A compilation of film resources about Asian Americans or Pacific Islander Americans available in the MSU Libraries.
Check out the online Asian American Cinema annotated bibliography by Celine Parreñas Shimizu courtesy of Oxford Bibliographies Online.
Topics covered include:
Interested in documentary films? Click on the tab at the top or click here.
Feel free to recommend your favorite documentary or feature film for acquisition by the library. Better yet the Library will be happy to accept donations and they are tax deductible too!
Broken Blossoms, or, The Yellow Man and The Girl
Chinatown After Dark (1931)
Come See the Paradise (1991)
Crimson Kimona
All Asian American movies are located in the Digital and Multimedia Center (4 West) unless otherwise indicated, and can be checked out unless on reserve for a class:
American Fusion / American Fusion Productions, Wildcat Releasing ; produced by Robin Randal Oliver ... [et al.] ; written by Randall Park, Frank Lin ; directed by Frank Lin. [United States] : Image Entertainment, [2008]. 1 DVD videodisc (94 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.2 .A54 2008 VideoDVD (Also available as part of the ROVI Movie Collection) : Cultures collide when a devoted but frustrated young Chinese-American woman falls for a hunky Hispanic dentist. A warm-hearted satire of ethnic stereotypes and family relationships provides nonstop laughs. Cast : Esai Morales, Sylvia Chang, Pat Morita.
American Pastime / T&C Pictures ; Shadowcatcher Entertainment ; Rosy Bushes Productions present ; produced by Tom Gorai, Terry Spazek, Barry Rosenbush ; screenplay by Desmond Nakano & Tony Kayden ; directed by Desmond Nakano. Burbank, CA : Warner Home Video, c2007. 1 DVD videodisc (106 min.) PN1995.9.B28 A64 2007 VideoDVD : Set against the Japanese-American internment camps during WWII, Japanese-American families, now faced with a country that doubts their loyalty, turned to baseball as a way to handle their plight and find the strength to stand up for themselves. Based on true events, also tells the story of a minor-leaguer and guard at the Topaz Internment Camp who, amidst all the conflict, is hoping for one last shot at the Major Leagues.
Asian Stories / presented by Cinema Epoch and MultiVisionnaire ; a Chris Chin & Ron Oda film ; directed & written by Ron Oda ; created and directed by Kris Chin. [Los Angeles, CA] : Cinema Epoch c2007 [2006] 1 DVD videodisc (98 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.M27 A85 2007 VideoDVD : Jim is a young, closefisted Chinese American living in LA who desperately finds himself with a stack of disposable cameras, invitations, champagne bottles, and a ten-thousand dollar engagement ring bill. The only thing missing is a bride. In financial debt and miserable from having his fiancé leave two weeks prior to Valentine's day, Jim asks his best friend, a Japanese hitman, to kill him. With less than four days to live, Jim treks to the mountains to find his fate. Along the way, he encounters a pizza delivery boy with lucky charms, searches for the funeral spot of his choice and meets a girl.
Bad Day at Black Rock / produced by Dore Schary ; screenplay by Millard Kaufman ; directed by John Sturges. Burbank, CA : Warner Home Video, 2005. 1 DVD videodisc (81 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.V5 B333 2005 VideoDVD : A thriller film directed by John Sturges that combines elements of a Western and Film Noir. It tells the story of a mysterious stranger who arrives at a tiny isolated town in a desert of the Southwest United States in search of aman named Komoko.
The Beautiful Country / Sony Pictures Classics and TF1 International present a Sunflower/Dinamo Story production in association with Samy Boy Entertainment, a film by Hans Petter Moland ; produced by Edward R. Pressman, Terrence Malick, Petter J. Borgli, Tomas Backström ; story by Sabina Murray and Lingard Jervey ; screenplay by Sabina Murray ; directed by Hans Petter Moland. Culver City, CA : Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, [2005] 1 DVD videodisc (125 min.) : anamorphic, sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.2 .B43 2005 VideoDVD : Binh has grown up not knowing his parents, an American soldier and a Vietnamese woman. In an effort to find a better life he searches for his mother in Saigon before heading to New York City and later Houston. Cast : Nick Nolte, Tim Roth, Bai Ling, Temuera Morrision, Damien Nguyen.
The Best of Slant. Vol. One. [Houston, Tex.] : Aurora Video ; [San Francisco, Calif.] : Microcinema International [distributor], [2007] 1 dvd videodisc (61 min.) : sd., col. and b&w ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.A77 B47 2007 VideoDVD : Each year, the Aurora Picture Show hosts Slant, a festival of short films by leading Asian-American filmmakers. This collection features eight of the festival's best films, as chosen by curator Melissa Hung, from its 2000 inception. Selections include "Profiles in Science" by Wes Kim, "Lilo and Me" by Kip Fulbeck, "How to Do the Asian Squat" by Daniel Hsia, "I Pie (A Love Story)" by Nobu Adilman and "A Little Bit Different" by Lynn Okimura.
Better Luck Tomorrow / Hudson River Entertainment, Cherry Sky Films, Day O Productions, a Trailing Johnson production, a film by Justin Lin ; MTV Films ; producers, Julie Asato, Ernesto M. Foronda, Justin Lin ; writers, Ernesto M. Foronda, Justin Lin, Fabian Marquez ; director, Justin Lin. Hollywood, Calif. : Paramount, c2003. 1 DVD videodisc (100 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.H45 B48 2003 VideoDVD : A group of seemingly "perfect" high-school buddies lead double lives. They fly high in a world of petty crime and material excess - a free-wheeling lifestyle that soon takes a downward spiral, leading to an unexpected, violent end. Cast : Parry Shen, Jason Tobin, Sung Kang, Roger Fan, John Cho, Karin Anna Cheung, Jerry Mathers.
Big Dreams little Tokyo / Echo Bridge Home Entertainment ; produced by Duane Andersen, Megan Boyle ; written and directed by Dave Boyle ; Brainwave Film Group ; Tiger Industry Films ; Left Coast Digital. [La Crosse, Wis.] : Echo Bridge Home Entertainment, 2008. 1 DVD videodisc (86 min) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : Boyd aspires to succeed in the world of Japanese business but finds himself mostly on the outside looking in. Meanwhile, his roommate Jerome, is a Japanese American who has always felt too American to be Japanese but too Japanese to be American. He aspires to be a sumo wrestler but finds his weight and blood pressure are thwarting his dreams. Together they struggle to find their place in a world where cultural identity is seldom what it seems.
Big Trouble in Little China / written by Gary Goldman and David Z. Weinstein ; produced by Larry J. Franco ; directed by John Carpenter ; Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation. Livonia, Mich. : CBS/Fox Video, c1986. 1 videodisc (LaserVision CLV) (99 min.) PN1995.9.A3 B543 1986 Video (12 inch) disc : Taking them through a shadowy world filled with supernatural creatures and spectacular action, regular guy Jack Burton (Kurt Russell) and Gracie Law (Kim Cattrall) try to track down a 2,000-year-old magician, Lo Pan (James Hong), who has kidnapped Burton's friend's green-eyed fiancee.
Boston Blackie's Chinese Venture / Columbia Pictures presents ; produced by Rudolph C. Flothow ; directed by Seymour Friedman. Culver City, Calif. : Columbia Pictures, 2011. 1 DVD videodisc (59 min.) : sound, black and white ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : Blackie is accused of murdering a Chinese laundry owner. With his perennial nemeses Inspector Farraday and Sgt. Matthews on his tail, Blackie and sidekick The Runt are once again in a deadly race to clear themselves before their fortune cookies are permanently crumbled.
Broken Blossoms, or, The Yellow Man and The Girl / adapted from a story by Thomas Burke ; under the personal direction of D.W. Griffith. Narbeth, PA : Alpha Video, [2005] 1 DVD videodisc (75 min.) : sil., b&w ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.75 .B86 2005 VideoDVD (Also available as part of the ROVI Movie Collection and as streaming video from Alexander Street Press) : Set in the Limehouse district of London, this is the story of Lucy, a 15-year-old living with her abusive prizefighter father, Battling Burrows. Driven from her home, she finds love and protection in the home of a gentle Chinese man. Together they begin to discover the joys that life has denied both of them. Then Lucy's father finds her, brutally beats her protector, takes her back home, and, in his rage, kills her. The grief stricken Chinese man avenges Lucy's death and then takes his own life. Originally released as a motion picture in 1919. Cast : Lillian Gish, Richard Barthelmess, Donald Crisp, Arthur Howard.
Catfish in Black Bean Sauce (2001) / produced, written, and directed by Chi Muoi Lo. [S.l.] : First Look Media Home Entertainment, c2001 1 DVD videodisc (119 mins.) : 4 3/4 in PN1995.9.F35 C38 2001 VideoDVD : Dwayne and his sister are Vietnamese siblings who were adopted by an African-American couple. Now in their mid-20s, they both have chosen different paths, but when they learn that their biological mother is coming to Los Angeles, they eagerly await the reunion. This drama is both funny and moving in an emotionally rewarding journey through the tapestry of one group of immigrants searching for what it means to call themselves a family. Cast : Paul Winfield, Mary Alice, Chi Mudi Lo, Kieu Chinh, Lauren Tom, Sana Lathan, Tyler Christopher, George Wallace.
Chan Is Missing / a film by Wayne Wang ; script, Terrel Seltzer, Wayne Wang. Port Washington, NY : Koch Lorber Films : Distributed by KOCH Vision, [2006] 1 DVD videodisc (ca. 80 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.I57 C436 2006 VideoDVD : Two cabbies search San Francisco's Chinatown for a mysterious character who has disappeared with their $4000. Their quest to figure out what happened to Chan and their missing cash leads them on a journey that illuminates the pitfalls of Chinese-Americans trying to assimilate into contemporary American society. Cast : Wood Moy, Marc Hayashi, Laureen Chew, Peter Wang. Movie Review.
Charlotte Sometimes / Visionbox Pictures presents a Visionbox Pictures production ; producers, Marc Ambrose, Eric Byler ; story, Eric Byler, Jeff Liu ; writer/director, Eric Byler. New York, NY : Hart Sharp Video, c2002. 1 DVD videodisc (85 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.M27 C523 2002 VideoDVD : Soft-spoken Michael (Michael Idemoto) is secretly in love with next-door neighbor Lori (Eugenia Yaun), who's committed to boyfriend Justin (Matt Westmore). Unbeknownst to Justin, Michael and Lori develop an intimate -- though sexless -- friendship, and Lori encourages Michael to find a girlfriend. But when he does, jealousies erupt with the other couple, threatening relationships all around.
China Dolls / Film Australia ; writer/director Tony Ayres ; producer Helen Bowden. New York, NY : Filmakers Library, [1999?] 1 DVD videodisc (28 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 4 3/4 in. HQ76.2.A8 C55 1999 VideoDVD : This stylish and moving portrayal of gays of Asian descent in Australia explores the relationship between race and sexuality. ... probes the uncomfortable reality of racial stereotyping and discrimination in the gay world through interviews with Asian men who talk frankly, and often humorously, of their experiences living within a double minority. The filmmaker himself tells a highly personal story of his journey from denial to self acceptance." Hey its about Australia but may be of interest.
Chinatown After Dark (1931) / [presented by] Ralph M. Like ; Action Pictures, Inc. Narbeth, PA. : Alpha Video Distributors, Inc., [2005], p1931. 1 DVD videodisc (55 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.D4 C474 2005 VideoDVD : Chinatown After Dark is where you'll find Madame Ying Su (Carmel Myers), a "dragon lady" type who'll stop at nothing to get her hands on a rare dagger belonging to the Royal House of Lee Fong. Unbeknownst to the authorities, the dagger contains a priceless jewel, the owner of which will be able to wield untold power over all of Chinatown. American Jim Bonner (Rex Lease), in love with Lee Fong's ward Lotus (Vera Reynolds), is set up as the fall guy when the dagger is stolen and a man is murdered. Bonner spends the rest of the picture trying to prove his innocence to a sneezing comic-relief detective (Billy Gilbert), in one of his first important feature-length roles. "See what happens in the underworld dens after dark!" entreated the ads for this fast-moving cheapie.
Cho Revolution / written by Margaret Cho ; produced and edited by Lorene Machado ; directed by Lorene Machado ; Cho Taussig Productions. New York, NY : Wellspring Media, c2004. 1 DVD videodisc (85 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1969.C65 C47 C56 2004 VideoDVD : A stand-up comedy performance by comedian Margaret Cho.
Come See the Paradise (1991) / 20th Century Fox ; produced by Robert F. Colesberry ; written and directed by Alan Parker. Beverly Hills, Calif. : Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment, 2006, c1990. 1 DVD videodisc (ca. 133 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.M27 C64 2006 VideoDVD : One of the few American films to deal with the tragic story of the internment of Asian-Americans during World War II, Come See the Paradise opens in the late 1930s, as Jack McGurn (Dennis Quaid) is working as a union organizer in New York City. Jack finds himself on the wrong side of the law after he gets involved in an ill-advised bombing of a scab shop, and he flees to Los Angeles, where Hiroshi Kawamura (Sab Shimono) gives him a job as a projectionist in L.A.'s Little Tokyo. Jack soon meets Hiroshi's beautiful daughter Lily (Tamlyn Tomita) and it's love at first sight. Jack and Lily decide to get married, but Hiroshi opposes the match and California law prevents mixed-race couples from obtaining a marriage license. Jack and Lily move to Seattle, where they are wed and soon have a daughter. Jack, however, begins working with the union again, which puts a strain on their marriage; Lily takes their child and returns to Los Angeles. But before long the United States enters World War II, and the Kawamura family is sent (along with all other Americans of Japanese descent living in California) to an internment camp, as it is believed they will become traitors against America if left to their own devices. Jack, ironically, is drafted into the Army and soon goes AWOL to return to California, where he tries to find his wife in the camps.
Crash (2005) / Lions Gate Films and Bob Yari Productions & DEJ Productions present a Blackfriar's Bridge and Harris Company production ; an Apolloproscreen production ; a Bull's Eye Entertainment production ; a film by Paul Haggis ; produced by Cathy Schulman ... [et al.] ; story by Paul Haggis ; screenplay by Paul Haggis & Bobby Moresco ; directed by Paul Haggis. Santa Monica, Calif. : Lions Gate Entertainment, 2004. 1 DVD (122 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997 .C7374 2004 VideoDVD : Movie studios, by and large, avoid controversial subjects like race the way you might avoid a hive of angry bees. So it's remarkable that Crash even got made; that it's a rich, intelligent, and moving exploration of the interlocking lives of a dozen Los Angeles residents -- black, white, latino, Asian, and Persian -- is downright amazing. A politically nervous district attorney (Brendan Fraser) and his high-strung wife (Sandra Bullock, biting into a welcome change of pace from Miss Congeniality) get car-jacked by an oddly sociological pair of young black men (Larenz Tate and Chris "Ludacris" Bridges); a rich black T.V. director (Terrence Howard) and his wife (Thandie Newton) get pulled over by a white racist cop (Matt Dillon) and his reluctant partner (Ryan Phillipe); a detective (Don Cheadle) and his Latina partner and lover (Jennifer Esposito) investigate a white cop who shot a black cop--these are only three of the interlocking stories that reach up and down class lines. Writer/director Paul Haggis (who wrote the screenplay for Million Dollar Baby) spins every character in unpredictable directions, refusing to let anyone sink into a stereotype. The cast--ranging from the famous names above to lesser-known but just as capable actors like Michael Pena (Buffalo Soldiers) and Loretta Devine (Woman Thou Art Loosed)--meets the strong script head-on, delivering galvanizing performances in short vignettes, brief glimpses that build with gut-wrenching force. This sort of multi-character mosaic is hard to pull off; Crash rivals such classics as Nashville and Short Cuts. A knockout.
Crimson Kimona (1959), one of the films available on The Samuel Fuller Collection Culver City, Calif. : Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, c2009. 7 videodiscs (ca. 529 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.A1 S26 2009 VideoDVD VideoDVD 1-7 : Two detective partners, one Caucasian and one Japanese, seek a stripper's killer in the Japanese quarter of Los Angeles. Unfortunately, trouble arises when along the way, when both of them fall in love with the key witness!
The Debut / 5 Card Productions and Celestial Pictures in association with National Asian American Telecommunications Association, GMA Network Films; written by Gene Cajayon & John Manal Castro ; produced by Lisa Onodera ; directed by Gene Cajayon. Culver City, Calif. : Columbia Tristar Home Entertainment, 2003, c2000. 1 DVD (ca. 88 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.2 .D43 2003 VideoDVD : Ben is from a Filipino-American family who is soon to graduate from high school. Currently, most of his family is preoccupied with an elaborate coming-out party being thrown for Ben's sister Rose. Ben isn't too thrilled about having to attend, so he invites his best friends Rick and Doug. To their surprise, Rick and Doug find themselves having a great time getting a glimpse of Filipino culture, and Ben meets a pretty girl named Annabelle. Cast : Danté Basco, Tirso Cruz III, Eddie Garcia.
Dim Sum : A Little Bit of Heart / a film by Wayne Wang. [Port Washington, NY] : Koch Lorber Films, [2006] 1 DVD videodisc (87 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.F67 D56 2006 VideoDVD : Set in San Francisco's Chinese community, director Wayne Wang's low-key comedy chronicles the changing relationship between widowed Mrs. Tam (Kim Chew) and her single, 30-year-old daughter, Geraldine (Laureen Chew). Believing she won't live to see another birthday, Mrs. Tam would like Geraldine -- who still lives at home -- to tie the knot soon. Is she reluctant to wed out of concern for her aging mother, or is it an aversion to tradition? Cast : Laureen Chew, Kim Chew, Victor Wong, Joan Chen..
Dim Sum Funeral / Reel One Entertainment presents ; produced by Jeffery Lando ; written by Donald Martin ; directed by Anna Chi. [United States] : Home Box Office, c2009. 1 DVD videodisc (ca. 96 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.2 .D56 2009 VideoDVD : An Irish funeral has what's called a wake, a Jewish funeral has what's called sitting shiva, and a traditional Chinese funeral is something else entirely, which is what the estranged siblings of a Westernized Chinese-American family discover as they try to fulfill their mother's last wish. Cast : Talia Shire, Kelly Hu, Bai Ling
Double Happiness / New Line H ome Entertainment ; Fine Line Features, First Generation Films, Inc. & New Views present a film by Mina Shum ; produced by Rose Lam Waddell & Stephen Hegyes ; written and directed by Mina Shum. Chatsworth, CA : Distributed by Image Entertainment, [2007] 1 DVD videodisc (87 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.C55 D683 2007 VideoDVD : Jade must choose between family and personal happiness. Her parents want her to marry a successful Chinese man and she wants to make her own decisions. When she falls in love with a white university student, the façade of the perfect Chinese daughter begins to crack. A story about pursuing your dreams while living up to everybody else's. Actually takes place in Canada, but included anyway. Cast : Sandra Oh, Stephen M.D. Chang, Alannah Ong, Donald Fong, Frances You.
Eat a Bowl of Tea / Columbia Pictures ; produced by Tom Sternberg ; directed by Wayne Wang ; screenplay, Judith Rascoe. Culver City, Calif. : Columbia Tristar Home Entertainment, c2003. 1 DVD videodisc (ca. 102 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.C55 E28 2003 VideoDVD : Wayne Wong directed this delicate drama about an arranged but love-filled marriage gone awry. After the ban against the immigration of Chinese women is lifted, Wah Gay (Victor Wong) sends his son (Russell Wong) back to China to find his betrothed (Cora Miao). It's a love match, but when they return to America, the challenges of making a living and adjusting to a new life, plus the attentions of a gambler (Eric Tsang), threaten their marriage. Also available via NetFlix.
Enter the Dragon / Warner Bros. ; produced by Fred Wintraub & Paul Heller in association with Raymond Chow. Burbank, CA : Warner Home Video, c2004. 2 DVD videodiscs (102 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.H3 E68 2004 VideoDVD : Lee goes to the island of a warlord of crime, Han, who carries on his opium smuggling and prostitution activities under the disguise of a martial arts academy. Determined to avenge the death of his sister, Lee penetrates Han's stronghold and enters a brutal martial arts tournament Han is staging. Bruce Lee, John Saxon, Ahna Capri, Bob Wall, Shih Kien, Jim Kelly.
Face = Mian / Beech Hill Films presents ; produced by Bertha Bay-Sa Pan ; written by Bertha Bay-Sa Pan and Oren Moverman ; directed by Bertha Bay-Sa Pan. [West Hollywood, Calif.] : Indican Pictures, 2005. 1 DVD videodisc (approximately 89 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : A Chinese-American teenager, Genie, was abandoned at birth by her mother and raised by her traditional Chinese grandmother. When she falls in love with an African-American man, three generations of women must cope with cultural and familial pressures.
Flower Drum Song / Universal-International presents a Ross Hunter production in association with Joseph Fields ; produced by Ross Hunter ; screenplay by Joseph Fields ; directed by Henry Koster. Universal City, CA : Universal Studios Home Entertainment, [2006] 1 DVD videodisc (ca. 132 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.M86 R634477 2006 VideoDVD : Chinese beauty Mei Li (Miyoshi Umeki) arrives in San Francisco to meet her fiancé, wealthy nightclub owner Sammy Fong (Jack Soo), in an arranged marriage, but the groom has his eye on his star singer Linda Low (Nancy Kwan). This film version of the Rodgers and Hammerstein Broadway musical is filled with stunning song-and-dance numbers showcasing the contrast between Mei Li's traditional family and her growing fascination with American culture. Cast - Nancy Kwan, James Shigeta, Benson Fong, Jack Soo, Juanita Hall, Miyoshi Umeki.
All Asian American movies are located in the Digital and Multimedia Center (4 West) unless otherwise indicated, and can be checked out unless on reserve for a class:
Go for Broke. Nartberth, PA : Alpha Video Distributors, [2005] 1 DVD videodisc (90 min.) : sound, black and white ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.W3 G64 2005 VideoDVD (Also available as part of the ROVI Movie Collection) : A WW2 drama with Lt. Michael Grayson, a bigoted Texan, assigned to train and lead the 442nd Regimental Combat Team. A squad of loyal Japanese-Americans who had to battle prejudice as well as the Axis enemy.
Gran Torino / Warner Bros. Pictures presents in association with Village Roadshow Pictures, a Double Nickel Entertainment, a Malpaso Production ; produced by Robert Lorenz, Bill Gerber ; story by David Johannson & Nick Schenk ; screenplay by Nick Schenk ; produced and directed by Clint Eastwood. Burbank, CA : Warner Home Video, [2009] 1 DVD videodisc (116 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.2 .G73 2009 VideoDVD : Walt Kowalski is a widower who holds onto his prejudices despite the changes in his Michigan neighborhood and the world around him. Walt is a grumpy, tough-minded, unhappy old man, who can't get along with either his kids or his neighbors. He is a Korean War veteran whose prize possession is a 1972 Gran Torino he keeps in mint condition. When his neighbor, Thao, a young Hmong teenager, becomes pressured by his gang member cousin to steal Walt's Gran Torino, Kowalski sets out to reform the youth. Drawn against his will into the life of Thao's family, Walt is soon taking steps to protect them from the gangs that infest their neighborhood. Cast : Clint Eastwood, Bee Vang, Ahney Her, Christopher Carley, John Carroll Lynch ; Brian Haley, Brian Howe, William Hill.
Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle (2004) / New Line Cinema presents in association with Senator International a Senator International/Kingsgate production in association with Endgame Entertainment ; directed by Danny Leiner ; produced by Greg Shapiro, Nathan Kahane ; written by Jon Hurwitz, Hayden Schlossberg. [Los Angeles, Calif.] : New Line Home Entertainment, c2005. 1 DVD videodisc (90 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.C55 H376 2005 VideoDVD : The quintessential 2004 stoner comedy. Kal Penn, formerly of "House", and John Cho, from "Star Trek," star as two stoners, tripped out on cannibus, trying to get to the closest White Castle to buy burgers ("sliders"). If "Chan is Missing" is the verisimilitude, anti-Hollywood, art film, "Harold and Kumar" is a whacked-out, off-to-see-the-wizard comedy. Stopping at Princeton for weed and an incredible wild "Asian" party, bitten by a racoon, performing a surgical operation, riding a cheetah, a Neil Patrick Harris fired up on ecstasy. This is an Asian American farce, expanded and exploded. And as a farce, don't concern yourself with the leaps into illogic. Simply laugh and enjoy it. It is truly a joy to see two Asians as leads in a goofy and ridiculous, yet noncondescending, movie. Rated R for strong language, comic violence, and nudity.
Heaven & earth / Warner Bros. presents, in association with Regency Enterprises, Le Studio Canal+ and Alcor Films, an Ixtlan/New Regency/Todd-Ao/Tae production ; an Oliver Stone film ; produced by Oliver Stone [and others] ; directed by Oliver Stone. Burbank, CA : Warner Home Video, [2004] 1 DVD videodisc (140 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : The powerful story of a man who fought, a woman who endured, and a love caught up in the explosive wartime upheaval in Vietnam. Based on the books "When heaven and earth changed places" by Le Ly Hayslip with Jay Wurts and "Child of war, woman of peace" by Le Ly Hayslip with James Hayslip.
Journey from the Heart / WINN Entertainment and CACC Investments present ; producers, Cindy Sison & Frank Gargani ; writtein and directed by VV Dachin Hsu. Chicago, Ill. : Distributed by Questar, [2005] 1 DVD videodisc (90 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : Three generations, two bickering sisters, and one motor home. Fasten your seat belts for a wild and unforgettable road trip in this award-winning drama. Tsai Chin heads a distinguished international cast as Lee Lai Yinn, a woman who accepts an invitation to join her two daughters, son-in-law, and granddaughter in America for her seventieth birthday. The Americanized sisters are worlds apart. Ming Yee is an embittered and bossy single mother. Ming Na is a free-spirited writer. Their road trip through the California wilderness is marked by detours and personality clashes that threaten to tear the family apart. It is up to the wise but weary Grandma Lee to end the strife and reunite her estranged daughters.
The Joy Luck Club / Hollywood Pictures ; screenplay by Ronald Bass & Amy Tan ; produced by Wayne Wang ... [et al.] ; directed by Wayne Wang. [Hollywood, Calif.] : Hollywood Pictures Home Video ; Burbank, Calif. : Distributed by Buena Vista Home Video, [200-?] 1 DVD videodisc (ca. 139 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.F35 J69 2000 VideoDVD (Also available as part of the ROVI Movie Collection : Follows the story of four lifelong friends, whose lives are filled with joy and heartbreak, and shows how their experiences have affected the hopes and dreams they hold for each of their children. Cast : Tsai Chin, Kieu Chinh, Lisa Lu, France Nuyen, Rosalind Chao, Lauren Tom, Tamlyn Tomita, Ming-Na Wen, Michael Paul Chan, Andrew McCarthy, Christopher Rich, Russell Wong, Vivian Wu.
Little Boy : believe the impossible / Open Road Films presents ; a Metanoia Films production ; produced by Leo Severino, Eduardo Verástegui, Alejandro Monteverde ; written by Alejandro Monteverde & Pepe Portillo ; directed by Alejandro Monteverde. Universal City, CA : Universal Studios Home Entertainment, [2015] 1 DVD videodisc (107 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.F42 L58 2015 VideoDVD : The film centers around Pepper Flynt Busbee (Jakob Salvati) growing up in O'Hare California during World War II. Pepper is short and gets the nickname "Little Boy" replacing "midget." When his brother London (David Henrie) was rejected for service, dad (Michael Rapaport) who is Pepper's only friend, goes instead. When loyal Japanese are released from internment, Hashimoto (Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa) shows up in town befriended by a local priest (Tom Wilkinson). Dad is believed to be either dead or a POW in Japan. Pepper displays his disdain for "the Jap" in front of Father Oliver who tailors him a personal penance of good deeds. One of his deeds is to make friends with Hashimoto, the "face of the enemy."
Manslaughter and the Cheat / a Cecil B. De Mille production ; directed by Cecil B. De Mille. The Cheat / a Famous Players-Lasky production ; by Hector Turnbull ; produced and directed by Cecil B. De Mille. New York : Kino International Corp., c2002. 1 DVD videodisc (100, 59 min.) : sd., col. tint, b&w ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.75 .M36 2002 VideoDVD : Manslaughter originally released as a silent film in 1915; the Cheat originally released as a silent film in 1922.
Mississippi Masala / SCS Films Inc. presents, in association with Odyssey/Cinecom International and Film Four International ; a Mirabai Films Production, in association with MovieWorks and Black River Productions ; produced by Michael Nozik, Mira Nair ; directed by Mira Nair ; written by Sooni Taraporevala. [Burbank, Calif.] : Columbia TriStar Home Video, [2003] 1 DVD videodisc (approximately 118 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.R23 M577 2003 VideoDVD (Also available as part of the ROVI Movie Collection) : In this exotic and erotic interracial love story, an African American businessman falls for a beautiful Indian immigrant, only to encounter shock and outrage from both families. Want more info? Try Movie Review Query Engine.
The Motel / a Flan de Coco production in association with Richard and Esther Shapiro Entertainment ; a film by Michael Kang ; produced by Matthew Greenfield ... [et al.] ; written and directed by Michael Kang. [New York, N.Y.] : Palm Pictures, [2007]. 1 DVD videodisc (76 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.C55 M6845 2007 VideoDVD : Chinese-American adolescent Ernest works after school cleaning rooms at the dingy motel owned by his bossy mother. A Korean-American playboy drifter helps Ernest come out of his shell, encouraging him to pursue an older girl he has a crush on. Ernest absorbes life lessons about girls, bullies, baseball and success. Cast : Jeffrey Chyau, Sung Kang, Jade Wu, Samantha Futerman, Alexis Chang, Stephen Chen.
Mulan / Walt Disney Pictures ; producer, Pam Coats ; writers, Robert D. San Souci & Rita Hsiao & Chris Sanders & Philip La Zebnika & Raymond Singer & Eugenia Bostwick-Singer ; directed by Tony Bancroft, Barry Cook. [United States] : Walt Disney Home Entertainment ; Burbank, CA : Distributed by Buena Vista Home Entertainment, [2004] 2 DVD videodiscs (ca. 88 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.5 .M85 2004 VideoDVD 1-2 : Hey, its actually about a famous Chinese girl who takes the place of her father in the army, but what the heck....Clever Mulan proves her worth outside of her tradition-bound society when, diguised as the male soldier, "Ping", she bravely takes her father's place in the Imperial Army. Helped by her funny guardian dragon Mushu and a lucky cricket named Cri-kee, Mulan strives to earn the respect of her fellow warriors and her courageous Captain Shang. Mulan's adventures lead to a climatic battle atop the Imperial Palace, where her family's honor and the fate of the Emperor and all of China rests in her hands. ... Special features: deleted scenes; songs of "Mulan"; new and original music videos; "Discovering 'Mulan'"--Embark on a behind-the-scenes adventures with the filmmakers; early presentation reels; DisneyPedia: "Mulan's world"--explore the fascinating world of ancient China with your host, Mushu; 'Mulan' fun facts; audio commentary; storyboard-to-film comparisons. Want to listen in Mandarin Chinese?
Mulan II / Walt Disney Pictures. [United States] : Walt Disney Home Entertainment ; Burbank, CA : Distributed by Buena Vista Home Entertainment, [2005] 1 DVD videodisc (approximately 79 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : A beautiful and heroic Chinese girl is preparing to marry. But first she must complete a dangerous mission -- accompanied by her fiance, three princesses, and her sassy guardian dragon -- in this funny animated adventure.
The Namesake / Fox Searchlight Pictures, Entertainment Farm, UTV Motion Pictures present a Mirabai Films & Cine Mosaic production ; producers, Lydia Dean Pilcher, Mira Nair ; screenplay, Sooni Taraporevala ; directed by Mira Nair. Beverly Hills, Calif. : 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment, [2007] 1 DVD videodisc (122 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.2 .N364 2007 VideoDVD : The son of Indian immigrants born in America wants to fit in with fellow New Yorkers, but his family is unwilling to let go of their traditional ways.
Only the Brave / Indican Pictures presents a Mission From Buddha Productions ; written, produced & directed by Lane Nishikawa. San Diego, CA : Indican Pictures, [2009] 1 DVD videodisc (approximately 100 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : Inspired by the historic rescue of the Texan "lost battalion" by the all-Japanese-American 100th/442nd Regimental Combat Team who endured heavy casualties, this film captures the tragedies and sacrifices of these courageous Americans, who had to overcome great prejudice and injustice to themselves and their families.
Phantom of Chinatown (1940) / Monogram Pictures Corporation ; Monarch Film Corporation ; directed by Phil Rosen ; original story by Ralph Bettinson ; producer, Paul Malvern ; screenplay by Joseph West. Narberth, PA : Alpha Video, [2003] 1 DVD videodisc (62 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.D4 C4743 2003 VideoDVD : In the last of Monogram's "Mr. Wong" whodunits, Keye Luke takes over from Boris Karloff as the Chinese detective Jimmy Lee Wong, more of an amateur sleuth, really, than his eminent predecessor. The subject for Wong's examination is the poisoning of Dr. Benton (Charles F. Miller), the leader of an expedition to Mongolia and the possessor of a mysterious and seemingly deadly scroll. With Captain Street (Grant Withers) and the dead man's Chinese secretary (Lotus Long<) alternately aiding and obstructing the investigation, Wong gets to the bottom of things within the expected 68 minutes or so by using himself as a decoy.
Piccadilly (1929) / a film by E.A. Dupont ; restored by the British Film Institute ; screenplay, Arnold Bennett ; director/producer, E.A. Dupont. Chatsworth, Ca. : Image Entertainment, c2005. 1 DVD videodisc (109 min.) : si., b&w ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.D4 P5232 2005 VideoDVD : Valentine Wilmot, the owner of the popular Piccadilly Club finds his lead male attraction, Victor Smiles (Cyril Ritchard) has quit and that the public has judged Victor’s partner Mabel as over the hill. Though they are lovers, Valentine must find another dancer to replace Mabel or face an uncertain future. When a customer (Charles Laughton in his first feature film) complains of a dirty dish, Valentine discovers the answer to all his problems down in the club’s scullery… After many years of supporting roles in Hollywood, Anna May Wong left for Europe in search of better roles. And did she find one! Her electric, sexually-charged performance in Piccadilly is a revelation. Wong is mesmerizing as Shosho, the Chinese scullery maid who overnight becomes the toast of London — and the object of sexual desire of all around her. The camera adores Wong, and against Alfred Junge’s astonishing set design, her beauty glows in every frame. Piccadilly was the brilliant apex to Dupont’s trilogy of backstage life (Varieté and Moulin Rouge), showcasing the director’s signature mix of great acting, amazing imagery and astonishing camera movements.
Picture Bride / Miramax Films in association with Thousand Cranes Filmworks ; produced by Lisa Onodera ; directed by Kayo Hatta ; screenplay by Kayo Hatta and Mari Hatta. Burbank, Calif. : Miramax Home Entertainment : Distributed by Buena Vista Home Entertainment, [2004] 1 DVD videodisc (95 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : A beautiful Japanese young woman goes to Hawaii to marry a man she knows only through his picture. Although she is disappointed when he turns out to be older than his picture led her to believe, she finds that life in this new land is more exciting and satisfying than she expected.
Ping Pong Playa / Cherry Sky Films presents a Joan Huang/Anne Clements production ; produced by Anne Clements, Joan Huang ; written by Jessica Yu, Jimmy Tsai ; directed by Jessica Yu. Chatsworth, CA : Image Entertainment, [2009]. 1 Blu-ray DVD videodisc (96 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.2 .P56 2009 Blu-ray VideoDVD : Christopher 'C-Dub' Wang is a streetwise swaggering suburban guy who waxes political on all things Asian-American. He clings to the pipe dream of being a pro basketball player. But then C-Dub's champion ping pong player brother gets hurt. Now, C-dub must overcome living at home and working a dead-end job, to run his Mom's ping pong classes and defend the family's athletic dynasty by facing off against a devious rival player in the ping pong tournament of the year. Jimmy Tsai, Khary Payton, Smith Cho, Peter Paige, Roger Fan, Jim Lau, Elizabeth Sung, Scott Lowell, Stephnie Weir.
Pushing Hands / Triboro Entertainment Group and CFP ; Central Motion Picture Corporation presents ; in association with Good Machine and Ang Lee Productions ; a film by Ang Lee ; screenplay, Ang Lee ; additional scenes by James Schamus ; producers, Ted Hope [and others] ; director, Ang Lee. [Taipei City] : Central Motion Picture Corp. : Distributed by Image Entertainment, [1999], 1 DVD videodisc (107 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Colleciton : A tai-chi master and widower moves from Beijing to an upscale New York suburb to live with his only son. Now facing an unsympathetic daughter-in-law and a culture that is alien to him, problems quickly arise.
All Asian American movies are located in the Digital and Multimedia Center (4 West) unless otherwise indicated, and can be checked out unless on reserve for a class:
Sake-Bomb / Pictures Dept. presents in associatoin with Cineasta Productions, Planbox, JOF Link, Q-Tec, Inc. ; a Diver Pictures production ; a Junya Sakino film ; produced by Hiromitsu Sendo and Junya Sakino ; directed by Junya Sakino. 1 DVD videodisc (82 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : A sarcastic and self-deprecating Asian-American must take his naive Japanese cousin on a road trip along the California coast to find his ex-girlfriend.
Shanghai Express / a Paramount picture ; Adolf Zukor presents ; directed by Josef von Sternberg ; screen play by Jules Furthman. Universal City, CA : Universal Studios Home Entertainment, [2012] 1 DVD videodisc (83 minutes) : sound, black and white ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.C47 S47353 2012 VideoDVD : After being jilted by Clive Brook, Marlene Dietrich becomes known as Shanghai Lily, a notorious adventuress. During the Chinese civil war, the couple meet on a train which is attacked by Chinese rebels. Dietrich becomes involved with a rebel leader in order to save the man she still loves. Includes original theatrical trailer. Cast includes Anna May Wong, first Asian American film star. Originally released as a motion picture in 1932.
Silencio / a Michael Arago film. San Francisco, CA : Center for Asian American Media, 1997. 1 Streaming Video (9 minutes) from Alexander Street Press : This short film takes place in San Francisco, 1951, focusing on the experience of a young Filipino American trying to adjust to his predominantly Caucasian workplace. It explores the subtleties of how racism affects members of a multi-ethnic family, most tellingly when a mixed-blood sibling denies his ethnic heritage and 'passes' as an Italian American in order to fit in.
Slant, see The Best of Slant.
Snow Falling on Cedars / Universal Pictures presents a Harry J. Ufland/Ron Bass production ; a Kennedy/Marshall production ; a Scott Hicks film ; produced by Kathleen Kennedy, Frank Marshall ; produced by Harry J. Ufland, Ron Bass ; screenplay by Ron Bass and Scott Hicks ; directed by Scott Hicks. Universal City, CA : Universal Studios, [2000]. 1 DVD videodisc (approximately 128 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : When a fisherman is found drowned, suspicion falls on Japanese-American Kazou Miyamoto (Rick Yune). Local reporter Ishmael Chambers (Ethan Hawke) may hold the key to proving Miyamoto's innocence, but there's a problem: Chambers is also in love with Miyamoto's wife (Youki Kudoh). The smoldering tensions of World War II ignite into open racial conflict in director Scott Hick's powerful period drama set in the Pacific Northwest. Cast - Ethan Hawke, James Cromwell, Richard Jenkins, Youki Kudoh, James Rebhorn, Sam Shepard, Rick Yune, Max von Sydow. Also available via NetFlix.
Soap Girl (2002) / Leapfrog Productions presents ; a Young Man Kang film ; story by Tomiko Lee, Dennis James Lee ; screenplay, Tony T.L. Young ; produced by Dennis James Lee ; directed by Young Man Kang. Los Angeles] : Vanguard Cinema, c2005. 1 DVD videodisc (90 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1997.2 .S57 2005 VideoDVD : After a personal tragedy Maya finds work in a seedy hollywood massage parlor. She unexpectedly falls in love with an unlikely customer a 30 year old virgin poet named Harry. Maya takes Harry into her world & inspires him to write a novel about the massage girls as events at the parlor spin out of control.
A tale of love : a film / by Trinh T. Minh-ha and Jean-Paul Bourdier. New York, NY : Distributed by Women Make Movies, c1995. 1 VHS videocassette (108 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in. PN1997 .T238 1995 Videocassette : Portraying the Vietnamese immigrant experience through Kieu, "A tale of love" follows the quest of a woman in love with "Love". The film is loosely inspired by The tale of Kieu, the Vietnamese national poem of love which Vietnamese people see as a mythical biography of their land.
The Thief of Bagdad : an Arabian Nights Fantasy (1924) / [director, Raoul Walsh]. [Los Angeles, Calif.] : Landmark Laservision : Republic Pictures Home Video [distributor], c1991. 2 videodiscs (ca. 140 min.) : sd., b&w with col. tints ; 12 in. PN1995.75 .T47 1991 Video (12 inch) disc 1-2 : A professional thief goes through countless adventures to find true love and happiness. Originally produced as a silent motion picture in 1924. Restored, scored (with theater organ music by Lee Erwin) and tinted by Killiam Shows, Inc. in 1971. Cast features Anna May Wong, first Asian American film star.
Thousand Pieces of Gold / American Playhouse Theatrical Films and Maverick Films International, Ltd. in association with Film Four International ; TPOG, Inc. ; a Greycat Films release. [Los Angeles, Calif.?] : [Hemdale Home Video?], [between 2000 and 2009?] 1 videodisc (105 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.W6 T473 2000z VideoDVD (Also available as streaming video through Kanopy subscription) : Set in the 1880s, this film chronicles the journey of Lalu (Rosalind Chao), a Chinese woman whose financially desperate family sells her as a bride. She is sent to the United States, where she is bought by barkeep Hong King (Michael Paul Chan), who plans to make money off of Lalu by forcing her into a life of prostitution. Unwilling to submit to his demands, she begins her own successful business venture and captures the attention of the troubled but kindly Charlie (Chris Cooper).
Tikki Tikki Tembo : --and more stories to celebrate Asian heritage / Weston Wood Studios, Inc. [United States] : Scholastic : Distributed by New Video, [2011] 1 DVD videodisc (66 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : Features six wonderful read-along children's stories that celebrate Asian heritage. Recommended for ages 3-10. Tikki Tikki Tembo / by Arlene Mosel ; ilustrated by Blair Lent -- The tale of the mandarin ducks / Katherine Paterson ; illustrated by Leon and Diane Dillon -- Grandfather's journey / written and illlustrated by Allen Say -- The stonecutter / written and illustrated by Gerald McDermott -- Lon Po Po : a Red Riding Hood story from China / written and illustrated by Ed Young -- Sam and lucky monkey / written by Karen Chinn ; illustrated by Cornelius Van Wright and Ying-Hwa Hu.
Under one roof / FMF presents ; directed by Todd Wilson ; written by David Lewis. [Philadelphia, Pa.] : TLA Releasing, 2003. 1 DVD videodisc (74 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.H55 U534 2003 VideoDVD : A romantic comedy about a young, gay Chinese-American living in San Francisco with his mother and grandmother, who finds himself falling for Robert, the new lodger in the flat downstairs.
The Wedding Banquet / the Samuel Goldwyn Company ; Central Motion Pictures presents in association with Good Machine ; an Ang Lee film ; screenplay by Ang Lee, Neil Peng, James Schamus ; produced by Ted Hope, James Schamus, Ang Lee ; directed by Ang Lee. Santa Monica, CA : Metro Goldwyn Mayer Home Entertainment, 2004. 1 DVD videodisc (108 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.H55 W433 2004 VideoDVD : Comedy about the age-old conflict between parents and their children. In New York, the Taiwanese half of a gay couple hopes to end his parents' matchmaking by announcing that he's engaged. What he doesn't count on is that they'll fly in to meet the bride and plan the nuptials! Cast : Ah-Leh Gua, Sihung Lung, May Chin, Winston Chao, Mitchell Lichtenstein.
Wendy Wu, Homecoming Warrior / Disney Channel ; directed by John Laing. Burbank, CA : Walt Disney Home Entertainment : Distributed by Buena Vista Home Entertainment, [2006] 1 DVD videodisc (approximately 91 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : Wendy Wu has only one thing on her mind: winning the crown as this year's homecoming queen. But the arrival of a mysterious young Chinese monk named Shen flips her whole world upside down.
What Happened to Her? and The Strawberry Fields / the Independent Television Service and Open City Films presents a Ghost Pictures production in association with Phaedra Cinema ; produced by Jason Kliot, Rea Tajiri, Hank Blumenthal ; story by Kerri Sakamoto and Rea Tajiri ; screenplay by Kerri Sakamoto ; directed by Rea Tajiri. [Los Angeles, Calif.] : Vanguard Cinema, 2005. 1 DVD videodisc (86 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : Tells the story of 16-year-old Japanese American Irene Kawai, whose rebellion explodes in the wake of the death of her younger sister. After a clash with her mother, Irene flees her home and meets up with the ghost of her sister who leads her to the desert where she makes some important discoveries about her family's past in the internment camps during World War II.
White on Rice / Variance Films and Tiger Industry Films present ; a Brainwave/Malatova production ; produced by Duane Anderson, Dominic Fratto ; screenplay by Dave Boyle, Joel Clark ; directed by Dave Boyle. [United States] : Tiger Industry Films : Indie Blitz, 2009. 1 DVD videodisc (86 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in. ROVI Movie Collection : A dark comedy with surprising twists. Freshly divorced, Jimmy lives with his sister Aiko and her family while boldly searching for a new wife. His brother in-law Tak thinks he's a disaster. Jimmy is immature and lacks social graces, however, he is convinced the best years of his life are just beginning. His plan seems like it's all falling into place when Tak's beautiful niece Ramona moves in. But once Jimmy sets his sights on stealing her from his coworker and friend, Tim, he sees his intentions go hilariously awry.
The Year of the Dragon / a presentation of Thirteen/WNET New York, Great Performances, Theater in America ; written by Frank Chin ; produced by Matthew N. Herman ; directed by Russell Treyz & Postman Paget. West Long Branch, NJ : Kultur, 2003. 1 DVD (90 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PS3553.H4897 Y43 2003 VideoDVD (Also available as part of the ROVI Movie Collection) : This filmed version of a play by Frank Chin, was among the first staged salvos against the stereotype that all Asian Americans are upwardly mobile, highly educated, easily and invisibly assimilating into American culture; a benchmark for all other minorities of what can be accomplished by simple hard work.Instead, we see a Chinese American family in the United States not only being oppressed by benign American racism, but slowly and inexorably destroyed by its own inner demons: generational and cultural (Chinese vs. Chinese American vs. American) conflicting values. Although the play is anchored in San Francisco Chinatown in the 1970s, the dialogue has not aged and the energy is always at maximum. For those of you who are most familiar with George Takei as Star Trek's helmsman Sulu, you will be amazed at his performance as an utterly frustrated man at battle with everything created for him and created by him. Essential for literature and language, drama and theater majors.
Yellow / Phaedra Cinema ; Legend Filmworks presents a Public Works Film production ; writer, director, producer, Chris Chan Lee ; producers, David Yang, Rita Yoon. [Huntington Beach, CA] : Vanguard Films, c2001. 1 DVD videodisc (90 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.C55 Y45 2000 VideoDVD : On high school graduation night, Sin, a Korean American teenager is robbed while working alone in his father's grocery store. His best friends band together to raise the money before sunrise so Sin will not have to face his stern father with the news. Cast : Michael Daeho Chung, Soon-tek Oh, Amy Hill, Emily Kuroda, Burt Bulos, John Cho, Jason J. Tobin, Angie Suh, Mia Suh, Mary Chen, Lela Lee.
Confused?
Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service.
