Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Criminal Justice Resources: Introduction

Contents

Welcome to the Criminal Justice Resources Research Guide. Here you will find general information about locating resources on Criminal Justice in  both in the MSU Libraries and beyond. Note the many tabs at the top of the page. Click on the appropriate tab for more information.

The Criminal Justice Resources Library Guide page is a later reincarnation of the prior Criminal Justice Resources Web Page.  Not everything has been migrated over to the new page so you may want to visit there as well..

What is Criminal Justice?

Criminal Justice wikipedia entry.

Criminal Justice entry from Encyclopaeda Britannica.

Criminal Justice at MSU

For more information about the MSU School of Criminal Justice, visit the departmental web site

Director's Message (Mary Finn)

Faculty and staff

MSU School of Criminal Justice Facebook Page

School History

The History of the School of Criminal Justice at Michigan State University 1935-1963 : A Master of Science thesis by Wilbur Lewis Rykert, MSU School of Criminal Justice, 1985.

Criminal Justice Schools Around the Country

All Criminal Justice Schools

CriminalJusticePrograms.com : provides a directory of accredited justice programs around the country, plus articles of interest to those thinking of pursuing a career in criminal justice.

Criminal Justice Schools in the United States of America : Provides web links to schools and departments within a university that offer criminal justice as a program.

Associations

Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) . An international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.

American Society of CriminologyThe American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.

American Sociological Association Teaching Resources and Innovations Library (TRAILS) - The cost of a subscription to TRAILS is $25.00 for ASA members and $100.00 for non-members.  Includes sections on criminal justice and criminology/delinquency.

Crime Prevention Association of Michigan . This association provides and promotes crime prevention, education, training, technical assistance and professional development to crime prevention practitioners to improve the quality of life in Michigan communities.

International Association for Counterterrorism and Security Professionals (IACSP). A center of information and educational services for those concerned about the challenges now facing all free societies, and promoting professional ethics in the counterterrorism field.

International Association for the Study of Organized Crime . A professional association of criminologists, researchers, working professionals, teachers, and students. IASOC works to promote greater understanding and research about organized crime in all its manifestations.

International Association of Professional Security Consultants (IAPSC). A widely recognized consulting association in the security industry, its rigid membership requirements ensure that potential clients may select from the most elite group of professional, ethical and competent security consultants available to them.

Midwestern Criminal Justice Association.  The Midwestern Criminal Justice Association was founded in 1977 with the goal of fostering better communication and collaboration among criminal justice researchers, academics, and practitioners within the Midwestern United States and beyond. We are affiliated with the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences, our national organization. We convene an annual meeting every fall which showcases some of the important work being done across the region. We also sponsor the Journal of Crime and Justice as an outlet for high quality articles related to the field of criminal justice.

National Association of Blacks in Criminal Justice. A multiethnic, nonpartisan, nonprofit association of criminal justice professionals and community leaders dedicated to improving the administration of justice. The Association was founded as a vehicle by which criminal justice practitioners could initiate positive change from within, while increasing opportunities for the average citizen to better understand the nature and the operation of our local, state, and federal criminal justice processes. Membership and participation in the activities of the Association are open to all, irrespective of race, creed, or country of national origin.

National Criminal Justice Association. The National Criminal Justice Association (NCJA) is the Washington, D. C.-based special interest group that represents states on crime control and public safety matters. The NCJA's work focuses primarily on helping develop and implement national policy in the criminal justice field and on helping states address criminal justice-related problems. Under a cooperative agreement first signed in 1982, the NCJA also provides the National Governors' Association (NGA) with staff support on justice and public safety matters. The NCJA and NGA work closely in formulating policy guidance for governors on such public safety issues as drug control, prison and jail crowding, and fire safety.

Encyclopedia of Associations (EA): National Organizations of the U.S., 2017, 56th edition available via the Gale Directory Library in MeL! Click in the “Organizations” + box to select and then type your search term in the “Basic Search” box keeping in mind that you can specify your search words as well as limit results. EA is the most comprehensive source for detailed information on more than 24,000 nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope and multi-national scope. Every entry offers a wealth of valuable data, typically including the organization's complete name, address and phone number together with the primary official's name and title; fax number, website and email when available; founding date, purpose, activities and dues; narrative description of association's purpose and activities; national and international conferences; and more. Encyclopedia of Associations can be an excellent resource for small business development and for entrepreneurs as well as general research.  MeL databases are available to Michigan residents or Michigan library access only.

Video Lectures

Videolectures.net on Criminology.

Crime: The Real Internet Security Problem : Google TechTalks, January 24, 2006, Phillip Hallam-Baker. Internet Crime is a serious and growing problem. Phishing, Advance Fee and Consumer fraud continue to grow at alarming rates. Internet crime is a business that makes huge profits for some. But despite the fact that security has regularly polled as almost every type of Internet user's top priority over the past ten years, almost none of the security mechanisms developed in response are effectively controlling Internet crime. (58:19)

Black Women and the Criminal Justice System.  Part of the Conversations in Black Freedom Studies (CBFS) series which will feature experts that will explore the menace of white terror and criminal injustice against the black community in general and black women in particular. CBFS is curated by professors Jeanne Theoharis (Brooklyn College/CUNY) and Komozi Woodard (Sarah Lawrence College). @SchomburgCenter @SchomburgCBFS #BlkWomenJustice SPEAKER BIOS Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor is the author of From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation (Haymarket Books, 2016), an examination of the history and politics of Black America and the development of the social justice movement, #BlackLivesMatter, in response to police violence in the United States. Dr. Taylor’s research examines race and public policy, including American housing policies. She is currently working on a manuscript titled Race for Profit: Black Housing and the Urban Crisis of the 1970s, which looks at the federal government's promotion of single-family homeownership in black communities after the urban rebellions of the 1960s. Taylor was the Chancellor’s postdoctoral research associate in the Department of African American Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2013-2014. Taylor received her PhD from the Department of African American Studies at Northwestern University in 2013. Keisha N. Blain is a historian of the 20th century United States with broad interdisciplinary interests and specializations in African American History, the modern African Diaspora, and Women’s and Gender Studies. Her research interests include black internationalism, radical politics, and global feminisms. She completed a PhD in History from Princeton University in 2014. Blain published The Charleston Syllabus: Readings on Race, Racism, and Racial Violence. She is currently completing her first book, Contesting the Global Color Line: Black Women, Nationalist Politics, and Internationalism. The book analyzes an array of primary sources to uncover the crucial role women played in building black nationalist and internationalist protest movements in the United States and other parts of the African Diaspora from the early twentieth century to the 1950s. Sarah Haley is the Assistant Professor of Gender Studies and African American Studies at the University of California, Los Angeles. She received her PhD and M.A in African American Studies and American Studies at Yale University. Haley published No Mercy Here: Gender, Punishment, and the Making of Jim Crow Modernity.

Criminal Justice Research Guides

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University