Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Asian American Studies Research Guide: Images

Contents

A compilation of image resources.

Image Collections

Although not focused on Asian Americans, these collections do contain related images if you are willing to try out your searching skills!

AP Images : Also called Associated Press Multimedia Archive. Includes an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the AP news service. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards, but many historical images are also included. All images include descriptive captions and source information.

ArtStor :

Google Images :   

Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google : Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Heh, it may not be from a newspaper but it compliments the AP Images collection.

Library of Congress Newspaper Images via Flicker : In 2008, the Library of Congress began offering historical photograph collections through Flickr in order to share some of our most popular images with a new visual community. Now, the Library of Congress has expanded its Flickr collections to include illustrated and visual content from historic American newspapers available in its online collections.

Picture History  : An on-line archive of images and film footage illuminating more than 200 years of American history.  Click on People and Professions, and then choose Asian Americans.

KUED Topaz Residents Photograph Collection : The photos in this collection document the lives of Japanese American men, women, and children as they faced evacuation from their California homes in 1942 and internment at the Topaz Internment Camp, near Delta, Utah.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University