SciFinder: SciFinder allows users to access the world's largest collection of biochemical, chemical, chemical engineering, medical, and related information. SciFinder Scholar indexes journal and conference articles, book chapters, U.S. and foreign patents, and technical reports.
Compendex: Worldwide coverage of journals and conference publications in all areas of engineering.
CAB Abstracts (1910 to the present): CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, annual reports and other sources from many countries are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
New interface for LexisNexis Academic. A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions.
To construct and download in bulk full text corpora derived from newspapers, newswires and legal and trade publications from the LexisNexis Academic database, use Text Assembler
Materials Research Database Bibliographic coverage of serial and non-serial literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Includes the Materials Business Data File.
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Coverage: 1960 - current
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 450,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers are added annually.
ProQuest: ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Reaxys includes three chemistry information databases: Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry. Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focused and relevant information in chemistry.
Scopus: Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with smart tools that track, analyze and visualize research. Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is designed to quickly find the information researchers need. Tools to sort, refine and quickly identify results help you focus on the outcome of your work. You can spend less time mastering databases and more time on research.
Web of Science: Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Science.gov: This portal provides link to scientific and technical information resources produced by many government agencies.
Google Scholar: provides users with a single access point to a broad range of topics across many disciplines and many types of information resources including journal and conference articles, books, reports, theses and government publications. While Google Scholar searches can identify information sources in many formats and covering a wide range of topics it is not the only or best tool for finding information all topics.
Accessing MSU Library resources when using Google Scholar
If you are accessing resources through Google Scholar and want to ensure your access to MSU Library resources is seamless, do the following:
Click here for a list of more Chemistry Databases
Click here for a list of more Engineering Databases