Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Native American Studies Research Guide: Bibliographies

Contents

In addition to online databases and catalogs, students may want to review bibliographies to find publications and articles written about Native Americans.  

Annotated Reading Lists from Oxford Bibliographies Online

Native American Histories in North America by Susan Sleeper-Smith.

  • General Overviews
  • Race
  • Slavery
  • Warfare and Warriors

Native American Religions by David J. Silverman.

  • General Overviews
  • South and Central American Traditions
  • North American Moundbuilders
  • The Pueblo Indians and Their Predecessors
  • Farmers of the East
  • Hunter-Gatherers
  • Religion and Revitalization
  • Religion and Trade

Native Americans and the Atlantic World by James Taylor Carson

  • General Overviews
  • Introductory Texts
  • Bibliographies
  • Research Methodologies
  • Columbian Exchange
  • Trade
  • Slavery
  • The Caribbean
  • Mexico
  • Northeastern North America
  • Southeastern North America
  • North American Interior

Native Americans in Europe by Carina Johnson

  • General Overviews
  • Bibliographies and Reference Works
  • Case Studies
  • Elite Emigration
  • Slavery and Labor
  • Materiality
  • Spectacle and Musical Performance
  • Native American Bodies and Science

Indigenous Archaeology by George P. Nicholas

Native American and Aborigional Canadian Childhood by Robert Benson.

Indigenous Populations in North America, Australasia, and Circumpolar North by Kue Young.

Native American Oral Literatures by Timothy Powell.

Annual Reviews

Recent Ethnographic Research on North American Indigenous Peoples.  Pauline Turner Strong. Annual Reviews : Anthropology 34:253-268.   Access restricts to the MSU Community and other subscribers.

Bibliographies

This is a  selective  listing of bibliographies for Native American history. To find more in the MSU  Libraires, try an  Advanced Keyword Search  in the online catalog: type in Subject: indians and Subject: bibliography .

For a shorter list, visit the MSU Library online catalog and try a subject search with Indians Of North America Bibliography

American Indian Studies : a Bibliographic Guide / Phillip M. WhiteEnglewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1995.  163pp.  Main Library E77 .W52 1995 : Focusing primarily on North America--with the Indians of Mexico and Central and South America covered only if they are included in the sources listed--this book describes almost 400 information sources published from the 1970s through 1993. Chapters list guides to the literature, directories, bibliographies, encyclopedias, periodicals, biographical sources, government documents, and microforms. In most chapters, materials are listed in order of importance. The critical annotations tell how to use each source and its advantages and disadvantages. Electronic tools are noted when appropriate. Some unique features are the book's list of bibliographies arranged by tribe and its section on American Indian periodicals and newspapers; an appendix of LC subject headings related to this field adds more avenues for exploration. Author-title and subject indexes make access easy.  Also available electronically.

Annotated Bibliography of Native American History from United States Federal Documents: Print and Online Resources / Brandon Burnette. Southeastern Oklahoma State University. Godort Occasional Papers, Number 7, June 2012.  An excellent tool for identifying U.S. documents about Native Americans, both printed by the U.S. government and sometimes reprinted by commercial publishers.  For more ideas about U.S. government documents sources see the separate tab.

Bibliographies of Northern and Central California Indians .  Courtesy of the Ethnic Studies Library, University of California, Berekeley, 2012.

Bibliography of Native American Bibliographies / compiled by Phillip M. White.  Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2004. 241pp. Main Library Z1209.2.N67 W55 2004 : This book serves as the first and only master listing of bibliographies in the field of American Indian studies. It includes all significant bibliographies, in print and online, concerning Native Americans in the United States and Canada from the earliest times through 2003. This unique book is a timeless resource for all levels of Native American research.

Critical Bibliography On North American Indians, For K-12 (2001)

Ethnographic Bibliography of North America  4th ed. (1975)

Ethnographic Bibliography of North America. 4th ed. Supplement (1990)

European views of the Americas, 1493-1750 (2010)

Guide to Research on North American Indians (1983)

Indians Of North America : Methods And Sources For Library Research (1983)

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology With Index to Authors and Titles (online edition 1997)

Native Americans : an Annotated Bibliography (1991)

Native American Bibliography Series, including:

Kinsmen through time : an annotated bibliography of Potawatomi history / by R. David Edmunds.  Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1987.  217pp.  Main Library PS3570.R339 L38 2011Z1210.P67 E35 1987 (Number 12)

Native Americans in Michigan : An Annotated Bibliography of Materials Available in the Central Michigan University Clarke Historical Library / Compiled by Evelyn Leasher, Robert Hendershot, Michael Phillips, and Jennifer Wood.  The Clarke Historical Library holdings are particularly rich in materials on the Native Americans of Michigan. Included in this bibliography are books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps and graphics on the subject. Because traditional tribal boundaries are not codeterminus with contemporary state borders, some of the material listed in this bibliography has a wider geographic focus than Michigan, but the emphasis is on Michigan.

Overview of Native American Research from Ancestry.com  Additional chapters include:

Portals to the Past : A Bibliographical and Resource Guide to Michigan's Upper Peninsula.  Russell M. Magnaghi. Be sure to check out the Native American and Metis section starting on page 115 and focusing on Native Americans in the Upper Peninsula.   Courtesy of the Northern Michigan University Library.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University