America History and Life
1964 to date
Searching tips: (1) Choose Advanced Search option. (2) In the Title field, enter the title of the book. (3) In the Document Type field, enter book review. (4) Click on the Display Full Entry button to review abstract
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) (Located within LION (Literature Online)
1920 to date
ABELL contains 860,000 records, including monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world.
Searching tips : (1) Choose individual collections. (2) Choose ABELL. (3) Click on search. (4) Limit to reviews.
Art Full Text with Art Index Retrospective
Over 70 years of coverage
More than simply a resource for art students and art historians, Art Full Text rounds out the research experience for those studying other fields, such as women’s, media, or cultural studies, history, anthropology, industrial design, and more. Art Full Text is where researchers and casual readers can track the careers of artists and review their materials and methods. They can also find books by and about artists, as well as interviews, profiles, and much more. Indexing of art reproductions help users find virtually any work of interest—including works by emerging artists—as well as examples of styles and movements in art. Art Full Text features : Full text of articles from more than 270 periodicals as far back as 1997; high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals as far back as 1984, including 260 peer-reviewed journals (visit the Journal Directory for a searchable list of publications covered); and with the addition of Art Index Retrospective coverage is expanded to 70 years.
Searching tips : Type in title and change default to title. It is possible to restrict search to book review under document type.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Part of ISI Web of Knowledge)
1975 to date
Searching tips: (1) Click on Web of Science. (2) Restrict search to Arts & Sciences Citation Index. (3) Select appropriate years. (4) Change default to author and type in last name if known. (5) Change default to title and type in. (6) Change default type to Document Type and choose book review.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals (Print)
Indexes more than 150 journals.
Searching tips: Arranged alphabetically by author's last name with a separate title index (volume X).
H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences
An interface to an online scholarly review database of book, software, multimedia, exhibit, and film reviews which are published via the H-Net network of e-lists and hosted by Michigan State University.
Humanities Full Text
Covers 1984 to date
Provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. Features : High quality indexing of some 600 periodicals as far back as 1984, over 400 of them peer-reviewed; In-depth abstracts of 50 to 150 words let users know instantly if a cited article is useful to their research; Full text of articles from nearly 250 journals as far back as 1995; a Journal Directory itemizing journals covered.
Searching tips: (1) Enter the title of the book and choose the default Title. (2) Under document type, choose book review.
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities (Print)
1960 to 1990
Indexes 200-500 periodicals for book reviews in the arts and humanities.
Searching tips: Reviews are listed only by author. Note that journal titles are sometimes listed by code numbers; be sure to identify the journal names by using the separate list of code numbers.
Review of Biblical Literature
Founded by the Society of Biblical Literature, presents reviews of books in biblical studies and related fields.
Reviews in American History (Project Muse)
Reviews in American History provides an effective means for scholars and students of American history to stay up to date in their discipline. Each issue presents in-depth reviews of over thirty of the newest books in American history. Retrospective essays examining landmark works by major historians are also regularly featured. The journal covers all areas of American history including economics, military history, women in history, law, political history and philosophy, religion, social history, intellectual history, and cultural history. Readers can expect continued coverage of both traditional and new subjects of American history, always blending the recognition of recent developments with the ongoing importance of the core matter of the field. Vol. 23 (1995) to date available on this web page; MSU faculty and students can access earlier vols. 1-22 (1973-1994) via JSTOR.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
1969 to date
Searching tips: (1) Choose Advanced Search. (2) Enter title and choose the title default. (3) In the limit section, choose Review under Record Type
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900
Useful for locating reviews of English books originally published from 1824-1900.
Searching tips: (1) Click on magnifying glass icon on the tool bar. (2) In the "search for" box, put in the name of the author you are interested in. (3) Double click on an entry of interest and close the search results box. (4) Note the citation within the journal. (5) Scroll up to find the volume number and date. On the bar at the left is highlighted the name of the journal. (6) Check Magic to see if we carry the journal.