Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Social Group Statistics: Race and Ethnicity

Topics include: Elderly and Aging, Families and Children, Gender and Sexuality, Race and Ethnicity.

Statistical Compendiums

Race and Ethnicity Statistics

Census Bureau

Race Data
This subject guide page from the Census Bureau provides an overview of available race data from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, and the Current Population Survey.  Includes relevant reports, working papers, and data tables.

Pew Hispanic Center
"A nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation."  The Center regularly conducts and commissions studies covering demographics, economics, education, identity, immigration, labor, policy and remittances as well as conducting regular public opinion surveys of Latinos.  Dataset files from surveys are posted on the site. The State & County Database provides geographic profiles of the Hispanic population.  Interactive maps, demographic profiles, election '08 factsheets, and links to other relevant resources are also included.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Time series statistics covering population characteristics (race, Hispanic population, slavery).

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Searchable records of over 27,000 slave ship voyages from 1595 and 1866.  Create listings, tables and charts.  Also available on cd-rom and accompanying book.

Relevant Literature

Robbin, A. (1999). The problematic status of statistics on race and ethnicity: An "imperfect representation of reality." Journal of Government Information, 26(5), 467-483.

Data Archives and Dataset Files

Minority Data Resource Center
A thematic collection of datasets from the ICPSR.
"We offer streamlined access to existing ICPSR data and to newly acquired studies that are relevant to the study of immigration, place of origin, ancestry, ethnicity, and race in the United States."

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Premier social science data archive.

Selected topics:
Minorities and Race Relations
Detroit Area Studies

SDA Archive
Offering web-based analysis of survey data.
Lists 5 studies about racial attitudes and prejudice including the National Race and Politics Survey.

North American Jewish DataBank
The North American Jewish Data Bank is the central repository of social scientific studies of North American Jewry. The Data Bank archives and makes available electronically questionnaires, reports and data files from the National Jewish Population Surveys (NJPS) of 1971, 1990 and 2000-01. In addition to the NJPS studies, the Data Bank provides access to other national Jewish population reports, including the American Jewish Identity Survey (AJIS) and the Survey of Heritage and Religious Identification (HARI), 2002. Approximately 100 local Jewish community studies from the major Jewish communities in North America are also included in the Data Bank holdings. Registration is required to access data.

Michigan State University