Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Eighteenth-Century Studies: Online Resources: 2. Early Periodical Literature

Early Periodical Literature

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections. There are now more than 60 partner libraries. For more information, see http://www.hathitrust.org/access.

Periodicals Archive Online

Periodicals Archive Online contains over 600 journals going back to the beginning of publication of periodicals in the late 17th century in the humanities and social sciences, from the microfilm vault of the ProQuest Information and Learning firm, formerly University Microfilms.  The search engine is Periodicals Index Online.  There is not a print counterpart for this index, nor was the body of online texts created from a particular microform set.

Eighteenth-Century Journals Parts I through IV

Eighteenth-Century Journals contains rare English journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.

British Periodicals, Collections I and II

Indexing and full text of British periodicals published from 1681 - 1930. The periodicals included are in the disciplines of literature, history, philosophy, science, social science, and fine arts.

American Periodicals Series (APS) Full Text

Full-text database of American periodicals published between the 1700's and 1899.

*Internet Library of Early Journals

ILEJ, the "Internet Library of Early Journals" was a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the eLib (Electronic Libraries) Programme. It aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data. The core collection for the ILEJ project is runs of at least 20 consecutive years of three 18th-century journals: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society; and three 19th-century journals: Notes and Queries, The Builder and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine. Although the project is not ongoing, some years of these critical 18th and 19th century journals are searchable here.  Free on the internet.

*Google Books Advanced Search

Google Books (previously known as Google Book Search and Google Print) is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.  A click on a result from Google Books opens an interface in which the user may view pages from the book, if out of copyright or if the copyright owner has given permission. Books in the public domain are available in "full view" and free for download. Most scanned works are no longer in print or commercially available.  For those which are, the site provides links to the website of the publisher and booksellers.  Iincludes some periodicals.  In the Advanced search it is possible to specify content "magazines."

 

 

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust was conceived as a collaboration of the thirteen universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation and the University of California system to establish a repository for these universities to archive and share their digitized collections. There are now more than 60 partner libraries. For more information, see http://www.hathitrust.org/access.

*Internet Library of Early Journals

ILEJ, the "Internet Library of Early Journals" was a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford, conducted under the auspices of the eLib (Electronic Libraries) Programme. It aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data. The core collection for the ILEJ project is runs of at least 20 consecutive years of three 18th-century journals: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society; and three 19th-century journals: Notes and Queries, The Builder and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine. Although the project is not ongoing, some years of these critical 18th and 19th century journals are searchable here.  Free on the internet.

*Google Books Advanced Search

Google Books (previously known as Google Book Search and Google Print) is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.  A click on a result from Google Books opens an interface in which the user may view pages from the book, if out of copyright or if the copyright owner has given permission. Books in the public domain are available in "full view" and free for download. Most scanned works are no longer in print or commercially available.  For those which are, the site provides links to the website of the publisher and booksellers.  Iincludes some periodicals.  In the Advanced search it is possible to specify content "magazines."

 

Michigan State University