Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Atomic History: Electronic Resources

Software

Atomic age

Includes the atomic discoveries of leading scientists from Einstein to Oppenheimer, how nuclear weapons work, the first atomic bomb blast in the New Mexico desert, the Cold War, biographies, maps, timelines, and historical footage.

Critical mass : America's race to build the atomic bomb.

An interactive multimedia presentation of the development of the atomic bomb at Los Alamos. Includes information on the Manhattan Project and the Trinity Site nuclear explosion; biographies of leading scientists working at Los Alamos; a timeline correlating developments in science, politics, and popular culture; and source materials including documents, photos, film clips, etc.

Web Sites

Atomic Archive -- “This site explores the complex history surrounding the invention of the atomic bomb - a crucial turning point for all mankind.” Main features are Science, History, Resource Library, Almanac and a Store.

Atomic Heritage Foundation -- “dedicated to the preservation and interpretation of the Manhattan Project and the Atomic Age.”

Hanford Site Historic District -- Hanford was a key site in nuclear research and production. This site covers World War (1943-1946) and the Cold War (1947-1990).

Leo Szilard Online -- Szilard was a key scientist in the Manhattan Project. The links to Links to Hiroshima & Nagasaki bombs are useful.

National Association of Atomic Veterans, Inc. -- "founded.. for the purposes of allowing the U.S. Atomic Veteran Community to speak, with a single voice, to get a fair hearing related to their developing (radiogenic) health issues..."

National Atomic Museum -- “America's resource for nuclear history and science. The Museum presents exhibits and quality educational programs that convey the diversity of individuals and events that shape the historical and technical context of the nuclear age.” Its “Historical Perspective” section is the most useful.

NuclearFILES.org -- "A project of the Nuclear Age Peace File....an effort to provide the average person access to important documents that often disappear from the public realm and seem to be accessible only to specialists who know how to search dusty archives. We hope that you will find the documents, speeches, and treaties to be pertinent and informative."

Nuclear History Timeline

Nuclear Weapon Archive: A Guide to Nuclear Weapons -- More than a listing to military hardware, this wide-ranging site covers history, present developments, physics, and related web links.

Trinity Atomic Web Site -- "..tell[s] the story of nuclear weapons through historical documents, photos, and videos. In the spirit of Project Gutenberg, the intent is to create an online archive from the large body of U.S. government information about nuclear weapons."

U.S. Department of Energy -- Among other things, the Department of Energy is responsible for the U.S. nuclear establishment.

Michigan State University