Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Health Data & Statistics Research Guide: Nutrition & Exercise

Exercise

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity: Data, Trends and Maps
Presents data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System.  This database allows you to find statistics by city, state, or the nation.

Adult Physical Activity Information
The purpose of this site is to describe the history of the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) adult physical activity questions and provide tools for identifying, accessing, and using NHIS physical activity data, collected since 1975.

Exercise or Physical Activity
Faststats from the CDC.  Includes a list of relevant tables from Health, United States and links to related resources.

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)

The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six types of health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults

Nutrition

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Fruit and Vegetable Consumption from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillence Survey
 

National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States.

Nutrition Resources for Health Pros: Data and Statistics
This page provides a list of links to relevant studies and data collection efforts.

United States Department of Agriculture
Agriculture Research Service

Nutrition Data Laboratory
The Mission of the Nutrient Data Laboratory is "To develop authoritative food composition databases and state of the art methods to acquire, evaluate, compile and disseminate composition data on foods and dietary supplements available in the United States."

USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
Look up the nutrient value of thousands of foods in USDA's on-line searchable databse. Results show values for 128 nutrients.

United States Department of Agriculture
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion

Healthy Eating Index
The Healthy Eating Index (HEI) is a measure of diet quality that assesses conformance to federal dietary guidance.
This site includes reports with statistical tables and archived data files.

Nutrition Content of the U.S. Food Supply
The Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply is a historical data series, beginning in 1909, on the amounts of nutrients per capita per day in food available for consumption. An interactive version of this series allows users to query nutrient and pyramid servings information online.

 

Michigan State University