LibGuides: Industry Research: Industry Trends & Analysis

Industrial Classification (SIC and NAICS codes)

When researching industry information, it is helpful to find the NAICS or SIC code for that industry, though all the industry databases also allow a keyword search. The federal government assigns these codes to business segments for data collection and reporting purposes. NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes were adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. Many research resources, such as databases, utilize NAICS and/or SIC codes for searching purposes. You can search many of the library databases by NAICS and/or SIC code to get industry information.

Example 1: if you want to study the ice cream manufacturing industry, you would look up the 2007 NAICS code from the link, below, and note that it is 311520

Industry Trends & Analysis

These resources give solid overviews of industries, with current trends and analysis. These resources will help you answer the questions: What is the current value of the industry? Is the industry growing? What are the major companies/competitors in the industry and what is their market share? What are some barriers to entry or threats to the industry? Market size, share and segmentation data plus detailed analysis and company information are included.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Provides market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. The reports analyze market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics. Also, has new product introductions in the consumer packaged goods market worldwide. Useful for anyone keeping track of trends in ingredients, packaging, and new market categories including food, beverages, beauty and personal care, household goods, and pet care. ***Formerly: Mintel Academic Reports and Mintel GNPD***
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides readable high level analysis for industries from the United States, some US states, worldwide, and in Canada and China. Includes supply chain, market share, and ease of entry industry data.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Provides companies profiles, industry reports, country and city information, case studies, financial deals, industry social media influencers, and news articles. Many of the company profiles have SWOT analyses and the industry reports have Porter's Five Forces analyses.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains market research reports from Freedonia Focus and Kalorama Information covering industries in the areas of Food & Beverage, Technology & Media, Heavy Industry, Life Sciences, Consumer Goods, Service Industries, and the Public Sector. There are also demographics reports.
Formerly Freedonia Focus
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. and International reports, data, and news for industries, companies and brands, economy, and consumers. It focuses more on the consumer products and services but also also contains sections supply sections for ingredients and packaging.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Contains market research reports on topics in these industries: life sciences, materials, sensors, energy and the environment, and commerce including technology, manufacturing, finance and more.
CFRA MarketScope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Provides industry surveys on 55 broad industries and financial reports and screening tools on Stocks, ETFs, and Mutual Funds using data from S&P.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth market analysis and technical reports in specialized industries including healthcare, aerospace & defense, chemicals, and energy.
EMIS Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides news, industry information, and company and financial data direct from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.
Mergent First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides basic US and global industry reports with a market analysis including competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more. It also contains state profiles, sales and marketing communications templates, and an industry prospector which ranks industries based on certain characteristics.
Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS) This link opens in a new window
Provides reports on IT infrastructure, telecommunications, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, application development, the Internet, technology vendors and more.
Smithers Packaging Market Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research reports focused on the packaging industry, with state-of-the-art assessments and analyses/forecasts by region, technology and/or end-use sector.
Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the Sporting Goods and Sports Marketing Industry; data includes consumer demographics, sports participation rates, online consumer buying patterns, sports attendance statistics, and international market surveys. It also offers full text access to several sports business trade journals.

Richard K. Miller & Associates Publications
RKMA publishes handbooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. Handbooks are: Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile; Entertainment, Media & Advertising Market Research Handbook; Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook; International Consumer Markets; Leisure Business Market Research Handbook; Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research Handbook; Retail Business Market Research Handbook; Sports Marketing; and Travel & Tourism Market Research Handbook

MSU Libraries

William C. Gast Business Library

Industry Research

Industrial Classification (SIC and NAICS codes)

Industry Trends & Analysis