Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Newspaper Guide: Campus Newspapers

Newspapers Available in the MSU Library

Electronic Resources : Newspapers provides links to both individual newspapers alphabetically as well as links to some of the more popular collections available to the MSU community and to visitors to the MSU Main Library.

Campus Newspapers Available on the Web

The State News : Current issue of the Michigan State University's campus newspaper available via the Internet..

State News (1925-1980) digitized.  Scanning was done from microfilm, so quality will vary.  Nonetheless, there are some really interesting stories to be discovered!   1949 appears to be missing.

The M.A.C. Record (1896-1928) : courtesy of the MSU Archivess.  Available as part of On the Banks of the Red Cedar.

Michigan Daily : University of Michigan's campus paper. 

Michigan Daily Digitized Archive (1890-2014).  An online, searchable archive of the student newspaper. This was scanned from an original print copy, and features a new platform dor delivering newspaper content, developed by our Library IT department.

The South End : Wayne State University's campus newspaper.

Central Michigan Life : Central Michigan University's campus newspaper.

The Eastern Echo : Eastern Michigan University's campus newspaper.

Ferris State Torch : Ferris State University's campus newspaper.

Grand Valley Lanthorn : Grand Valley State University campus newspaper.

Michigan Tech Lode : Michigan Technological University's campus newspaper.

WesternHerald.com : Western Michigan University's campus newspaper.

College Newspapers from GreekSpot.  Looking for another college newspaper.  Give this web site a shot.

State News in Print

State News (MSU Campus Newspaper) is usually available at both the Beaumont and Red Cedar entrances, the CyberCafe, and next to Current Periodicals (on the 2nd floor) of the library.

Paper copies are retained until replaced by microfilm.

State News on Microfilm

State News (MSU Campus Newspaper).  1909-1925, 1925-1962, 1962-present.  Shelved by title in the Newspapers on Microfilm section of 2 West.

MAC Record in Print

The M.A.C. recordLansing, Mich. : Michigan Agricultural College, 1896-1925  Available in the MSU University Archivesand Historical Records  and in the MSU Main Library Special Collections Rare Book Collection.

MAC Record on Microfilm

The M.A.C. record [microform].  Lansing, Mich. : Michigan Agricultural College, 1896-1925.

The Holcad in Print

The Holcad (1909-1925).  Published by the students of the Michigan Agricultural College during the college year.  Available in the MSU Archives and Historical Collections and the MSU Main Library Special Collections Rare Books Collection.

The Holcad on Microfilm

The Holcad (1909-1925).  Available in the MSU Archives and Historical Collections and in the MSU Library Special Collections Rare Book Collection.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page

Confused?

Confused? 

Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.

Michigan State University