Skip to main content
Michigan State University

High School Student Guide to the MSU Libraries: At the MSU Libraries

Find Background information

Reference Universe

Search this resource to find all our reference materials

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search 55 encyclopedias for information on your topic

Find Books

How do I search for books on my topic?

To search for books in the MSU Libraries on a topic, you will need to use the catalog. The catalog is a searchable listing of materials owned and located in the MSU Libraries, including: books, journals, government documents, microforms, videos/DVDs/CDs, etc.

When should I use the catalog?

  • To find whether we own a specific book, including its location and call number
  • To browse for books on a topic
  • To find whether we subscribe to a specific magazine, journal, or newspaper

Find Articles and Opinions/Viewpoint Essays

ProQuest

ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

The Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a database covering a variety of social issues including gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, abortion, and terrorism. This resource contains articles from the popular Greenhaven Press series Opposing Viewpoints, At Issue, Current Controversies, and Contemporary Issues Companion Series, as well as statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of special interest groups and more.

CQ Researcher

This web file provides 48 reports a year on current, hot, and controversial topics such as "Embryo Research," "Rethinking Ritalin," "Drinking on Campus," and "Subsidized Access to the Internet for the Poor." Among the file's beauties are its balanced introductions to these issues; others include its generous selection of cross references to past reports, excellent tables and graphs, and clear instructions on how to cite the resource. A full text product.

Important Note

*The resources listed on this page can only be used on the Selected Resources computers located next to the Reference Desk on the 1st floor of the MSU Main Library.

How to ... in the MSU Libraries

Print, Plot & Scan

Learn where and how to do these things in the MSU Main Library.

Copy

Information on copying in the library, locations of copiers and prices.

Check Out MSU Library Books

Learn how to check out the MSU Library books you find.

Use Computers

Selected Resources computers provide access to the Web version of the catalog and the E-Resources that the library subscribes to and are available for visitors to use. (See Terms of Use for E-Journals and other Electronic Resources).
Please ask at the Reference Desk for the location of these machines.

Find Expert Opinions

Other Resources

Learning Express Library

Practice the ACT, SAT, Advanced Placement Tests and more for free!

College Selection Research Guide

Find a wealth of information about colleges, majors, studying abroad and much more.

Career Resources Research Guide

Find information about careers, resumes, cover letters and more.

Michigan State University