Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Business: Data and Statistics: Trade

Trade

Bureau of Labor Statistics - Import/Export Price Indexes
A product of the International Price Program and contain data on changes in the prices of nonmilitary goods and services traded between the U.S. and the rest of the world.

Export.gov – Trade Data & Analysis
Brings together resources from across the government. Includes industry specific trade data, state export data, and many relevant links.

Foreign Trade Statistics (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Census pages provide some statistical series and a guide to the program’s foreign trade statistics.
Databases using Census data include:

TradeStats Express
Provides the latest annual and quarterly trade data. National trade data for U.S. merchandise exports, imports, and trade balances. State export data has state and regional exports of merchandise.

USA Trade Online (discontinued 2010)
Part of the former STAT-USA which had monthly and annual data on U.S. imports and exports by country and U.S. customs port arrea with up to 10-digit Harmonized System classification detail. Refer now to the guide from UCF Libraries on sources.

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange (historical statistics)
In this subscription database from Adam Matthew, go to the Data & Maps section. The Price Visualization database include "prices for hundreds of commodities across hundreds of markets for almost a thousand years, from 965-1920." The Energy Data Visualizations includes information from the BP Statistical Review of World Energy and Historical Datasets from 1965-present.

International Monetary Fund - Direction of Trade Statistics
Provides data on the country and area distribution of countries' exports and imports by their partners.
Available as print Yearbook, Quarterly, online through ICPSR.

International Trade Administration (Department of Commerce)

Office of Trade Policy & Analysis
Develops and disseminates trade and economic data in order to provide objective, consistent research and analysis that examines issues affecting U.S. manufacturing and services competitiveness in domestic and global markets, so as to facilitate sound policies that contribute to U.S. economic prosperity.

Virtual World Trade Reference Room
Contains links to current trade statistics from the U.S. government, select trade and economic data published by other countries, and similar trade resources.

United Nations - Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)
A searchable database of import and export data from over 130 countries that provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year.

World Trade Organization
Features a Statistics Database with interactive access to up-to-date trade statistics and the annual publication International Trade Statistics (some years available in print and CD-ROM).

Michigan State University