Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Michigan Wine and Enology Research Guide: Websites, Online Books, Digital Repositories

This guide identifies scholarly information and Michigan-regional resources on wine science, i.e. enology.

Online Documents and Books

USDA: ERS Reports:

Distilleries: 1997 Economic Census, Manufacturing Industry Series
from the U.S. Department of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau

Wineries: 1997 Economic Census, Manufacturing Industry Series
from the U.S. Department of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Census Bureau

Communion wine and Bible temperance / Thayer, William Makepeace. NY: National temerance society and publication house, 1869. Full text of this work courtesy of the Making of Americal Digital Library.

The Cultivation of the Native Grape, and Manufacture of American Wines by George C. Husmann. New York: G. E. & F. W. Woodward. 1866. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA).

An elementary treatise on American grape culture and wine making / Mead, Peter B. NY: Harper & brothers, 1867. Full text of this work courtesy of the Making of Americal Digital Library.

The gardeners dictionary: Containing the best and newest methods of cultivating and improving the kitchen, fruit, flower garden, and nursery, as also for performing the practical parts of agriculture, including the management of vineyards, with the methods of making and preserving wine, according to the present practice of the most skilful vignerons in the several wine countries in Europe, together with directions for propagating and improving, from real practice and experience, all sorts of timber trees / by Philip Miller London : Printed for the author and sold by John and Francis Rivington, 1768. Full text of this work courtesy of the Biodiversity Heritage Library.

Grapes and Wines from Home Vineyards by U. P. Hedrick. Oxford University Press, London; 1945.Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA).

The housekeeper's encyclopedia of useful information for the housekeeper in all branches of cooking and domestic economy: containing the first scientific and reliable rules for putting up all kinds of hermetically-sealed fruits, with or without sugar, in tin cans or common bottles; also rules for preserving fruits in American and French styles; with tried receipts for making domestic wines, catsups, syrups, cordials, etc. ; and practical directions for the cultivation of vegetables, fruits, and flowers, destruction of insects, etc., etc. / Mrs. E. F. Haskell. London: D. Appleton and Co., 1861. Full text of this work courtesy of the Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (HEARTH).

Jack's manual on the vintage and production, care and handling of wines, liquors, etc.: a handbook of information for home, club, or hotel : recipes for fancy mixed drinks and when and how to serve / A. J. Grohusko.  New York: J. A. Grohusko, [c191-?]. Full text of this work courtesy of the Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (HEARTH)

A laboratory manual in systematic pomology: an effort to place before the students of pomology in the Michigan agricultural college a means by which an intimate and accurate knowledge of polomogy may be acquired by U. P. Hedrick. s.n., [S.l.: 1903?]. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA).

Open air grape culture: A practical treatise on the garden and vineyard culture of the vine, and the manufacture of domestic wine. Designed for the use of amateurs and others in the northern and middle states... To which is added a selection of examples of American vineyard practice, and a carefully prepared description of the celebrated Thomery system of grape culture / Phin, John. NY: C. M. Saxton, 1862. Full text of this work courtesy of the Making of Americal Digital Library.

The Rev. Dr. Willoughby and His Wine by Mary Spring Walker. New York: National Temperance Society, 1869. Part of the Wright American Fiction Project, hosted by the Digital Library Program, Indiana University.

A treatise on adulterations of food, and culinary poisons: exhibiting the fraudulent sophistications of bread, beer, wine, spirituous liquors, tea, coffee, cream, confectionery, vinegar, mustard, pepper, cheese, olive oil, pickles, and other articles employed in domestic economy : and methods of detecting them / Friedrich Christian Accum. London: Sold by Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1820. Full text of this work courtesy of the Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, History (HEARTH)

Three seasons in European vineyards: Treating of vine-culture; vine disease and its cure; wine-making and wines, red and white; wine drinking, as affecting health and morals / Flagg, W. J. (William Joseph). NY: Harper, 1869. Full text of this work courtesy of the Making of Americal Digital Library.

Wealth and Wine by Mary Dwinell Chellis. New York: National Temperance Society and Publication House, 1874. Part of the Wright American Fiction Project, hosted by the Digital Library Program, Indiana University

Wine or Water by Mrs. Caroline A. Soule. Boston: A. Tompkins, 1862. Part of the Wright American Fiction Project, hosted by the Digital Library Program, Indiana University

The Wine Press and the Cellar: A Manual for the Wine-maker and the Cellar-man by Emmet H. Rixford. Payot, Upham & Co. ; San Francisco: 1883. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA).

Digital Repositories

The following are repositories of digital information pertaining to the plant sciences.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. They are digitizing the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections, and so far have over 1.124 million pages of key taxonomic literature available on the web. From a scholarly perspective, these collections are of exceptional value because the domain of systematic biology depends -- more than any other science -- upon historic literature. The “cited half-life” of natural history literature is longer than that of any other scientific domain.

Botanicus
Botanicus is a freely accessible, Web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

Great Lakes Digital Library
Te research papers represented on this site were published by the Great Lakes Research Division, a unit of the University of Michigan Institute for Science and Technology, and later reorganized under the Department of Biology.

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, published between 1850 and 1950.

Making of America
MoA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

National Agricultural Library Digital Repository
The NALDR provides access to primarily historical USDA publications either digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships with other institutions.

Organic Agriculture Information Access
Organic Agriculture Information Access is an electronic collection of historic United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) publications related to organic agriculture. In this collection, there are almost 200 documents published before 1942 (before synthetic chemicals became widely used) that contain state-of-the-art information and data that is still very pertinent for today's agriculture. This collection is provided by the Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC), a part of the National Agricultural Library (NAL),

TreeSearch
Provides access to publications of the US Forest Service.

Michigan State University