Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Criminal Justice Resources: Find Books

General Tips and Advice

  • Check the MSU Online Catalog for books, videos, and more.  Note that the MSU Online Catalog is a union catalog which includes the holdings of the Library of Michigan, the MSU College of Law Library, and other branches on our own campus.

  • Do a wider search using MelCat (a  network of participating Michigan libraries) or WorldCat (searches thousands of libraries). You can request non-MSU Library materials through interlibrary loan. NOTE: Not all materials listed in MelCat or WorldCat can be borrowed through interlibrary loan, but many can.

  • Don't forget to use the bibliographies in reference works, books, and articles to identify other resources on your topic.

  • Recalling checked out items

  • Requesting books from Remote Storage

Locating Books on Forensic Science

Interested in Forensic Science?  Click here for advice on how to find books on Forensic Science.

Criminal Law and Criminal Justice Book Reviews

Check out Criminal Law and Criminal Justice Book Reviews.  Courtesy of Rutgers University.

Locating Additional Book Reviews

Want to figure out what a book covers?   If you find a record in our online catalog, you can click on the Book Cover and see if a Summary is provided.  If a book cover is not provided in the record or if you want more extensive commentary, consult Book Reviews

NCJRS Microfiche

Many criminal justice faculty and students use the NCJRS database (listed under Find Articles) to identify journal articles.  The MSU Main Library will have many of these journals available, either in print or in electronic format.  Those that we don't own can be requested through interlibrary loan.

The NCJRS database also provides descriptions of NCJRS reports as well.  Although all such reports are available for sale from the NCJRS, be aware that the MSU Library used to purchase NCJRS microfiche reports before the arrival of the Internet. So you may want to check with the Hollander MakeCentral (formerly called Copy Center) to see if we have a microfiche copy under the call number HV6001 .N35.  Most of the NCJRS reports on microfiche are dated between 1981-1995.  It is also possible that some of the later NCJRS reports are available in print in the U.S. documents collection.

Locating Books

Books are the best source for indepth information when you really need to know a subject in and out. Typical books are structured in such a way as to lead you from little knowledge about a subject to a more thorough understanding; this cannot usually be said for web resources or articles. Scholarly articles are typically written by and for experts in a field and so cannot be easily understood by someone that is not familiar with the jargon of that area. Web resources are often the best option for up to date information, but usually do not provide any in depth examination of the information.

Visit the MSU Library home page and type in some key words in the SearchPlus box.  On the left choose books only   Voila.

For a more traditional approach, consider searching the MSU Libraries Online Catalog.

If you do not know the author, title, or LC subject headings, try a keyword or keywords approach. While reviewing the results, note that most records provide LC subject headings which can also be used to identify more books on the same or similar topics.  A separate box below lists some of the more common Library of Congress subject headings which you can use for searching.

Just want to take a quick look in Reference or the stacks?  A separate box below lists some of the key call number ranges.

Selected LC Subject Headings

See a LC subject heading relevant to your topic?

Copy it, click on the Online Catalog link, click on LC Subject button, paste in your subject heading, and see what items are listed.

AERONAUTICS--SECURITY MEASURES
AFRICAN AMERICAN CRIMINALS
AIRLINES--SECURITY MEASURES
AIRPORTS--SECURITY MEASURES
ARREST (POLICE METHODS)
ASIAN AMERICAN CRIMINALS
BIOLOGICAL WEAPONS
BIOTERRORISM
BLACK MAFIA
BOMBINGS
BURGLARS
BURGLARY
CAPITAL PUNISHMENT
CHEMICAL AGENTS (MUNITIONS)
CHEMICAL WARFARE
CHILD ABUSE INVESTIGATION
CHILD SEX OFFENDERS
CHINESE AMERICAN CRIMINALS
CIVIL DEFENSE
COLLECTIVE LABOR AGREEMENTS--POLICE
COMMERCIAL CRIMES
COMMUNITY-BASED CORRECTIONS
CONDUCT OF COURT PROCEEDINGS
CORPORATIONS--CORRUPT PRACTICES
CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTIONS
CORRECTIONAL PERSONNEL
CORRECTIONS
CRIME
CRIME ANALYSIS
CRIME AND CRIMINALS
CRIME AND RACE
CRIME - ECONOMIC ASPECTS
CRIME IN MASS MEDIA
CRIME LABORATORIES
CRIME PREVENTION--UNITED STATES
CRIME SCENE SEARCHES
CRIMINAL ANTHROPOLOGY
CRIMINAL BEHAVIOR, PREDICTION OF
CRIMINAL COURTS
CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION
CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION PSYCHOLOGICAL ASPECTS
CRIMINAL JUSTICE, ADMINISTRATION OF
CRIMINAL JUSTICE, ADMINISTRATION OF - ECONOMIC ASPECTS
CRIMINAL LAW
CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
CRIMINAL PSYCHOLOGY
CRIMINAL STATISTICS
CRIMINALS IDENTIFICATION
CRIMINOLOGY
DEATH ROW INMATES
DEVIANT BEHAVIOR
DISCRIMINATION IN CRIMINAL JUSTICE ADMINISTRATION
DOMESTIC TERRORISM
DRUG TRAFFIC
EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT
EMPLOYEE THEFT
EXECUTIONS AND EXECUTIONERS
FAMILY VIOLENCE
FEAR OF CRIME
FEMALE GANGS
FEMALE JUVENILE DELINQUENTS
FEMALE OFFENDERS
FIREARMS--LAW AND LEGISLATION
FORENSIC PATHOLOGY
FORENSIC PSYCHOLOGY
FORENSIC SCIENCES
FRAUD
FREE PRESS AND FAIR TRIAL
GANG MEMBERS
GANGS
HALFWAY HOUSES
HOMICIDE INVESTIGATION
IMPRISONMENT
INDUSTRIES--SECURITY MEASURES
IRISH AMERICAN CRIMINALS
JUVENILE CORRECTIONS
JUVENILE DELINQUENCY
JUVENILE DELINQUENTS
JUVENILE DETENTION HOMES
JUVENILE JUSTICE, ADMINISTRATION OF
LABOR UNIONS--POLICE
LAW ENFORCEMENT
LAW ENFORCEMENT--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE--UNITED STATES
LOCAL TRANSIT -- SECURITY MEASURES
LYNCHING
MAFIA
MASS MEDIA AND CRIME
MEXICAN AMERICAN CRIMINALS
MONEY LAUNDERING
MONEY LAUNDERING INVESTIGATION
MOTORCYCLE GANGS
MURDER
NARCOTICS
NEWSPAPER COURT REPORTING
OFFENSES AGAINST THE ENVIRONMENT
ORGANIZED CRIME
ORGANIZED CRIME INVESTIGATION
PAROLE
POLICE
POLICE -- JOB STRESS
POLICE -- SUICIDAL BEHAVIOR
POLICE -- UNITED STATES -- EXAMINATIONS, QUESTIONS, ETC.
POLICE ADMINISTRATION
POLICE BRUTALITY
POLICE DISCRETION
POLICE ETHICS
POLICE PATROL
POLICE, PRIVATE
POLICE PURSUIT DRIVING
POLICE QUESTIONING
POLICE SHOOTINGS
PRISON ADMINISTRATION
PRISON GANGS
PRISON PSYCHOLOGY
PRISON RIOTS
PRISONERS
PRISONERS' FAMILIES
PRISONS
PROBATION
PUBLIC TRANSIT -- SECURITY MEASURES
PUNISHMENT
RACIAL PROFILING IN LAW ENFORCEMENT
RACKETEERING
RAPE
RECEIVING STOLEN GOODS
RECIDIVISM
REFORMATORIES FOR WOMEN
RESTORATIVE JUSTICE
RESTRAINT OF PRISONERS
RUSSIAN AMERICAN CRIMINALS
SERIAL MURDER INVESTIGATION -- PSYCHOLOGICAL ASPECTS
SERIAL MURDERS
SERIAL MURDERERS -- PSYCHOLOGY
SEX CRIMES
SEX OFFENDERS
STALKING
STATE-SPONSORED TERRORISM
SUICIDE BOMBERS
TERRORISM
TERRORISM AND MASS MEDIA
TERRORISM -- PREVENTION
TERRORISTS
TRAFFIC ACCIDENT INVESTIGATION
TRANSNATIONAL CRIME
TRANSPORTATION -- SECURITY MEASURES
UNITED STATES FEDERAL BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION
VICTIMS OF CRIMES
VIOLENCE IN MASS MEDIA
WEAPONS OF MASS DESTRUCTION
WHITE COLLAR CRIME INVESTIGATION
WHITE COLLAR CRIMES
WITNESSES
WOMEN CORRECTIONAL PERSONNEL
WOMEN PRISONERS

If you don't find any books in the MSU Libraries or if you want to find additional possibilities, try searching the WORLDCAT database to identify resources available in other libraries around the world. As a MSU faculty or staff member, you can request these materials through MelCat or through interlibrary loan.

LC Call Number Browsing Areas

Here are some Library of Congress call number browsing areas for Criminal Justice.  Check the Reference (1st Floor East) collection or the appropriate sections of the stacks (3 East) for some of our many print resources....

HV 1-5840................... Social pathology
HV 6001-6030............ Criminology-general
HV 6035-6079............ Criminal anthropology
HV 6080-6113............ Criminal psychology
HV 6115-6118............ Causes of crime
HV 6121-6143............ Crime & heredity
HV 6150-6249............ Crime-environment
HV 6250...................... Victims of crime
HV 6251-7220............ Crimes & offenses
HV 7231-9960............ Criminal justice administration

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University