Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Environmental Studies Resources: Environmental Law Resources

MSU College of Law Library

Anyone interested in reseaching Environmental Law on the MSU campus should contact the MSU College of Law Library.

Jane Edwards, B.B.A., J.D., M.L.I.S., Head of Faculty and Public Services Librarian
Telephone: 517-432-6867
Email: edwardsj@law.msu.edu

Ask a Librarian

Confused? 

Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.

Basic Database Available to All MSU Students

Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text (1994 to date) : An excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law, providing complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. Full text is available for over 400 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed, as far back as 1994.  Indexing goes back to 1981.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981) : A retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Content is also drawn from 38 printed compendia, which provides access to approximately 540,000 records. Coverage also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.

LegalTrac (1980 to date) : Covers almost 1000 law reviews, journals, and newspapers. Provides comprehensive and cumulative indexing for approximately 1000 legal publications, including all major law reviews, seven legal newspapers, specialty law and bar association journals. Also covers law related articles from more than 1,000 additional business and general interest periodicals, as well as major legal publications from other English speaking countries. Covers law reviews, case notes, biographies, legal profession news, and legislative news and analysis. Some topics include legal specialties like copyright law, real property, international trade, labor law criminal justice, civil rights, and law office management. Updated monthly.

Lexis-Nexis Academic  (coverage varies depending on resources selected) : Provides the full text of a variety of legal news sources as well as approximately 550 law reviews. For a list of "law reviews and journals covered" click on law sources and then choose law reviews and journals.

Additional databases are available in the MSU College of Law Library.  Ask the Reference staff which are available to the public and which are restricted to staff and students of the law school. 

Selected Web Links

Academic Info Environmental Law Gateway

Cornell University
Legal Information Institute

Environmental Law

The environmental law page of the Legal Information Institute is a quick, concise way to access information about environmental law. While the text gives only a brief overview of the structure of environmental laws in the USA, the column on the right-hand side gives rapid access to all the major environmental acts as well as federal agency code--a very efficient way to access key language and materials. Other links zip the user to search pages where they can find environmental law decisions from either the Supreme Court or the US Circuit Courts of Appeals. Additionally, there are links to some state and international materials. However, it isn't all just dry statutes and case law; there are also connections to federal agency sites and other environmental sites such as Greenpeace. If you want to get to the meat of environmental legal materials, this site puts you where you need to be quickly and without a bunch of fussy graphics.

Cornell University
Legal Information Institute

Natural Resources Law

Cornell University
Legal Information Institute

Pollution Law

EnviroLink
Environmental Legislation and Policy

Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators (ENTRI)
Welcome to ENTRI, a fast, convenient, comprehensive online service for accessing multilateral environmental treaty data. Find status data for environmental treaties, treaty text and other related information easily. Construct custom tables by selecting countries and treaties of interest to you. A collection of resources provided by CIESIN, located in University City, Michigan.

FindLaw
Environmental Law Collection

Materials are sorted out into the following categories: (1) Primary materials, including law and government documents; (2) Publications, including journals, articles, and newsletters; (3) Mailing Lists and Usenet Groups; (4) Government Agency Links; and (5) Course Outlines.

Great Lakes Environmental Law Center : The Great Lakes Environmental Law Center was founded to protect the world’s greatest freshwater resource and the communities that depend upon it.  Based in Detroit, the Great Lakes Environmental Law Center has a board and staff of dedicated and innovative environmental attorneys to address our most pressing environmental challenges.  The Great Lakes Environmental Law Center was also founded on the idea that law students can and must play a significant role in shaping the future of environmental law.  In all of our work, law students are one of the Great Lakes Environmental Law Center’s most valuable resources.

Hieros Gamos Guide to World Environmental Law

JusttheLaw Environmental Law Page

MSU College of Law Library
International Environmental Law Links

Pace Environmental Notes :  A service of Pace Law Library and is compiled by Jack McNeill, Associate Library Director and liaison to the Environmental Law Program. P.E.N. offers the latest periodical publications, library acquisitions and other materials in the areas of environmental and public utilities law, ecology, and related areas. 

Pace University Law Library Environmental Crimes Research Guide.  This guide is designed to assist judges with deciphering the scientific and technical data involved with most environmental criminal offenses. It will also assist legal practitioners in locating resources related to federal environmental criminal law.

Pace University Law Library Environmental Legal Research Guide.  Guide to federal environmental legal research, including the CAA, CWA, ESA and the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA). Other federal environmental statutes are forthcoming: CERCLA, EPCRA, FIFRA, OSHA, RCRA, SDWA and TSCA.

U.S. Department of the Interior Library : Promotes the mission of the Department by providing a full range of professional reference and research services, available to Interior employees in both the Washington, DC, area and nationwide. The Library's collections include Departmental publications, as well as a broad range of related books, journals, and other resources that support the Department’s missions.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Environmental Laws, Regulations, Etc.

Laws passed by Congress and signed by the President serve as the foundation for achieving the nation's environmental and public health protection goals. However, most laws do not have enough detail to be put into practice right away. EPA is called a regulatory agency because Congress authorizes us to write regulations that explain the critical technical, operational, and legal details necessary to implement laws.
In addition to these laws, a number of Executive Orders (E.O.s) issued by the President play a central role in our activities. The major laws and E.O.s are listed on this page and can be roughly divided into two categories:
(1) Laws and E.O.s that influence environmental protection
(2) Laws and E.O.s that influence EPA's regulatory process
For every law, we provide a link to the United States Code (U.S.C.), which is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. When possible, we also provide a link to a PDF version of each law because it is sometimes difficult to read the full text of in the U.S.C. The U.S.C. is updated annually, however, and therefore may provide a more current version of the law than the PDF version.

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Digest of Federal Resource Laws

The Digest of Federal Resource Laws of Interest to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service was originally published by the Office of Legislative Services (now the Division of Congressional and Legislative Affairs) in 1979. This update is the second update since publication of the Digest. The last update was published in 1992. The Digest provides a comprehensive list and description of all federal laws under which the Fish and Wildlife Service functions; including Administrative Laws, Treaties, Executive Orders, Interstate Compacts and Memoranda of Agreement. Choices include:

University of Maryland
Thurgood Marshall Law School

Environmental Law Resources

WashLaw Web's Environmental Law Links

Web Links

The web links on this page were last checked on August 20, 2014.  Notify Jon Harrison if any do not work.

Michigan State University