Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Organic, Sustainable, and Alternative Farming Systems: MSU, Michigan, USDA Resources

This is a general guide to finding information on agricultural and gardening systems that are considered organic, sustainable, or alternative, such as "green", no-till and agroecology.

MSU and Michigan Resources

Advancing Organic Agriculture - Michigan Dept. of Agriculture
In September 1998, Michigan Department of Agriculture (MDA) Director Dan Wyant created the Michigan Organic Advisory Committee (Committee). The Committee was charged with developing a strategic plan; serving as a framework for advancing a system of production, processing and marketing products of organic agriculture in Michigan. This plan includes background information, a position statement, two key recommendations and related action items. It was designed to introduce several concepts, ideas, and recommendations to MDA and the organic industry and initiate dialogue with MDA and the organic industry about these concepts and ideas.

MSU Organic Farming Exchange
This site offers: Resources and events to promote organic food production, information to help farmers transition to organic, tips on the process of organic certification, and farming practices that are practical for Michigan organic farmers.

Michigan Organic agriculture 2007 Census of Agriculture-Charts and Maps

Michigan Organic Food and Farm Alliance (MOFFA)
The Michigan Organic Food and Farm Alliance (MOFFA) was organized in 1992 as a non-profit organization. We work to create more public awareness about the nature of industrialized food supply and its environmental and social hazards. We teach 'eaters' to value and to choose organically grown food produced in their own locales. MOFFA is a force for generating public awareness about the need for more decentralized food systems that allow for greater participation and choice on the part of all citizens.

New Agriculture Network
Three universities --Michigan State University, Purdue University, and the University of Illinois -- have joined resources to bring seasonal advice to field crop and vegetable growers interested in organic agriculture. New information is posted twice a month during the growing season and less frequently during winter. Our on-line newsletter features crop updates from organic growers and articles from university specialists about a variety of practices and new findings useful for organic growers. The information serves those interested in transitioning to organic as well as those currently practicing low-input or organic agriculture. We are continually writing grant proposals to support expanded resources.

Organic Agriculture in Michigan - 2006 Survey Report
From the Preface: This report is part of a collaborative project by Michigan State University (MSU) and the Michigan Organic Food and Farm Alliance (MOFFA) to identify the opportunities for more Michigan fruit and vegetable growers to participate in the growing market for organic produce. It is the first status report on organic agriculture that presents data about Michigan’s organic agriculture community. The report is presented for use in the development of policy, research and extension priorities to support the growth and diversification of Michigan organic production and marketing. (In PDF Format, 36 pages)

Organic USDA Resources

2008 Organic Production Survey by the USDA
The 2008 Organic Production Survey (OPS) is a follow-on survey to the 2007 Census of Agriculture. It is the first organic production and practices survey conducted on the national level by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS).

Fact Sheet on the 2008 Organic Production Survey

Organic Production and Organic Food: Information Access Tools / Mary V. Gold, Alternative Farming Systems Information Center. June 2007

National Organic Program  - USDA Agricultural Marketing Service The National Organic Program (NOP) develops, implements, and administers national production, handling, and labeling standards.

Definition: What is organic?
Organic production is a system that is managed in accordance with the Organic Foods Production Act (OFPA) of 1990 (PDF) and regulations in Title 7, Part 205 of the Code of Federal Regulations to respond to site-specific conditions by integrating cultural, biological, and mechanical practices that foster cycling of resources, promote ecological balance, and conserve biodiversity.

Organic Products - Commodities and Products, Foreign Agricultural Service

USDA Resources

USDA Census of Agriculture - 2007

USDA 2002 Census of Agriculture

Census of Agriculture - Historical Reports
The 1840 Census was the first to include statistics on agriculture. Since then, each subsequent census has continued to gauge the overall picture of U.S. agriculture. Many of these are available on-line through the U.S. Census Bureau website or here as PDFs. [Site covers 1840-1950, with links to the 1992, 1997, 2002 and 2007 reports.]

USDA Agricultural Economic Reports
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Agricultural Economic Reports. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.

USDA Agriculture Handbooks
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Agriculture Handbook series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.

USDA Agriculture Marketing Service (AMS)
The Agricultural Marketing Service includes six commodity programs--Cotton, Dairy, Fruit and Vegetable, Livestock and Seed, Poultry, and Tobacco. The programs provide standardization, grading and market news services for those commodities. They enforce such Federal Laws as the Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act and the Federal Seed Act. AMS commodity programs also oversee marketing agreements and orders, administer research and promotion programs, and purchase commodities for Federal food programs.

USDA Agriculture Information Bulletins
This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Agriculture Information Bulletins series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.

USDA Farmers' Bulletins

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Farmers' Bulletin series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.
Shelf location in the MSU Main Library - MSU GOV DOCS US DOCS, 3 West: A 1.9:nos.

USDA Foreign Agricultural Economic Reports

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Foreign Agricultural Economic Reports. It was compiled in August 2002 by the National Agricultural Library. This series was suspended in 1995.

USDA Home and Garden Bulletin Archive

Searchable archive to the USDA Home and Garden Bulletins, published between 1951-2003. The project is sponsored by the AgNIC consortium, the PDFs are courtesy of the National Agriculture Library, and the online collection is hosted by the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources at Michigan State University.
Shelf location in the MSU Main Library - MSU GOV DOCS US DOCS, 3 West: A 1.77:nos.

USDA Marketing Research Reports

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Marketing Research Reports. It was compiled in May 2003 by the National Agricultural Library, Agricultural Research Service.

USDA Miscellaneous Publications

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Miscellaneous Publications series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.
Shelf location in the MSU Main Library - MSU GOV DOCS US DOCS, 3 West: A 1.38:nos.

USDA Technical Bulletins

This is a Number/Title/Subject list of the USDA Technical Bulletins series. Many, but not all, link to the FULL TEXT of the document, in pdf format.
Shelf location in the MSU Main Library - MSU GOV DOCS US DOCS, 3 West: A 1.36:nos.

Michigan State University