LibGuides: Agriculture Research Guide: Library Catalog, Ebooks, Media

Catalog Search - New in 2022

Catalog search - Books, media, ebooks, journal titles

Finding Media - DVDs, Streaming films, Music, etc.

MSU Libraries provide access to many purchased or leased streaming videos that are not freely available on the internet. There are records for streaming videos in the library catalog just like there are for books, DVDs and other materials.

Library Catalog for video titles
Type the video / film title into the search box and select Title from the drop-down box.
In the format column below, select the format(s) you need. Hold the CTRL key to click and select multiple options.

To limit to streaming or online videos,
Add the term 'streaming' to the search.
Add other keywords to narrow the search.
Streaming Media - Providers
This electronic resources page lists the packages of our streaming video and music titles. Click on one of the options to browse and search for the titles you like and need.
Database List: Media
This electronic resources provides descriptions of content in our many available databases.
Use the Drop-down options to find those by subject and by vendor/provider.

Plant Science and Ag Ebook Packages at MSU

ACSESS Digital Library - ebooks of the ASA, CSA and SSSA
The American Society of Agronomy (ASA), Crop Science Society of America (CSA), and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA) publishes peer-reviewed books on the topics of agricultural, soil, and environmental science. Our offerings reach a wide audience with all levels of experience and knowledge, and include textbooks, professional guides, special topics books, multimedia presentations, and more.
Annual Plant Reviews online
“With roughly 20 volumes of new content that have been digitalized, Annual Plant Reviews online covers a spectrum of topics relating to pure and applied aspects of plant and crop science.”
Annual Reviews Series
Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide researchers to the principal contributions of their field and help them keep up to date in their area of research. Each article is its own search engine, providing a gateway to the essential primary research literature referenced within each topic. Platform: Annual Reviews.
APS (American Phytopathology Society) ebooks
77+ APS ebooks including the popular ‘Compendium of …. Pests and Diseases’ series (newest edition). We also have electronic access to all of the APS journals.

APS Image Database This link opens in a new window
The APS Image Database includes nearly 7,000 images from APS PRESS books including peer-reviewed images in the Compendium of Plant Disease Series, covering diseases, pests, and disorders of crops, fruits, vegetables, ornamentals, turfgrass, tropical fruits, graphics, trees, pests and diseases.
Distribution Maps of Plant Diseases This link opens in a new window
CAB International, together with our partner, the European and Mediterranean Plant Protection Organization, have been publishing the Maps for over 60 years. From their conception, recognising the need for accurate data on the distribution of plant diseases and pests of economic or quarantine importance, the Distribution Maps have been the authoritative source for this vitally important global geographic information. We have now published over 1000 Disease Maps and they can be browsed, searched and used via this site.
Distribution Maps of Plant Pests This link opens in a new window Distribution Maps of Plant Pests cover important arthropod pests affecting agriculture, horticulture and forestry. Two sets of maps are produced each year, comprising mostly of new maps with a number of map revisions (where significant changes have merited a revision). There are nine pests per map set. By the end of 2018 the total number of different species mapped in the series was over 820. These figures do not include new editions, and many maps have been revised following changes to taxonomy or distribution, some a number of times. This site contains the complete archive of the Distribution Maps as well as the very latest publications. The maps can be searched by preferred scientific name, or synonyms, and browsed by taxonomic group or by year. Typing ‘yr:2018’ in the search box will return all maps published in 2018.

National gardening survey, 2014-current
"All major lawn and garden companies in America use the National Gardening Survey to increase revenues, reduce costs and improve effectiveness. The systematic analysis and market intelligence contained in the report are keys to better planning, budgeting and goal setting.”
Sustainable Agriculture Reviews
There are currently 52 volumes in this series
Published 2009 - current
Advances in Agroforestry, a Springer eBook Series
There are 12 volumes in this series
Published 2004 - 2017
Advances in botanical research / book series
Full access from Vol.1 (1963) - curent.
Advances in Olericulture, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 2 volumes in this series
Published 2019 - current
Agriculture Automation and Control, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 3 volumes in this series
Published 2021 - current
Biotechnology in Agriculture and Forestry, a Springer eBook Series
There are 69 volumes in this series
Published 1986 - 2016
Compendium of Plant Genomes, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 54 volumes in this series
Published 2014 - current
Concepts and Strategies in Plant Sciences
There are currently 8 volumes in this series
Published 2019 - current
Contributions from the United States National Herbarium
All volumes are available in full text and downloadable.
Contributions from the United States National Herbarium [v.1-26 free]
JSTOR platform, Open Access to vols 1-26.
To the Last Smoke / Stephen J. Pyne. - ebook series
A series of 10 volumes on the ecology of forest fires across regions of North America. Books are on different platforms.
Plant Disease Management Reports A merger of the APS online publications F&N Tests and B&C Tests. Volumes 1 (2007) - current online. PDMR was created so that reports encompassing conventional fungicides and nematicides plus reports on biological control substances, varieties and cultural techniques used for disease management, all of which relating to disease management, can be found and searched in the same virtual location.

SpringerLink Ebook Packages
The license allows MSU patrons to download complete chapters and in many instances complete books on this platform. Note that all chapters and authors across all Springer ebooks and journals can be found by searching the platform.

Cooperative Management, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 8 volumes in this series
Published 2014 - current
Developments in Plant Pathology, a Springer eBook Series
There are 16 volumes in this series
Published 1992 - 2004
Forestry Sciences, a Springer eBook Series
There are 81 volumes in this series
Published 1982 - 2018
Fungal Biology, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 42 volumes in this series
Published 2013 - current
Geobotany Studies: Basics, Methods and Case Studies, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 19 volumes in this series
Published 2013 - current
Innovations in Landscape Research, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 4 volumes in this series
Published 2019 - current
Landscape Series, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 22 volumes in this series
Published 2003 - current
Managing Forest Ecosystems, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 36 volumes in this series.
Published 2000 - current
Medicinal and Aromatic Plants of the World, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 7 volumes in this series
Published 2014 - current
The Mycota, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 36 volumes in this series
Published 1994 - current
Plant and Vegetation, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 17 volumes in this series
Published 2007 - current
Plant Biology (Category) - Smithsonian Scholarly Press
Sections: Plant pathology, Plant physiology, Plant biology not elsewhere classified, Phycology (incl. marine grasses), Plant biochemistry, Plant cell and molecular biology
Plant Biology (Category) - Smithsonian Research Data
Sections: Plant pathology, Plant physiology, Plant biology not elsewhere classified, Phycology (incl. marine grasses), Plant biochemistry, Plant cell and molecular biology
Plant Pathology in the 21st Century, a Springer eBook Series
There are 11 volumes in this series so far.
Published 2009 - current
The Plant Press: A quarterly newsletter from the Botany Dept (NMNH) and the U.S. National Herbarium.
All issues available; active journal
Progress in Precision Agriculture, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 2 volumes in this series
Published 2017 - current
Soil Biology, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 62 volumes in this series
Published 2004 - current
Soil Sciences - Smithsonian Scholarly Press
Sections: Soil sciences not elsewhere classified, Land capability and soil productivity, Soil chemistry and soil carbon sequestration (excl. carbon sequestration science), Soil biology
Soil Sciences - Smithsonian Research Data
Sections: Soil sciences not elsewhere classified, Land capability and soil productivity, Soil chemistry and soil carbon sequestration (excl. carbon sequestration science), Soil biology
Sustainability in Plant and Crop Protection, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 17 volumes in this series
Published 2015 - current
Tropical Forestry, a Springer eBook Series
There are 12 volumes in this series
Published 2005 - 2016
Urban Agriculture, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 9 volumes in this series
Published 2014 - current
World Forests, a Springer eBook Series
There are 23 volumes in this series
Published 1999 - 2019
World Soils, a Springer eBook Series
There are currently 29 volumes in this series
Published 2013 - current

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Agriculture Research Guide: Library Catalog, Ebooks, Media

Catalog Search - New in 2022

Finding Media - DVDs, Streaming films, Music, etc.

Plant Science and Ag Ebook Packages at MSU