Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Arab American Studies Research Guide: Breaking News / Newspapers

Newspapers in the MSU Libraries

Electronic Resources : Newspapers provides links to both individual newspapers alphabetically as well as links to some of the more popular collections available to the MSU community and to visitors to the MSU Main Library.

In addition, the MSU Libraries offers a Newspaper Guide.

New America Media News Feed

New American Media: Expanding the News Lens through Ethnic Media  This site provides a wealth of news and other information from all over the US filtered through ethnic lenses. Note Middle Eastern filter.

Photos

AP Images : Also called Associated Press Multimedia Archive. Includes an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the AP news service. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards, but many historical images are also included. All images include descriptive captions and source information.

Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google : Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Heh, it may not be from a newspaper but it compliments the AP Images collection.

Current Ethnic Newspaper Collections (Electronic)

Alt-PressWatch (Proquest) : Full-text database of selected newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage complements the reporting in the mainstream press.

Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) : The Ethnic NewsWatch database provides the full text of ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals in the United States. Coverage varies by paper, but goes as far back as 1960 for some publications.

Curren News Sources

Arab American News  = Ṣadá al-waṭanStamford, CT : SoftLine Information.  The Arab American News is the largest, oldest and most respected Arab American newspaper in the United States. The proof of our journalistic integrity is the mainstream media focus that's been on us throughout the last two decades. The newspaper, its contents and publisher are staples in the local, national and international media.

The Arab Review. An independent online journal exploring the contemporary Middle East through the culture and art of its people. So much of the coverage of the Arab world is shaped by current affairs and political controversy, often sensationalised by western media outlets.

Ethnic Microfilm Newspapers from the Center for Research Libraries

Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions (such as Michigan State University) have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan via their libraries. The loan period is unlimited, but is subject to possible recall notice. To identify what is available try searching the Center for Research Libraries online catalog.  Browse by country, state, U.S. and Canadian ethnic newspapers, or by Civilian Conservation Corps.

Or try searching the... 

Ethnic Press Database. Thousands of volumes of newspapers were produced in the U.S. by ethnic communities from the Civil War to the late 20th century. The papers mirror the lives, values and everyday concerns of America’s various immigrant communities, from the Chinese- and Polish-Americans of 19th Century Chicago to more recently established communities of immigrants from Southeast Asia and the Middle East.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University