Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Philosophy Research Guide: Philosophy Articles, Indexes, Abstracts

A selection of resources for Philosophy research and scholarship.

Articles, Indexes, Abstracts

Directory of Open Access Journals

A comprehensive directory of Open Access journals in many disciplines and languages, including over 100 journals in philosophy.

JSTOR

Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will usually be 4-5 years old. Files are in .pdf format.

Periodicals Index Online

Contains citations to articles in more than 3,000 popular and scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences dating from1770-1995. It enables one to go directly from the bibliographic citation to the full text article.

Philosophy Documentation Center Collection

The Philosophy Documentation Center Collection includes dozens of journals (full text and searchable) published by philosophical societies, departments, university presses and commercial publishers from several countries. Full text access is restricted to those journals for which the Libraries has a subscription.

Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index is the major database for academic philosophy. It is a bibliographic database with author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature indexed goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.

Project Muse

Database of articles in full text from over two-hundred journals published by dozens of scholarly publishers in the humanities and social sciences. Generally speaking, only recent issues are available.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

PQD&T is a central resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350- word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Philosophy doctoral and masters students seeking to do original research should consult this database to compare thesis/dissertation ideas.

Subject Guide

Michigan State University