Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Social Group Statistics: Families and Children

Topics include: Elderly and Aging, Families and Children, Gender and Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity.

Books

Families and Children

Administration for Children & Families
 

The Administration for Children and Families (ACF), within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is responsible for federal programs that promote the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals, and communities. Data covers topics including adoption, foster care, abuse, child care, and welfare. Annie E. Casey Foundation

Kids Count Data Center
The Data Center includes health topics covering birth outcomes, health insurance, vital statistics, indicators by race and ethnicity, and more.  Create tables, maps, graphs, or raw data by state or across states by topic. 
The annual Kids Count Data Book is available from download from the website or in print.  Call Number: HQ792.U5 K53. Latest edition at Main Library Reference, 1 Center.

 

Census Bureau

Children
Reports and tables from the Survey of Income and Program Participation, Current Population Survey, American Community Survey, and the Decennial Census.

Families and Living Arrangements
Links to relevant tables and reports from the Current Population Survey.

Fertility of American Women
Reports from the Current Population Survey, Survey of Income and Program Participation, and the American Community Survey.

 

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Statistics
Annotated list of links to reports, databases, and other resources that provide access to statistics on child and family well-being, child abuse and neglect, child welfare/foster care, adoption, and related topics.

 

Child Trends

Child Trends Databank
Provides statistics in charts and graphs for over 70 indicators (e.g. health, education, poverty) at many levels of geography--local, state, national and international. References and links to raw data are provided.

 

Children's Defense Fund

State of America's Children Yearbook
Available in print for 1995-2000; 2014 online).

"A comprehensive examination of how children are faring in our country and features data available on our nation's children and reviews developments in family income and jobs, child health, early childhood, education, child welfare and youth development. Graphs and charts along with the latest and most compelling statistics clarify the status of children in several key areas."

 

Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics

Childstats.gov
"Offers easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education." Publishes America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, an annual report on the status of the nation's children, presenting 25 key indicators on critical aspects of children's lives.

 

The Guttmacher Institute
 

The Institute produces a wide range of resources on topics pertaining to sexual and reproductive health, including International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review and Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health. There is state and international data and includes information on abortion, adolescents, contraception, pregnancy, and state policies, services, and financing.

 

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention

National Incidence Studies of Missing, Abducted, Runaway, and Thrownaway Children Series
Missing and exploited children statistics are available from this Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) publication.

Statistical Briefing Book (SBB)
The Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) has been designed to easily find basic statistical information on juvenile offending, victimization of juveniles, and involvement of youth in the juvenile justice system.

 

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

Families and Children: Statistics
Overview of available data and links to statistical reports.  For direct access to OECD data use OECD ILibrary.

 

Research Connections--Child Care & Early Education
 

This site offers an easily searchable collection of more than 10,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. Also available is research data suitable for further analysis and statistical results generated from public sources.

 

UNICEF (United Nations Children's Fund)

Childinfo - Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys
Find statistical information about children by subject area (including child survival and health, child nutrition, maternal health, newborn care, HIV/AIDS, etc.) or by country.  Includes data from the flagship publications State of the World's Children (online or print) and Progress for Children (online or print).

Data Archives and Dataset Files

Data Archives

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

Childcare and Early Education Research Connections promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making.

Integrated Fertility Survey Series provides access to ten individual national studies of fertility encompassing the Growth of American Families (GAF), National Fertility Surveys (NFS), and National Surveys of Family Growth (NSFG) as well as a single dataset composed of harmonized variables across all ten surveys.

National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN)
NDACAN promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis. Applications must be submitted to access data.

Individual Studies

The Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study
The Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study is following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000 (roughly three-quarters of whom were born to unmarried parents). We refer to unmarried parents and their children as "fragile families" to underscore that they are families and that they are at greater risk of breaking up and living in poverty than more traditional
families.

National Survey of America's Families
The National Survey of America's Families provides a comprehensive look at the well-being of children and non-elderly adults, and reveals sometimes striking differences among the 13 states studied in depth. The survey provides quantitative measures of child, adult and family well-being in America, with an emphasis on persons in low-income families.

National Survey of Families and Households (NSFH)
The NSFH was designed to provide a broad range of information on family life to serve as a resource for research across disciplinary perspectives. A considerable amount of life-history information was collected, including: the respondent's family living arrangements in childhood, departures and returns to the parental home, and histories of marriage, cohabitation, education, fertility, and employment. The design permits the detailed description of past and current living arrangements and other characteristics and experiences, as well as the analysis of the consequences of earlier patterns on current states, marital and parenting relationships, kin contact, and economic and psychological well-being. Interviews were conducted in 1987-88, 1992-94, and 2001-2003.

National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)
The National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health.

Michigan State University