say Jump to Full Text, View Full Text, Text with Graphics, Page Image, or PDF If one of those links appears, click on it and you will retrieve the full text of the article.
If there is no link to the full text, go to Step 2.

Step 2: Find Articles through Find Text@MSU

Look for a Find Text@MSUlink within the record of the article. If there is one, click on it and a new window will open with a series of options for finding the full text. Options will vary but may include:

Find Full Text at…If an online version of the item is available, one or more links will appear in this category. Usually this links directly to a specific article. Sometimes it may link to the table of contents for a journal issue, a list of volumes and issues available for a specific journal, or a search screen. You will then need to navigate or perform a search to reach the full text of the article. Sometimes multiple links offer you a choice of full-text options. If one does not work, try another.
Check Library Catalog… This is a shortcut to search the MSU Libraries’ catalog for availability using multiple search methods (by journal title, title, ISSN or ISBN). Even if the full text is not available online, a print copy may be.
Request a copy from… This is a shortcut to the MSU Libraries’ interlibrary loan service. If an item is not available online or in print at the MSU Libraries, this link helps you request the item using Interlibrary Loan.

Step 3:

If you are still unable to locate the article, proceed to Using a Citation to Find an Article.

My Profile

Stephanie Perentesis

Email Me

Contact:

MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-884-0836

Subjects: Linguistics

Find Journals by Title (Library Catalog)

Have a Suggestion for Improving This Guide?

As the liaison librarian for linguistics and language learning at the MSU Libraries, it's my job to help you navigate the many resources of the library in these disciplines. I welcome any suggestions you have for improving this guide and our collections.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Linguistics, Second Language, TESOL Resources in the MSU Libraries: Find Articles