Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Native American Studies Research Guide: Audio

Content

A compilation of audio resources from found on the Internet, purchased by the MSU Libraries, or recorded by the staff of the MSU Library G. Robert Vincent Voice Library.   Audio recorded by the Vincent Voice Library is for in-house use only.  To find recordings related to Native Americans, try searching the Vincent Voice Library search engine with keywords such as Indian, Native American, etc.. 

NIIJII Radio

Niijii Broadcasting : Independent Radio for an Independent Nation.  The mission of Niijii Radio is to provide independent news and information for an independent nation that promotes social, environmental, and economic justice.  Listen live!

First Nations Experience TV

"First Nations Experience Television", 2011, Official Website, multi-media platform, a partnership between the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians and KVCR, a PBS member station located in California's Inland Empire.

Recordings

The American Indian and His Heritage [sound recording] / [D'Arcy McNickle and Alfonso Ortiz, participants ; Dan Price, moderator].  Racine, Wisconsin : The Johnson Foundation, 1975.  Vincent Voice Library R-260 : Focuses on Native Americans and their cultural heritage.

American Indian Culture [sound recording] / [Nancy O. Lurie and Herman J. Viola, participants ; Dan Price, moderator].  Racine, Wisconsin : The Johnson Foundation, 1975.  Vincent Voice Library R-243 : Examines various aspects of American Indian culture and efforts to collect and preserve historic materials.

American Indian oral history collection  / Joseph H. Cash, general editor.  New York : Clearwater Pub. Co., p1977.  15 sound cassettes : analog. MSU Digital and Multimedia Center Audiocasette Collection  E77 .A547 1977 Audiocassette v.9-10, 12-13, 15 : v. 9. Legends -- v. 10. The drum society --  v. 12. The BIA : I -- v. 13. The BIA : II -- v. 15. Life in 1900

American Indians and Their History [sound recording] / [ Joe Medicine Crow, James Jefferson and Dr. Dave Warren, participants ; Dan Price, moderator].   Racine, Wisconsin ; The Johnson Foundation, 1975. Vincent Voice Library R-244 :  Focuses on the Indian version of American Indian history..

American Song [electronic resource].  Alexandria, Va. : Alexander Street Press, 2007-  : "American Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more."

[Bob Yellowbird tells the origins of the American Indian movement and of the Wounded Knee struggle and asks for support, at Michigan State University].  1 electronic audio file (16 min., 27 sec.) : digital, WAV file.  MSU Library Vincent Voice Library (4 West)  Voice 12135   Broadcast on WKAR, February 4, 1975.  Tells the origins of the American Indian Movement and of the Wounded Knee struggle and asks for support, at Michigan State University.

Circle of Stories (PBS).  Circle of Stories uses documentary film, photography, artwork and music to honor and explore Native American storytelling.

Honoring the earth [sound recording] / Winona LaDuke.  Denver, CO : What's Left, c1999.  1 sound cassette (1 hr. 30 min.) : analog.  C736 Audiocassette : Winona LaDuke speaking at the University of Wyoming.

Indian EnslavementLiz Covart, "Episode 139: Andrés Reséndez, The Other Slavery: Indian Enslavement in the Americas", Ben Franklin's World: A Podcast About Early American History. In 1492, Columbus sailed the ocean blue. He also played a central role in the European adoption of Indian or Native American slavery....  When we think of slavery in early America, we often think of the practice of African and African-American chattel slavery. However, that system of slavery wasn’t the only system of slavery that existed in North America. Systems of Indian slavery existed too. In fact, Indians remained enslaved long after the 13th Amendment abolished African-American slavery in 1865....  In this episode, Andrés Reséndez, a professor of history at the University of California, Davis and author of The Other Slavery: The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in Americas, leads us on an investigation of this “other” form of American slavery.

John Collier talks about Indian affairs during FDR's administration [electronic resource]. 1 min., 21 sec. Vincent Voice Library Voice 2547 : Collier tells of the recording made by Woodrow Wilson to greet Indians on their reservations.

Life on the reservation : a behind-the-scenes look at the status of today's Indian.   N. Hollywood, CA : The Center for Cassette Studies, Inc., 1970.  1 cassette : mono, 2-track. MSU Library Vincent Voice Library (4 West)  Voice   E93 .L53 1970 Audiocassette : This program is a debate on the pros and cons of abolishing the reservation system in the United States.

Living Voices. Presented by the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. Provides audio files of 40 Native Americans and Native Hawaiians discussing their lives.  Also available as part of North American Indian Thought and Culture from Alexander Street Press.

Looking Back : the Fight for American Fishing Rights.  Linda Stephan, Interlochen Public Radio, June 26, 2013.  Tells how Arthur Duhamel stood up for Indian fishing rights in northern Michigan in 1976 and in the process won federal recognition and salvation for many of the tribes.   Duhamel died in 1992.

Native American Audio Collections from the American Philosophical Society.  This exhibit features 34 audio clips from 11 different Native American cultures that represent the diversity of the collection.  Includes online recordings of the Ottawa tribe including Legend of Manitou Islands, Description of Early Life, and Social Dance Song.

"Native American Boarding Schools Have Nearly Killed Michigan's Native Language."   The original language of Michigan is dying in the state.  Anishinaabemowin was the language of the Great Lakes for millennia—spoken by the Chippewa/Ojibwe, Odawa and Potawatomi tribes—known as the Anishinabek.  One of the biggest impacts on the language, that affected generations of families, was Native American boarding schools. Source :  Emily Fox, "Native American Boarding Schools Have Nearly Killed Michigan's Native Language.  Michigan Radio, September 28, 2015.  (Includes link to audio)

Native Language in Public School.  Linda Stephan, Interlochen Public Radio, January 24, 2011.  In addition to traditional offerings such as French or Spanish, more northern Michigan public schools and colleges are offering students the chance to learn Anishinaabemowin, or Ojibwe.  Suttons Bay lies just south of reservation land of the Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians. Many of the tribe's children attend school in Suttons Bay, and a few are sitting a part of this first-year language class.  The students didn't grow up with this language. Few people alive today speak Anishinaabemowin as a mother-tongue, but Instructor George Trudeau does.  "My dad didn't know how to speak English," he says. "He never spoke English, even until the day he passed on. And he passed on not even a year yet."  Trudeau grew up on Manitoulin Island, a large island that separates Lake Huron and the Canadian North Channel. He says, even as a 10 year old, he was proud of his language.  "I used to hear the people visiting at my parents' home always laughing, always laughing, and they're using their language," he says.  He didn't see the same with visitors who spoke English. Jokes were lost in translation.

Ojibwe / narration and script compilation by Bill Davie.  Sault Ste. Marie, Mich. : Tribe of Chippewa Indians, 1980.  11 sound cassettes : 1 7/8 ips, mono. + 1 guide.  PM854 .D3 Audiocassette : Basic introduction to conversational Ojibwe with emphasis on oral communication.

Prairie Fire : The Illinois Country Before 1818. Includes:

  • Overview of the Illinois Country, ca. 1674, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • The Illinois Confederacy, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • The Coming of the Iroquois, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • Pays d'en Haut: The Upper Country, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • The Fur Trade - Part 1, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • The Fur Trade - Part 2, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • The Fur Trade - Part 3, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • Marquette and the Jesuits, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • The Journeys of LaSalle, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • The Jesuit Relations, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • New France and the Economics of the Fur Trade, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • Gender Roles and the Economics of Native American Society, by Susan Sleeper-Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University.
  • Settlers and Native Americans Before the Black Hawk War, by John Mack Faragher, Ph.D., Yale University.
  • Settlement of the Northwest Territory, by James Lewis, Ph.D., Independent Scholar.
  • Native Americans and the French Empire in the Illinois Country, by James Lewis, Ph.D., Independent Scholar.

Shawnee Chief Tecumseh : Address to General William Henry HarrisonAmerican Rhetoric Online Speech Bank. Probably delivered in 1810, at Vincennes in the Indiana Territory.

Song and dances of the Great Lake Indians / recorded and annotated by Gertrude Prokosch Kurath.. Source : Ethnic Folkways Library, 1956.   Preservation recording in the MSU Library Vincent Voice Library (4 West).     Songs and dances of Great Lakes Indians. Ojibwa, Ottawa, Algonquin, Onondaga, Cayuga/Tutelo, and Seneca songs and dances.

Survivors of Indian Boarding Schools Tell Their Stories.  Gretchen Millich, Interlochen Public Radio, January 17, 2012.  Michigan recall their survivor's stories regarding boarding schools, including the Indian Industrial School in Mt. Pleasant.  Highlights the documentary The Indian Schools, the Survivors' Story.

The Trail of Tears as Told by Johnny Cash : Part 1 and Part 2.  Removal of the Cherokees Birthday Story of Private John G. Burnett, Captain Abraham McClellan's Company, 2nd Regiment, 2nd Brigade, Mounted Infantry, Cherokee Indian Removal, 1838-39.  (Original Birthday Story of Private John G. Burnett," MS in Cherokee Museum, Cherokee, North Carolina.)

United Indian Traders Association Oral History Collection. Part of the North American Indian Thought and Culture collection from Alexander Street Press.  In 1931, a group of trading post owners and operators founded the United Indian Traders Association (UITA), a non-profit organization whose goals were: 1) to promote improved business practices among Indian traders, arts and crafts dealers, Indians, and all related agencies; 2) to promote, encourage, and protect the manufacture and sale of genuine Indian handmade arts and crafts; and 3) to promote the general welfare of those engaged in the business of Indian trading, as well as the welfare of the Navajo Indians and all other Indians of North America. In 1997, when the UITA decided to disband, they divided their substantial financial reserves among several worthy causes, one of which is the oral history project displayed at this website.

Visions and visages : transforming images of American Indians in "Indians at work, 1933-1945" / Mindy Morgan.   MSU Vincent Voice Library. (DIGITAL), 4 WEST  Voice 16963  :  Professor of Anthropology Mindy Morgan delivers a presentation titled, "Visions and visages: transforming images of American Indians in 'Indians at work, 1933-1945'". Morgan looks at the changing vision of Native Americans in the New Deal publication, 'Indians at Work', published by the U. S. Bureau of Indian Affairs. She suggests the vision of Indians shifted over that period from a more traditional view of tribe in a rural setting to a modern view of individuals in an urban environment. Morgan suggests that these portrayals were used in an attempt to show Indians successfully assimilating into American society. Question and answer session follows. Morgan is introduced by Professor John P. Beck, Associate Director, Michigan State University School of Human Resources and Labor Relations. Part of the "Our Daily Work/Our Daily Lives" Brown Bag series sponsored by the Michigan State University School of Human Resources and Labor Relations and the MSU Museum.

Wisdom of the Elders : This radio series, available in audio and text, features elders, historians, storytellers, artists, and leaders from thirteen American Indian Nations along the Lewis and Clark trail. These elders share their history, stories, culture, and music in a series of hour-long radio broadcasts.


Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University