Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Agriculture: Data and Statistics: International

International Agricultural Data and Statistics

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange - Price Data Visualizations
In this subscription database from Adam Matthew, go to the Data & Maps section to access the Price Data Visualizations. The database include "prices for hundreds of commodities across hundreds of markets for almost a thousand years, from 965-1920" including many agricultural products.

Eurostat - Agriculture Statistics
Includes tables and publications covering economic accounts for agriculture, structure of agricultural holdings, agricultural prices and price indices, agricultural products, and regional surveys.

International Food Policy Research Institute
Collaborates with institutions throughout the world and is often involved in the collection of primary data and the compilation and processing of secondary data. The resulting datasets provide a wealth of information at the local (household and community), national, and global levels. The following types of data are available: geospatial data, household and community level surveys, institution level surveys, regional data (China), social accounting matrices, agricultural science and technology indicators. Includes the Global Hunger Index.

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
OECDiLibrary Statistics

Includes a section on Agriculture and Food. Databases include the Agricultural Commodities Outlook Database, Agricultural Policies in Emerging and Transition Economies, Economic Accounts for Agriculture, and Producer and Consumer Support Estimates.

ProQuest Statistical Insight - Statistical Abstracts of the World, and International DataSets
From the main Statistical Insight page, choose Statistical Abstract of the World or International DataSets from the left-side menu.
Statistical Abstracts of the World offers access to country statistical reference tables, many will include agricultural topics.
International DataSets aggregates over 50,000 numeric datasets from international organizations, economic research firms, and national government statistical offices.

United Nations
Food and Agricultural Organization

The Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations provides several different databases dealing with international agricultural issues. The library also contains many print reports that can be identified in the catalog by conducting an author search. For example, the FAO Statistics Series includes the FAO Trade Yearbook.

FAOSTAT
An on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Food Aid Shipments, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery.

UN Comtrade - Commodity Trade Statistics Database
A searchable database of import and export data from over 130 countries that provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year.

United States Department of Agriculture
Foreign Agricultural Service

The Foreign Agricultural Service works to improve foreign market access for U.S. products, build new markets, improve the competitive position of U.S. agriculture in the global marketplace, and provide food aid and technical assistance to foreign countries. It includes agricultural trade data, agricultural production data, and market reports. Also includes U.S. agricultural import and export data.

Global Agricultural Trade System (GATS)
Monthly and annual United States (U.S.) and foreign agricultural trade data including official U.S. Trade data (Bureau of the Census), Global Trade Atlas (GTA), UN Trade data and U.S State trade data. GATS will be the official United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) repository for current and historical agricultural trade data (imports, exports and re-exports) for agricultural, fishery, forestry and other agricultural related products dating back to 1967.

The World of Organic Agriculture: Statistics and Emerging Trends
 The Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (FiBL), the International Federation of Organic Agriculture Movements (IFOAM) and the Foundation Ecology & Agriculture (SOEL) present statistics about organic agriculture worldwide.  This statistical annual began publication in 2000.

Michigan State University