Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Environmental Studies Resources: Environmental Justice

Ask a Librarian

Confused? 

Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.

Selected Web Sites

Aviva Directory Environmental Justice Web Sites

Detroiters Working for Environmental Justice

EarthJustice  : Earthjustice is a non-profit public interest law firm dedicated to protecting the magnificent places, natural resources, and wildlife of this earth, and to defending the right of all people to a healthy environment. We bring about far-reaching change by enforcing and strengthening environmental laws on behalf of hundreds of organizations, coalitions and communities. Also see Unearthed : the EarthJustice Forum on Environmental Issues 

EJView : An environmental justice geographic assessment online mapping tool to locate facilities by a city, county, state, ZIP code, watershed, EPA region, latitude/longitude, facility or address. The site enables the user to select layers of data: Superfund, toxic release, water discharge, air emission, or hazardous waste sites, railroads, highways, streets, air and water monitors, flood hazard zones, and other data. After selecting data layers, the user can select from a list of demographic data including population density, per capita income, percent minority, percent below poverty, educational attainment, population under 18 years of age, age of the homes, and percent of the population who speak English less than well. Includes Census Bureau data on income and housing tenure (owner or rental occupied). The site also provides links to maps and health data gathered by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) on the incidence of heart disease, cancers, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, pneumonia, and influenze, and liver disease. Data are available by gender or race for blacks and whites. The site also includes a comparison tool that allows the user to map estimated median cancer risk all carcinogens using the National-Scale Air Toxics Assessment (NATA). 

EnviroLink's Environmental Justice

Environmental Defense Fund : Environmental Defense is dedicated to protecting the environmental rights of all people, including future generations. Among these rights are clean air and water, healthy and nourishing food, and a flourishing ecosystem. The site provides an extensive collection of online publications on biodiversity, environmental justice, climate change, health, and oceans. These publications include reports, testimony, factsheets, educational materials, letters, newsletters and a complete catalog of publications. The site also includes links to other websites produced by the Fund, including Scorecard, a site that repackages and interprets data produced by the EPA on toxic chemicals, health effects, and other topics.

Environmental Justice : A compilation of resources by the U.S. Department of Transportation. 

Environmental Justice Books : A selection from the MSU Library union catalog. 

Environmental Justice Case Studies : As part each students' coursework in Environmental Justice: Domestic and International, case studies were written on various grassroots struggles for environmental justice in the United States and all over the world. Students were asked to locate and research a struggle in environmental justice. As a part of that assignment, they were expected to ask a grassroots organization involved in or having some familiarity with the struggle for reccomendations on how to improve or resolve the struggle. This assignment was an opportunity for students to apply the principles they have learned in the classroom to actual struggles. Only the best case studies were selected to be placed on this resource center. Courtesy of the University of Michigan.

Environmental Justice / Environmental Racism : A hard look at Environmental Justice via Environmental Racism, specifically the dumping of Toxic Waste.

Environmental Justice for All: A Fifty-State Survey of Legislation, Policies and Cases : The University of California, Hastings College of Law, Public Law Research Center announces the publication of the third edition of its fifty-state Environmental Justice survey: Environmental Justice for All: A Fifty-State Survey of Legislation, Policies and Cases. This version for the first time includes writeups of EJ cases before the courts and administrative judges, in addition to setting out relevant legislation, polices and initiatives.
Earlier reports are also available. 

Environmental Justice in the Great Lakes Region : A web page provided by the Great Lakes Information Network (GLIN). 

EPA : Enforcement and Compliance History Online (ECHO) : "Use ECHO to determine whether: Compliance inspections have been conducted by EPA or state/local governments; violations were detected; or enforcement actions were taken and penalties were assessed in response to environmental law violations." The search results include links to detailed facility profiles that provide demographic data for the local community at one, three, or five mile radiuses. These profiles include information on the number of households, population density, persons living in poverty or on public assistance, educational attainment, and breakdowns by age or race. The site also includes a search for EPA Enforcement Cases, which provides publicly available federal EPA civil enforcement data tracked by the Integrated Compliance Information System for cases concluded by 09/30/2000. For earlier or active cases, check Enforcement and Compliance Document and Information Center (ECDIC). Search for archived documents by violator or docket number.

EPA : Environmental Justice : Environmental Justice is the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin, or income with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies. EPA has this goal for all communities and persons across this Nation. It will be achieved when everyone enjoys the same degree of protection from environmental and health hazards and equal access to the decision-making process to have a healthy environment in which to live, learn, and work.

EPA : Environmental Justice In Waste Program : EPA defines Environmental Justice (EJ) as the "fair treatment for people of all races, cultures, and incomes, regarding the development of environmental laws, regulations, and policies." Over the last decade, attention to the impact of environmental pollution on particular segments of our society has been steadily growing. Concern that minority populations and/or low-income populations bear a disproportionate amount of adverse health and environmental effects, led President Clinton to issue Executive Order 12898 in 1994, focusing Federal agency attention on these issues. EPA responded by developing the Environmental Justice Strategy which focuses on the Agency's efforts in addressing these concerns.

Green Action for Health and Environmental Justice : An activist group focused issues at the community level in California and the Soutwest. 

Harvard University Working Group on Environmental Justice : Issues of environmental justice are growing in importance in several areas. On the domestic front it has long been recognized that environmental amenities on the one hand and toxic waste sites on the other are not uniformly distributed in reference to income group, class or ethnic communities. On an international scale as well there are marked and increasing disparities in the world community between those who have access to clean and safe resources and those who do not. Disparities of this nature may be the result of historical circumstance, contemporary economic and trade relations or simply inadequate or inappropriate governmental regulation. Whatever their source, it is clear that an interdisciplinary approach is needed both to understand and ameliorate these problems. 

Justice and natural resources : concepts, strategies, and applications edited by Kathryn M. Mutz, Gary C. Bryner, and Douglas S. Kenney.
Washington : Island Press, c2002. 368pp. Main Library GE220 .J87 2002
Contents : Beyond "traditional" environmental justice / David H. Getches and David N. Pellow -- Assessing claims of environmental justice : conceptual frameworks / Gary C. Bryner -- Water, poverty, equity, and justice in Colorado : a pragmatic approach / James l. Wescoat Jr., Sarah Halvorson, Lisa Headington, and Jill Replogle -- International environmental protection : human rights and north-south divide / Tseming Yang -- Coincidental order of environmental injustice / Jeff Romm -- Environmental justice in an era of devolved collaboration / Sheila Foster -- Tribal sovereignty and environmental justice / Sarah Krakoff -- Expanding civil rights protections in contested terrain : using Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 / Luke W. Cole -- Forest management and environmental justice in northern New Mexico / Henry H. Carey -- NEPA in Indian Country : compliance requirement to decision-making tool / Dean B. Suagee -- Framework to assess environmental justice concerns for proposed federal projects / Jan Buhrmann -- Protecting natural resources and the issue of environmental justice / Barry E. Hill and Nicholas Targ -- Mineral development : Protecting the land and communities / Kathryn M. Mutz -- Hoping against history : environmental justice in the twenty-first century / Patricia Nelson Limerick Targ -- Mineral development : protecting the land and communities / Kathryn M. Mutz -- Hoping against history : environmental justice in the twenty-first century / Patricia Nelson Limerick.

Not In My Backyard : Executive Order 12898 and Title VI as Tools for Achieving Environmental Justice :U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. October 2003. 

Taking Action, Saving Lives : Our Duties to Protect Environmental and Public Health Kristin Shrader-Frechette. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007. 299p. Main Library RA566 .S37 2007
In the United States alone, industrial and agricultural toxins account for about 60,000 avoidable cancer deaths annually. Pollution-related health costs to Americans are similarly staggering: $13 billion a year from asthma, $351 billion from cardiovascular disease, and $240 billion from occupational disease and injury. Most troubling, children, the poor, and minorities bear the brunt of these health tragedies.
Why, asks Kristin Shrader-Frechette, has the government failed to protect us, and what can we do about it? In this book, Shrader-Frechette reveals how politicians, campaign contributors, and lobbyists -- and their power over media, advertising, and public relations -- have conspired to cover up environmental disease and death. She also shows how science and regulators themselves are frequently "captured" by well-funded polluters and special interests. But most important, the author puts both the blame--and the solution--on the shoulders of ordinary citizens. She argues that everyone, especially in a democracy, has a duty to help prevent avoidable environmental deaths, to remain informed about, and involved in, public-health and environmental decision-making. Toward this end, she outlines specific, concrete ways in which people can contribute to life-saving reforms, many of them building on recommendations of the American Public Health Association.
As disturbing as it is, Shrader-Frechette's message is ultimately hopeful. Calling for a new "democratic revolution," she reminds us that while only a fraction of the early colonists supported the American Revolution, that tiny group managed to change the world. Her book embodies the conviction that we can do the same for environmental health, particularly if citizens become the change they seek.
[Environmental health -- Moral and ethical aspects]

Michigan State University