Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Horticulture and Gardening Research Guide: Websites of interest

Horticulture is the the cultivation of flowers (floriculture), fruits (pomology), vegetables (olericulture), or ornamental plants.

Websites of interest

AgNIC Plant Science
Provides information on all aspects of plant life from anatomy, to taxonomy, to ecology and uses. Includes links to images and keys.

AgNIC sites pertaining to gardening and horticulture
AgNIC is the Agriculture Network Information Center – a voluntary alliance and partnership of nearly 60 member institutions and organizations working to offer quick and reliable access to quality agricultural information and sources. AgNIC is supported, in part, by the USDA’s National Agricultural Library (NAL) through provision of the AgNIC Secretariat and other program support.

MSU - Asparagus, Blueberries-Cultivated, Cherries, Elderberries, Maple Syrup, Strawberries, Viticulture
American Cranberry
Bees and Pollination
Carnations and the Floriculture Industry
Home Gardening
Sub-tropical Horticulture
Tree Fruits
Wildflowers of Kansas
Winter sowing

Agricultural Communications Documentation Center
Searchable database of over 30,000 references including articles, books, theses and dissertations, and unpublished studies. Many of the references are not cited in the Agricola database. Created and maintained by the Agricultural Communications Documentation Center, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

AGROVOC Thesaurus
AGROVOC is a multilingual structured thesaurus of all subject fields in agriculture, forestry, fisheries, food and related domains (e.g. environment). It consists of words or expressions (terms), in different languages and organized in relationships (e.g. “broader”, “narrower”, and “related”), used to identify or search resources. Its main role is to standardize the indexing process in order to make searching simpler and more efficient, and to provide the user with the most relevant resources. It was developed by FAO and the Commission of the European Communities, in the early 1980s. It is updated by FAO roughly every three months.

Aromatic, Herbal and Medical Plants
A guide to aromatic & medicinal plants, culinary herbs & spices.

CAT Alerts
The CAT Alerts offer pest and crop management advice for current conditions. The information is written by MSU faculty and Extension educators.

CropINDEX
CropINDEX is an extensive alphabetical list of all common and scientific crop names held on this site, but does not include Famine Foods entries which are indexed separately. Use CropINDEX if you already know the name of the crop or species, or just want to browse.

CropSEARCH
The CropSEARCH locates crops by name, topic, uses, geography, commodity, author citations, etc; and locates any terms entered. Use CropSEARCH for keyword subject searching.

Census of Horticultural Specialties - 1998
The 1998 Census of Horticultural Specialties, conducted for the first time by NASS, is the eighth census of horticultural specialties. Previous horticultural specialties censuses were conducted in conjunction with the census of agriculture and were taken in 1889, 1929, 1949, 1959, 1970, 1979, and 1988. The 1998 Census of Horticultural Specialties includes producers of floriculture, nursery, and other specialty crops, such as sod, mushrooms, food crops produced under glass or other protection, transplants for commercial production, and seeds. [Year, Parts and Section guide]
The primary objective of the horticultural specialties census is to obtain a comprehensive and detailed picture of the horticultural sector of the economy. It is the only source of detailed production and sales data at the National level. The census of horticultural specialties provides detailed statistics to government agencies, academia, nursery and floriculture industries, and others on the size and structure of the horticulture industry for planning, policymaking, research, and market analysis.

Current Research Information System
CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, land-grant universities, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in CSREES-administered grant programs, including Small Business Innovation Research and National Research Initiative, and the programs administered by the CSREES Science and Education Resources Development unit. CRIS is an application of the CSREES Information Systems and Technology Management unit.

Family Herb Corner. Whether you are a parent hoping to share your love of herbs and gardening with your children, an educator planning to add herbs to your classroom or a child ready to discover the magic and wonder of herbal plants, we hope the Family Herb Corner will provide you with ideas and inspiration. Portions of this site are in development.

Famine Foods Database
The Famine Foods Database describes unconventional food sources used in times of desperation or famine. This botanical-humanistic subject has had little academic exposure, and provides insight to potential new food sources that ordinarily would not be considered.

Herb Society of America
The Herb Society of America is dedicated to promoting the knowledge, use and delight of herbs through educational programs, research, and sharing the experience of its members with the community. Information from this organization includes:
Herb of the Year as designated by the International Herb Association (IHA)

Herbal Profiles & Guides

Landscape Architecture Image Resource (LAIR)
The LAIR Website has been designed to foster active, collaborative learning and encourage community building across a variety of campuses serving landscape architecture education. This shared image bank is a library of digital images that have been collected from a variety of sources. These images are available to anyone who would like to use them for educational purposes (see Copyrights).

Organic Agriculture in Michigan - 2006 Survey Report
From the Preface: This report is part of a collaborative project by Michigan State University (MSU) and the Michigan Organic Food and Farm Alliance (MOFFA) to identify the opportunities for more Michigan fruit and vegetable growers to participate in the growing market for organic produce. It is the first status report on organic agriculture that presents data about Michigan’s organic agriculture community. The report is presented for use in the development of policy, research and extension priorities to support the growth and diversification of Michigan organic production and marketing. (In PDF Format, 36 pages)

PlantFacts
Horticulture and crop science information from 46 different colleges, universities, and government institutions across the United States and Canada. This searchable site run by the Department of Horticulture and Crop Science, The Ohio State University provides access to over 260,000 pages of Extension fact sheets and bulletins from every land-grant university in the U.S. and several government institutions across Canada. Try this resource even for non-plant research queries as their "plant" filter is porous.

Michigan State University