Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Forestry Research Guide: Notable Library Resources

This is a guide to resources in the study of Forestry.

Dendrology: the scientific study of trees

Silviculture: the growing and cultivation of trees. from The New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd. Erin McKean. Oxford University Press, 2005

Referece Materials

Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences (online)
Packed with valuable insights from experts all over the world, this remarkable online encyclopedia not only summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, but also thoroughly covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry. It also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), forest entomology, paper and pulp, wood properties, medicinal and aromatic forest plants, scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management.

The dictionary of forestry / John A. Helms
SD126 .D535 1998

Notable Resources

These are works that can be checked out from the library or are fully available online.

Forest genetics in the Lake states; an annotated bibliography [by] William J. Libby, Burton V. Barnes [and] Stephen H. Spurr.
A good resource for older information, as in a Literature Review or for citation tracking.
MSU MAIN LIBRARY: Z5991 .L3

Guide to management of roadside trees [microform]. Implementation package ; FHWA-IP-86-17. 69 pages.
McLean, Va. : Federal Highway Administration ; [Springfield, Va. : National Technical Information Service, 1986]
MSU GOV DOCS US FICHE, 3 W      TD 2.36:86-17
Link to the document in pdf format: http://www.naturewithin.info/Roadside/Zeigler_FHWA.pdf

Michigan manual of forestry / Filibert Roth
Volumes I. Forest regulation, or, The preparation and development of forest working plans
Volume II. Forest valuation. Ann Arbor, Mich., 1914-16
Full text from the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)Project.

Plants for Michigan roadsides / [Michigan Department of State Highways, Design Division - Roadside Development].
This is a marvelous and rare work of many species of trees and shrubs used for roadside plantings. very descriptive tables address characteristics for each species.  Book is oversized and in closed reference.  Excellent for Landscape Architecture and land use planning and rehabilitation.
MSU Closed Reference    TE178 .M5

Silvics of North America: 1. Conifers; 2. Hardwoods. Agriculture Handbook 654
The silvical characteristics of about 200 forest tree species and varieties are described. Most are native to the 50 United States and Puerto Rico, but a few are introduced and naturalized. Information on habitat, life history, and genetics is given for 15 genera, 63 species, and 20 varieties of conifers and for 58 genera, 128 species, and 6 varieties of hardwoods. These represent most of the commercially important trees of the United States and Canada and some of those from Mexico and the Caribbean Islands, making this a reference for virtually all of North America. A special feature of this edition is the inclusion of 19 tropical and subtropical species. These additions are native and introduced trees of the southern border of the United States from Florida to Texas and California, and also from Hawaii and Puerto Rico.

The swelling and shrinking of wood : a practical technology primer / Otto Suchsland.
In the MSU Faculty Book Collection, First Floor West (2 copies, do circulate)
MSU FACULTY BOOK COLL, 1 WEST: TA420 .S83 2004

Wood handbook : Wood as an engineering material
Electronic format and available in Government Documents.
MSU GOV DOCS US FICHE, 3 W: A 13.88:FPL-GTR-113

The world list of threatened trees
General collection; can be checked out.
MSU MAIN LIBRARY: QK86.A1 O54 1998

Michigan State University