Skip to main content
Michigan State University

ChE/MSE 802 - Research Methods: Patents

Information Resources For Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Graduate Students

Patents

USPTO Patent Database
The Full-Text Database offers all US patents issued since 1790, in the form of searchable patent numbers and current US classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent.

Google Patents
With Google Patents, you can search and read the full text of patent grants and applications from around the world. If you're looking for prior art, you can use the integrated Prior Art Finder tool and Google Scholar documents to find patent and non-patent prior art, all in one interface.  Google Patents includes patent applications and grants from the USPTO, EPO, WIPO, DPMA, CIPO and SIPO. Patents without English full text are machine-translated to English, so you can search foreign patent documents using only English keywords.  Documents from Google Scholar have been classified with Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) codes using a machine-classification model, to make it easier to search non-patent literature in a patent searching context.

Espacenet
Espacenet is an online resource created by the European Patent Office. It includes patents issued by the European Patent Office, WIPO and a number of countries.

More Information

For more information about finding and using patents at MSU see

Patents and Patent Information at the Michigan State University Libraries

 

Subject Guide

Tom Volkening's picture
Tom Volkening
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-432-1498
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University