Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Book Reviews: Additional Web Sites Worth Checking

Additional Web Sites Worth Checking

AcqWeb's Directory of Book Reviews on the Web
Coverage varies depending on source.
Provides links to the web versions of periodicals and other resources that contain substantial numbers of book reviews. Web sites have to be actively maintained and the authors have to be experienced reviewers or subject experts. Broken out into subject areas.

Amazon.com
Amazon.com provides book reviews from publishers and interested readers on a wide variety of books.

Barnes and Noble's Online Book Reviews
Provides access to the following resources: 

  • New York Review of Books' Readers Catalog
  • New York Review of Books
  • Linguafranca: the review of academic life
  • New York Times Book Review
  • ForeWord Online: the magazine of independent publishing, news, reviews, and more
  • Book: the magazine for the reading life
  • Poets & Writers Online
  • QBR.Com: The Black Book Review online
  • New Republic Online

Booklist
A journal for librarians, especially those in public and school libraries, that publishes reviews of recommended library materials. Offers advance reviews of books, reference resources, and media for children, young adults, and adults. Indicates books suitable for young adults or curriculum use. Selected issues each year focus on a special topic, such as poetry, foreign language titles, or black history.  Published by the American Library Association.

Bookwire

In addition to providing book reviews and pointing to other book review sites on the Web, BookWire includes categorized listings for booksellers, publishers, libraries, and hundreds of other book-related resources on the Internet.  Courtesy of Bowker.

Complete Review
It's summer reading time. Pick your next book by visiting The Complete Review, which offers charts summarizing major critics' reviews of more than 900 books and plays. Its eclectic mix of best-sellers and classics is guaranteed to contain something that you'll enjoy. Find out how 30 different critics rated Jonathan Franzen's The Corrections (he scored an A overall), or read excerpts from the reviews to get a consensus view on the book's strengths and weaknesses. You can also search by grade to see the site's top picks, or by author nationality if you'd like to give your reading list a particular cultural slant.

Foreign Affairs Books & Reviews
Provides foreign affairs book reviews from the journal Foreign Affairs. Note that a search box is available.

New York Review of Books (we now have an online subscription)
Full text of most recent issues. Covers both fiction and nonfiction. Note paper copies are available in Current Periodicals (2 West) by title; earlier issues from volume 1, 1963, on are available in the Main Library Stacks under the call number Z1007 .N45.

New York Times on the Web : Books
A full-text search of the New York Times Books archive of reviews, news and author interviews back to 1996.

Women's Review of Books
The Women's Review of Books, compiled by the Wellesley Centers for Women, appears monthly (except August) and focuses on reviews of new books by and about women, in all fields, including non-fiction, fiction & poetry.  Paper copies are available in Current Periodicals under the title and older issues from volume 1, 1983 on are available in the Oversize Book Collection in the basement.

Yale Review of Books
Provides full text of the last four issues. Covers both fiction and nonfiction. "The oldest undergraduate book review in the nation, a quarterly publication distributed on and around Yale campus and in bookstores and coffeehouses in New Haven, Connecticut. Each issue of the YRB contains book reviews penned by members of the Yale community, interviews with noted authors, as well as essays about literature and matters of contemporary import.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University