Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Book Reviews: Social Sciences

Social Sciences Book Review Sources

Asian Review of Books
The Asian Review of Books is a new on-line publication specialising not just in books published in Asia but also on international titles of particular interest to readers in Asia. The Review also provides access to selected reviews in leading international publications. The Review is produced by Paddyfield.com and Chameleon Press, an independent literary publisher based in Hong Kong and the publisher of dim sum, Asia's literary journal. Reviewers come from the community: professionals and others with expertise who can discuss books from the Asian point of view.

Black Issues Book Review
Jan/Feb 1999 to date
The Black Issues Book Review index will assist you in researching books, stories, authors, statistics, reviews, commentaries, and other important issues related to black books.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals  (Print)
1886-1974
Indexes 459 journals in history, political science, and sociology.
Searching tips: Arranged alphabetically by author's last name with a separate title index (vols. 13-15).

Criminal Law and Criminal Justice Book Reviews  

EconLit
1969 to date
Proquest
This database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
Searching tips: (1) Choose advanced search.  (2) Enter title and choose the title default. (3) Under document type, choose Book Review.

Education Full Text
1984 to date
EBSCOHost
Developed to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers, while still containing much of interest to the regular reader, Education Full Text is a complete source of education scholarship. The database encompasses an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks, updated daily on WilsonWeb. Its full-text articles with page images combine with clear abstracts and precise indexing to ensure greater coverage than any competing resource. Features : The full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996; 12 years of full text from Wilson Library Bulletin; and precise, high-quality indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983—over 440 of them peer-reviewed, and including over 40 peer-reviewed open-access journals.
Searching tips: (1) Enter title and choose the title default. (2) Under document type, choose Book Review.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text
1981 to date
EBSCOHost
Relied on for over 50 years for complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, Index to Legal Periodicals is now available with full text! Users will appreciate international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more. This is an excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals, and others involved with the law. Features : Indexing of over 1,025 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications; full text of over 325 select periodicals, as far back as 1994, many of them peer-reviewed; and 18 additional newly added American Bar Association journals in full text.
Searching tips: (1) Enter title and choose the title default. (3) Under document type, choose Book Review.

Legaltrac
1980 to date
Provides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals offers law students, faculty and legal researchers the publications they need for their research and practicum. Each title included is selected on the basis of criteria provided the American Association of Law Libraries.
Searching tips: (1) Enter title and change default to publication title. (2) Under document type, choose book review.

Physical Education Index (Print) 
1978 to date
Provides comprehensive coverage for dance, health, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, sports and sports medicine. Extensively indexes the periodical literature of biomechanics-kinesiology, coaching, facilities, measurement-evaluation, motor learning, perception, physical fitness, research, sport psychology, sport sociology, teaching methods, training, and all sports activities.
Searching tips: Each issue includes a separate book review section after the subject index. Book reviews are arranged alphabetically by author.  

Political Studies Review via Blackwell Synergy
Current
This journal is an offshoot of the leading political science journal Political Studies published by the Political Studies Association. Political Studies Review aims to publish cutting edge review articles and book reviews. The Web site contains the full text of all recent reviews that have appeared in Political Studies up until the launch date of Political Studies Review and will continue to maintain an archive. Books reviewed cover all aspects of politics including: public administration, electoral systems, globalization, international relations, political theory, political policy, political parties and comparative politics. The book reviews database can be searched by author, title, reviewers' name or keyword. It also has a browsable subject index. British focus.

Social Sciences Full Text
1983 to date
EBSCOHost
An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Features : high quality indexing of over 625 periodicals as far back as 1983, nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed; in-depth abstracts of 50 to 150 words—written by professionals with backgrounds in the social sciences—let users know instantly if a cited article is useful to their research; full text of articles from some 215 journals as far back as 1995.
Searching tips: (1) Enter title and choose the title default. (2) Under document type, choose Book Review.

Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Knowledge)
1956 to date
Searching tips: (1) Click on Web of Science. (2) Restrict search to Social Sciences Citation Index. (3) Select appropriate years. (4) Change default to author and type in last name if known. (5) Change default to title and type in. (6) Change default type to Document Type and choose book review. 

Sociological Abstracts
1963 to date
Proquest
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Searching tips: Under advanced search, (1) Enter title and change default to title; (2) Under document type, choose book review.

Business Full Text
1983 to date
EBSCOHost
With this outstanding and comprehensive database, library patrons enjoy access to feature articles, product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews, and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences, and more. Features : Full text of articles from more than 500 key publications as far back as 1995; Wilson quality abstracts and indexing of more than 900 publications as far back as 1982, ensuring that patrons find useful articles quickly.
Searching tips: (1) Enter title and choose the title default. (2) Under document type, choose Book Review.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University