Skip to main content
Michigan State University

African American Studies Research Guide: Statistics

Contents

A compilation of statistical resources related to African Americans.

Proquest Statistical Insight

ProQuest Statistical Insight. 1973-present. Provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. Institutions can subscribe to the entire collection or to selected modules.

African American Women in America

Black Women in America photo from Washington Post

For more information see Krissah Thompson, Survey Paints Portrait of Black Women in America, Washington Post, January 22, 2012.

Statistical Reference Resources

Black (African American) Heritage Month, Feb. 2010 : Facts for Features (www).

The Black Population of the United States (WWW).

Facts on the Black or African American Population (WWW).

Black Demographic Data, 1790-1860: A Sourcebook / Clayton E. Cramer.  Westport, Ct. : Greenwood Press, 1997.  165pp.  Main Library  E185.18 .C73 1997 : An excellent resource on the changing population distribution of antebellum Black Americans, this book covers census data by region and state. Two-thirds of the book consists of tables and graphs providing dimensional representations of black populations, both free and slave, in pre-Civil War America. The book opens with a discussion of the limitations of the census data, then goes on to provide an overview of the progress of manumission, abolition, and restrictions on black migration. The book also examines the 1840 census controversy. It will be a particularly useful resource for scholars concerned with changes in the black population.

Historical Statistics of Black America (print). Gale.  2 volumes.  Reference (1 East)  E185 .H543 1995 : Statistical data on the African-American experience from the 18th century to 1975, arranged chronologically.  Covers topics such as agriculture, slavery, families, and population and vital statistics.

Statistical Record of Black America, 1990, 1993, 1997 (print).  Gale.  Main Library E185.5 .S77 : Covers statistical data from 1975 through the mid-1990s. Arranged by broad subject categories (e.g., education, employment).

We the Black Americans (WWW).  Black people constitute the second largest racial group in the United States. The population grew by 17 percent between 1970 and 1980. This booklet provides the following types of information about black Americans: (1) population trends; (2) residence patterns; (3) economic status; (4) employment status; (5) home ownership; (6) voting potential; (7) education; (8) military service; (9) life expectancy; and (10) family composition. The statistical information is presented in 20 charts and graphs. Thirty-four photographs are included.  Also available in print in the Documents Library, U.S. Government Documents Collection, C 3.2:AM 3/6/no.3.

We the People : Blacks in the United States (www)This report provides a portrait of the Black or African American population in the United States and discusses sex differences within this population at the national level. It is part of the Census 2000 Special Reports series that presents several demographic, social, and economic characteristics collected from Census 2000.  Census 2000 Special Report.  August 2005.

Who We Are : Blacks / by the New Strategist editorsIthaca, New York : New Strategist Publications, Inc., c2007.  253pp. Main Library E185.615 .W46 2007 : Provides a comprehensive look at the characteristics of this fast-growing segment of the U.S. population. In addition to detailed estimates of the numbers of blacks nationally and by state and metropolitan area, Who We Are: Blacks includes the latest socioeconomic data on the black population. It has detailed spending data for black households and the latest data on black household wealth. Results from the American Time Use Survey are also presented, profiling black time use and comparing it to the averages. The substantial educational, employment, and economic gains made by blacks, documented in the pages of Who We Are: Blacks, are contrary to population perception, but the are of utmost important to policy makers and business leaders.

Who We Are: Blacks / by the New Strategist editorsIthaca, New York : New Strategist Publications, Inc., 2011.  2nd edition, 297pp.  Main Library E184.A1 E185.615 .W473 2011 : Who We Are: Blacks provides a comprehensive look at the characteristics of this segment of the U.S. population. In addition to detailed estimates of the numbers of blacks nationally and by state and metropolitan area, Who We Are: Blacks includes the latest socioeconomic data on the black population. It has detailed spending data for black households and the latest data on black household wealth. Results from the American Time Use Survey are also presented, profiling black time use and comparing it to the averages.

Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States / by Tim B. Heaton, Bruce A. Chadwick, and Cardell K. JacobsonPhoenix, Ariz. : Oryx Press, 2000. 355pp.  Main Library E184.A1 H417 2000  : As the shift in racial and ethnic composition of the United States continues, students, researchers, and others will find it important to understand the differences between--and similarities among--racial groups. This volume compiles a broad range of statistical data on important topics across various racial groups. Gathered from authoritative sources, this information offers statistical comparisons on timely subjects, including: educational goals, attitudes about employment, leisure pursuits, marital happiness, attitudes about contraception, religious beliefs, arrest rates, and political party preferences.

We the People: An Atlas of America's Ethnic Diversity. Map Library (3 West) (Supersize Atlas Case) G1201.E1 A4 1988  Maps showing the geographical distribution of 44 ethnic and racial groups in the United States are presented. Maps are also included showing internal migration by ethnic group and refugee settlement, the distribution of ethnic groups in 1920. Data are primarily from the 1980 census. Statistical data are also presented in tabular form concerning the population of each U.S. county by ethnic group for 1980. Excellent demographic maps and statistical information. 

For more possibilities, search the MSU Library online catalog, MelCat, or WorldCat with the following subjects:

African Americans--statistics. 

Census Data

For even more details about African Americans, explore the following data compilations based on U.S. Census data:

United States Historical Census Data Browser
Contains data that describe the people and economy of the US for each state and county from 1790-1960.
Note: Statistics for many more geographic areas are available in the printed or online volumes on the Census Bureau website.

Social Explorer 
Create maps and reports from selected census statistics.
1790 to 1930: County, state and national data.
1940-2000: Census tract, county, state and national data.
2006- : ACS

Census of Population and Housing (US Census Bureau)
PDF versions of the printed volumes. The online collection is not complete. Use the MSU Libraries' print collections in the Main Library Census Alcove for missing online volumes.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University