Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Native American Studies Research Guide: Newspapers

Newspapers in the MSU Libraries

Electronic Resources : Newspapers provides links to both individual newspapers alphabetically as well as links to some of the more popular collections available to the MSU community and to visitors to the MSU Main Library.

In addition, the MSU Libraries offers a Newspaper Guide.

Selected Breaking News

Indian Country TodaySince 1981, Indian Country Today has been a persuasive voice in American Indian journalism, leading the way with accurate and timely reporting, and incisive analysis and commentary. Indian Country Today publishes more original journalistic content on American Indian issues than any other news source.  Our success is due to the professionalism and dedication of our journalists based in key regional locations throughout North America. Whether reporting from the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C. or conveying the pounding energy of a Southern plains pow wow, Indian Country Today's talented news team finds the essence of what's happening in Indian country and carries it faithfully to our readers.  Rotating special feature sections include: Education, Healthy Living, Trade & Commerce, Arts & Entertainment, Tourism, Gaming, Pow Wow and Golf, and Campaign Info. The MSU Libraries provides access primarily through Ethnic NewsWatch and to a lesser extent Lexis Nexis Academic.

Indianz pulls together current news, popular stories, hot topics, and other news compilations.

Native American Rights Fund Blog.

Native Times. (Also known as Native American Times).   Launched in 1994 as the Oklahoma Indian Times by Jim Gray (Osage) and Elizabeth Gaines (Cherokee). It was a bi-weekly newspaper distributed throughout Oklahoma. The paper grew to be a weekly, and in 2006, Gaines changed the name to Native American Times.

NativeNewsOnline. Grand Rapids, Michigan publication?

Navaho Times.

News from Indian CountryCheck out tv broadcasts.

New America Media News Feed

New American Media: Expanding the News Lens through Ethnic Media  This site provides a wealth of news and other information from all over the US filtered through ethnic lenses. Note Indigenous filter on left.

Photos

AP Images : Also called Associated Press Multimedia Archive. Includes an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the AP news service. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards, but many historical images are also included. All images include descriptive captions and source information.

Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google : Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Heh, it may not be from a newspaper but it compliments the AP Images collection.

Current Ethnic Newspaper Collections (Electronic)

American Indian Newspapers Collection (Adam Matthew).  Available fall 2018.  Will include one Michigan newspaper, Win Awenen Nisitotung, Sault Tribe of Chippewa Indians, Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, 1980-2016.

Alt-PressWatch (Proquest) : Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage complements the reporting in the mainstream press.

Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) : The Ethnic NewsWatch database provides the full text of ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals in the United States. Coverage varies by paper, but goes as far back as 1960 for some publications.

Two More Decades of The Carolina Indian Voice Now Available. “The Carolina Indian Voice is one of North Carolina’s oldest American Indian newspapers. It served members of the Lumbee Tribe living in Robeson County including the town of Pembroke, which is the seat of the Lumbee tribe of North Carolina, as well as the home of The University of North Carolina at Pembroke, a historically American Indian University.” The new run covers 1977-1996, and before the project had 1996-2005, so it looks like all that’s missing is the early run from 1973-1977.

Michigan Native American Newsletters / Newspapers

This is a collection of online links to current newspapers.

Anishinaabe News.  The original Nishnawbe News began in 1971 with a circulation of over 6,000.  Decreases in funding halted publication in 1983.  Anishinaabe News returned as an on-line publication by the staff of the Northern Michigan University Center for Native American Studies.  In October 2005, it made its comeback as a student-run publication

Bay Mill News.  Newspaper of the Bay Mills Indian Chippewa Community, a federally recognized tribe in Michigan. Began in 1997; published biweekly. The newspaper is dedicated to "covering current events affecting the tribe, tribal government and business news, Anishnaabe culture & language, community and membership news.  Current news items only.

Kewenaw Bay Indian Community Newsletter.  Also called KBIC News, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwe.  Newsletter of the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community, a federally recognized tribe in Michigan.  June 2004 to date.

Little River Currents = Megwaa Ezhiwebaak.   Newsletter of the Little River Band of Ottawa Indians, a federally recognized tribe in Michigan.  January 2004 to date.

Odawa TrailsNewsletter of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, a federally recognized tribe in Michigan.  2004 to date.

Sault Tribe of Chippewa Indians Newsletter.

Tribal Observer.  Newspaper of the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe, a federally recognized tribe in Michigan. Published semi-monthly, the Tribal Observer covers current issues, events, and other news of the tribe.  January 2007 to date.

Win Awenen Nisitotung=Sault Tribe NewsNewspaper of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, a federally recognized tribe in Michigan. Feb. 1, 2005 to date

Note:  Additional copies of  Native American newspapers in print and microfilm are housed in Special Collections.  Click on the Special Collections tab for more information.

For more possilities in the MSU Libraries, some in print and some electronic,  click on subject  and paste in "Indians of North America -- Newspapers".

Additional historical newsletters / newspapers of various Michigan Native American tiribes and organizations are held by the University of Michigan Bentley Historical Library.

Ethnic Microfilm Newspapers Available from the Center for Research Libraries

Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions (such as Michigan State University) have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan via their libraries. The loan period is unlimited, but is subject to possible recall notice. To identify what is available try searching the Center for Research Libraries online catalog.  Browse by country, state, U.S. and Canadian ethnic newspapers, or by Civilian Conservation Corps.

Or try searching the... 

Ethnic Press Database. Thousands of volumes of newspapers were produced in the U.S. by ethnic communities from the Civil War to the late 20th century. The papers mirror the lives, values and everyday concerns of America’s various immigrant communities, from the Chinese- and Polish-Americans of 19th Century Chicago to more recently established communities of immigrants from Southeast Asia and the Middle East.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

What's Missing?

Do you have any suggestions on additional items that should be added to this LibGuide?  If so, send an email to Jon Harrison.

Michigan State University