Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Eighteenth-Century Studies: Online Resources: Media

Media

Media contains databases yielding artworks and music for student and faculty research and teaching.

ART HISTORY

bpi1700: British Printed Images to 1700

This is a database of thousands of prints and book illustrations from early modern Britain in fully-searchable form. The image records have been organized in such a way that copies and variations of the same print are gathered together within a single record. Prints can be searched for by producer, by name of person depicted, and by subject, and it is possible to combine various search criteria. The subject search is based on a systematically organized thesaurus arranged by topic, based on and largely compatible with ICONCLASS. Other information included: links to other websites of historical prints and information on history, genres, and techniques of print-making. Led by Professor Michael Hunter from the School of History, Classics and Archaeology at Birkbeck, University of London, bpi1700 is a collaboration between Birkbeck and technical staff at the Centre for Computing in the Humanities at King’s College, London. The project has also involved the Department of Prints and Drawings at the British Museum, and the Department of Word and Image at the Victoria and Albert Museum.

Bridgeman Art Library

A commercial site from which researchers purchase the images.  Large collection, including history, literature, places, people, etc. "With images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, we represent international museums, galleries and artists by providing a central source of fine art for image users. Founded in 1972, the Bridgeman Art Library works with museums, art galleries and artists to make the best art available for reproduction. The result is an outstanding archive of images drawn from collections throughout the world, all of which are available for licensing. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design, antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artefacts and many others also feature in the collection.

Google Advanced Image Search.  All kinds of images.

Lewis Walpole Library

Contains English caricatures and political satirical prints from the 17th to the 19th centuries.

MUSIC

Michigan State University