Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Book Reviews: Sciences

Sciences

Applied Science and Technology Full Text
1984 to date
EBSCOHost
Covering a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering—from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories, and conference proceedings, this comprehensive reference is useful for any patron interested in applied sciences. Features : full text of articles from more than 220 periodicals as far back as 1997; high-quality indexing and abstracting—done by professionals with advanced degrees in science—of almost 800 periodicals as far back as 1984, including more than 400 peer-reviewed journals (visit the Journal Directory for a searchable list of publications covered).
Searching tips: (1) Enter title and choose the title default. (2) Under document type, choose Book Review

Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
1984 to date
EBSCOHost
Featuring the full text of core literature in biology and agriculture, as well as podcasts, abstracts and indexing of hundreds of publications, and the precise, flexible functionality of WilsonWeb, this is a powerful working, learning, and research tool. Features : Broad coverage of science issues, with about 45 percent of the focus on agriculture; abstracting and indexing of more than 380 publications, with over 200 peer-reviewed, as far back as 1983; and full text of articles from over 100 journals back to 1997 (see our Journal Directory for a searchable list of the publications covered).
Searching tips: (1) Enter title and choose the title default. (2) Under document type, choose Book Review

E-STREAMS: Electronic reviews of Science & Technology References covering Engineering, Agriculture, Medicine and Science
2005 to date
Provides electronic reviews of science & technology works covering engineering, agriculture, medicine and science. Courtesy of Open J-Gate.

General Science Full Text
1984 to date
EBSCOHost
Easy-to-use and designed specifically for students and non-specialists, General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions. This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information. Features: high quality indexing of nearly 300 periodicals as far back as 1984, many of them peer-reviewed; in-depth abstracts of 50 to 150 words—written by professionals with science backgrounds—let users know instantly if a cited article is useful to their research; full text of articles from nearly 100 periodicals, as far back as 1995. Visit our Journal Directory for a searchable list of the journals covered.
Searching tips: (1) Enter title and choose the title default. (2) Under document type, choose Book Review

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Knowledge)
1899 to date
Searching tips: (1) Click on Web of Science. (2) Restrict search to Science Citation Index. (3) Select appropriate years. (4) Change default to author and type in last name if known. (5) Change default to title and type in. (6) Change default type to Document Type and choose book review. 

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University