Skip to main content
Michigan State University

American Studies: Guide to Materials in the M.S.U. Libraries: Major Research Collections

Resources

TIME SPAN

TITLE

TYPE OF RESOURCE

DESCRIPTION

1473-1700 Early English Books Online (EEBO) Web-based database Scanned copies of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere.
1492-2000 American History in Video Web-based database Contains over 6,000 streaming videos of commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
1500-1926 Sabin Americana: 1500 - 1926 Web-based database An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
1543-1945 Gerritssen Collection/Women's History Online  Web-based database Scanned copies of 265 periodical titles and over 4,400 monographs and pamphlets dealing with women's history.
1600-2000+ Women and social movements in the United States, 1600-2000 Web-based database Includes documents, highly specific questions and social movements.
1639-1800 Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Web-based database Resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. It consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides.
1675-1942 North American Women's Letters and Diaries Web-based database Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.
Colonial period to early 20th century Documenting the American South. Web-based database seven digitization projects: slave narratives, first-person narratives, Southern literature, Confederate imprints, materials related to the church in the black community, and North Caroliniana.
1701-1800 Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Web-based database Scanned copies of 150,000 works published or printed in England, and other English-speaking places around the world (including the rest of the British Isles, the American colonies, and the early United States).
1741 through the 1930s American Periodical Series Articles in 1,028 periodicals
1743-1961       Confidential print. North America Web-based database Britsh official documents marked 'Confidential Print' were printed and circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to Heads of British missions abroad. This resource brings together materials relating to Canada, the United States and the Caribbean
1775-present Oral History Online Web-based database Over more than 34,000 pages of full-text content from English-language interviews gathered from the 1930s onwward. Topics range from the late 18th century to the present time.
1789-present ProQuest Congressional Web-based database Broad range of Congressional information is provided as is a searchable version of CIS/Index, the key indexing & abstracting source for legislative information since 1970. Includes a full text version of the Serial Set (see below)
1789-1969

U. S. Congressional Serial Set

Congressional publications, executive branch publications and nongovernmental publications
1800-1900 19th Century U.S. Newspapers Web-based database "...composed of approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. It includes titles from throughout the United States, including many published in what were, at the time, only territories."
1800-1950 North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories Web-based database Provides "a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950."
1800-1970s Black Studies in Video Web-based database Includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
1801-1819 Early American Imprints Series II (Shaw Shoemaker 1801-1819) 
Web-based database Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.
1802-2000 Periodicals Archive Online Web-based database

Fulltext of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

1820-1922 American pamphlets. Series 1, 1820-1922 Web-based database Fulltext of 25,000 short works printed in every region of the United States
1820-1945 Agriculture and Rural Life in Michigan: 1820-1945 Web-based database References to books, pamphlets, serial publications, and theses & dissertations related to Michigan agriculture and rural life and published by state and local entities prior
to 1946.
1824-1961 Confidential print. North America: Canada, the Caribbean and the USA Web-based database This series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad
1838-1852       American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 Web-based database       "...presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 reveals a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities."
1849-1922 Michigan's Historical Newspapers Web-based database Fulltext access to partial runs of Jackson Citizen Patriot (1849-1922), Kalamazoo Gazette (1872-1919), Lake Superior Miner (1855-1870), Northern Islander (1850-1856), & Weekly Detroit Free Press (1886-1887)
1857-1912 HarpWeek Web-based database Indexing and full text of Harper's Weekly, an important journal documenting American society and culture during the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Gilded Age.
1873-present Congressional Record Contains debates and speeches in Congress. Each volume has its own index.
1890-1922 Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide To Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, With Supplementary Indexing, 1900-1922 Print and online Citations to articles in popular magazines
1900-current Readers' Guide To Periodical Literature Print and online Citations to articles in popular magazines
1850-1877 Making of America (U. of Michigan portion)
Making of America (Cornell U. portion)
Web-based databases Full text of 8,000+ books & 150,000 journal articles from the 19th century. You must search both databases to be comprehensive.
1851-2001 New York Times Web-based database Full text of complete contents of the newspaper.
Michigan State University