Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Criminal Justice Resources: Encyclopedias

Reference Tools

Reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books can help you

  1. explore a topic (find out what has been said about a topic, trends, issues, etc.
  2. identify unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
  3. find references to other books and articles on the topic, and
  4. find keywords to use in online searches.

This page pulls together a sample of both electronic and print reference tools.

Online Reference Tools

If you don't know where to start, you may want to try one of the following online compilations of reference tools:

Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Includes encyclopedic articles on historical and contemporary Natie American research topics.

Oxford Reference Online.

Contains online versions of dictionaries and encyclopedias previously published in paper by the Oxford University Press.

Sage Reference Online.

Search all titles in the collection, encyclopedias only, handbooks only, or search criminology and criminal justice titles only.

Crime Statistics

Interested in criminal justics statistics or data?  Visit http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/crimestats

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of community corrections / editor, Shannon M. Barton-Bellessa.  Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE, c2012.  HV9279 .E46 2012  Online : In response to recognition in the late 1960s and early 1970s that traditional incarceration was not working, alternatives to standard prison settings were sought and developed. One of those alternatives-community-based corrections-had been conceived in the 1950s as a system that might prove more progressive, humane, and effective, particularly with people who had committed less serious criminal offenses and for whom incarceration, with constant exposure to serious offenders and career criminals, might prove more damaging than rehabilitative. The alternative of community corrections has evolved to become a substantial part of the criminal justice and correctional system, spurred in recent years not so much by a progressive, humane philosophy as by dramatically increasing prison populations, court orders to “fix” overextended prison settings, and an economic search for cost savings. Although community correction programs have been in place for some 40 years now, to date no comprehensive reference resource has tackled this topic. Accessible and jargon-free and available in both print and electronic formats, the one-volume Encyclopedia of Community Corrections will explore all aspects of community corrections, from its philosophical foundation to its current inception.

Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem Solving / Kenneth J. Peak, editor, University of Nevada, Reno.  Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE reference, [2013]  41pp.  HV7936.C83 E53 2013  Online : Community policing, as a philosophy, supports the systematic use of partnerships and problem-solving techniques to proactively address the immediate conditions that give rise to public safety issues, including crime, social disorder, and fear of crime as opposed to responding to crime after it occurs. Community policing expands the traditional police mandate. It broadens the focus of fighting crime to include solving community problems and forming partnerships with people in the community so average citizens can contribute to the policing process. Originating during police reform efforts of the 1970s, the philosophy of community policing is currently widespread and embraced by many citizens, police administrators, scholars, and local and federal politicians. What sorts of collaborative partnerships have evolved between policing agencies and the individuals and communities they serve? How do police departments engage in systematic examination of identified problems to develop effective responses? How have police departments aligned their organizational structures to best support community partnerships and proactive problem solving? Just how effective have efforts at community policing been? These questions and more are explored within the pages of this new reference work.

The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment / edited by Wesley G. Jennings.  Chichester, West Sussex, UK : John Wiley & Sons, 2016.  3 volumes.  HV6017 .E5243 2016  Online : This new work may just start a revolution in the production of subject encyclopedias. The entries are topical, pertinent, succinct, and (finally) long enough to give the reader a fair understanding of the topic. The three volumes are structured around a dozen criminal justice themes, namely types of crimes, corrections, policing, law and justice, research methods, US organizations and institutions, criminological theory, victimology, correlates of crime, special populations, multidisciplinary aspects, and international crime. Almost 300 alphabetical entries (averaging 1,500–5,000 words) provide readers with an appreciation of the highly interdisciplinary nature of crime and punishment—a field of study that spans psychology, sociology, history, law, and public health.   

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment (2007) via Sage Reference Online : The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, the spread of anthrax through the mail, and the constant threat of new attacks have given crime and punishment a new meaning. Words and phrases such as crime scene investigation, criminal profiling, bioterrorism, behavioral forensics, surveillance abuse, toxicology, and victim rights that most of us heard only in television crime dramas or read in mysteries are now part of the daily lexicon. The tragedy of these attacks and the continuing threat posed by domestic and international terrorism make this encyclopedia all the more necessary, as we all need to know and understand more about crime and punishment to make informed decisions as citizens in the twenty-first century.

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice / Gerben Bruinsma and David Weisburd.  New York, NY : Springer New York : Imprint: Springer, 2014.  5614pp.   HV6001-7220.5  Online : An international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice from the University of Amsterdam that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige. This 10-volume work provides a complete and systematic coverage of the field that is unprecedented. The Encyclopedia "defines the field" through its choice of organization and entries. It identifies and brings emerging ideas and trends to the forefront. The Encyclopedia covers Criminology and Criminal Justice in ten broad areas, with leading researchers writing substantive contributions within their area of expertise: Corrections and Criminal Justice Supervision in the Community Courts, Sentencing and the Judicial System Crimes, Criminals and Victims Crime Places and Situations Explanations for Criminal Behavior Forensic Science Data, Methods, and Statistics Police and Law Enforcement Psychology of Law Social Interventions and Prevention This work features approximately 600 entries, organized in alphabetical order. The work is comprised under the direction of two Editors-in-Chief in consultation with 12 Associate Editors and more than 180 Area Editors. It is an essential and dynamic reference for researchers in the fields of Criminology and Criminal Justice, as well as useful a research tool for those in related fields of the social and behavioral sciences.

Encyclopedia of domestic violence and abuse / Laura L. Finley, editor.  Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2013]  2 volues.  HV6626 .E535 2013  Online : This comprehensive, two-volume work examines domestic abuse in the United States and worldwide, providing research, personal stories, and primary documents that reveal the extent of the problem. * Presents personal narratives that highlight the importance of each survivor's unique experience with abuse * Includes primary source documents that address key legislation and court cases * Provides a wide range of resources for researchers, such as recommended reading and film lists as well as state, national, and international organizations related to domestic abuse.

Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America / editor, Jeffrey Ian Ross, University of Baltimore ; foreword by Francis T. Cullen.  Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Reference, [2013]  538pp.  HV6789 .E53 2013  Online : Anyone living or working in a city has feared or experienced street crime at one time or another; whether it be a mugging, purse snatching, or a more violent crime. In the U.S., street crime has recently hovered near historic lows; hence, the declaration of certain analysts that street life in America has never been safer. But is it really? Street crime has changed over past decades, especially with the advent of surveillance cameras in public places the territory of the street criminal but at the same time, criminals have found ways to adapt. This encyclopedic reference focuses primarily on urban lifestyle and its associated crimes, ranging from burglary to drug peddling to murder to new, more sophisticated forms of street crime and scams. This traditional A-to-Z reference has significant coverage of police and courts and other criminal justice sub-disciplines while also featuring thematic articles on the sociology of street crime.

The Encyclopedia of Theoretical Criminology [electronic resource] / edited by J. Mitchell Miller.  Chichester, West Sussex, UK : John Wiley & Sons Inc., 2014.  HV6017 .E536 2014  Available online via Wiley-Blackwell Books. : The definitive reference resource for theoretical criminology. This encyclopedia offers a state-of-the-art survey of leading theories, concepts, and key figures in the field. It combines this breadth of coverage with the authority and international perspective of an experienced team of contributors, creating a definitive reference resource for students, scholars, and professionals.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Forensic Science / editors in chief, Allan Jamieson, Andre  .  Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; [Hoboken, N.J.] : John Wiley & Sons, 2009.  t volumes.  HV8073 .W55 2009 Online  : This A-Z encyclopedia provides a definitive and comprehensive reference on the main areas of specialist and expert knowledge and skills used by those involved in all aspects of the forensic process. It covers all topics which, either as part of an established forensic discipline or as a potentially useful emerging discipline, are of interest to those involved in the forensic process. This work represents the interdisciplinary nature of forensic sciences and covers such key areas as:

  • Behavioural Sciences
  • Biological Sciences
  • Criminalistics
  • Digital Evidence, Multimedia and Engineering
  • DNA Analysis of Biological Fluids
  • Fire and Explosives
  • Investigation & Law Enforcement
  • Law
  • Medicine
  • Statistics and the Evaluation of Evidence
  • Toxicology and Drug Analysis
  • Trace

This includes both the scientific methodology and the admissibility of evidence. The encyclopedia also provides case studies of landmark cases in the definition and practice of forensic science including Frye v. United States and Kumho Tire v. Carmichael.

Encyclopedias, Section One

Assassinations and Executions: An Encyclopedia of Political Violence, 1900-2000 / Harris M. Lentz, III.  Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Company, Inc., 2002. 291pp. Main Library  HV6278 .L45 2002 (Earlier edition covering 1865 to 1986 also available.) : A concise and thorough look at the many world leaders who have met their end in a violent manner.

Crime and the Justice System in America : An Encyclopedia / Frank Schmalleger, ed.  Westport, Ct. : Greenwood Press, 1997. 299pp. Main Library  HV6789 .C6884 1997 : Strives to cover significant terminology, precedent-setting cases, key historical and contemporary figures, notable police initiatives, and significant findings, studies, agencies, and programs. Entries often contains references to recommended readings. Contains a short bibliographic essay highlighting further literature worth studying, an index of legal cases mentioned in the text, and a separate index.

Criminal Justice / edited by Phyllis B. GerstenfeldPasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c2006. Main Library HV9950 .C755 2006 : These three volumes provide an encyclopedic overview of the most important concepts in criminal justice, from individual types of crime to the broader issues of law enforcement, prosecution, and corrections. Entries range from the historical (Salem witchcraft trials, outlaws of the Old West, gangsters, and Scottsboro cases) to the very current (CSI, forensic science, GIS, homeland security, the Patriot Act, and terrorism). Since much of what Americans know about criminal justice is based on television, films, news, and fiction, the editor has inserted numerous sidebars exploring relationships between the popular media and reality to broaden this set's appeal. There is even an appendix (1 of 13) of past and present TV shows with criminal justice themes. Librarians will appreciate the inclusion with every entry of a short bibliography and cross-references to related topics, but may be disappointed that more than a quarter of the entries--on legal terminology--are taken from Salem's American Justice (CH, Nov'96, 34-1258) and Magill's Legal Guide, ed. by T. L. Hall (CH, Jun'00, 37-5438). Separate indexes for subjects and personages facilitate navigation, but why are such disparate figures as Ron Artest, Kobe Bryant, Bill Gates, Michael Jackson, Jack Kevorkian, and Winona Ryder listed under both?

The Encyclopedia of American Law Enforcement / Michael Newton. New York : Facts on File, c2007.  424pp.  Main Library HV8133 .N49 2007 : Provides an A-to-Z history of police agencies and law-enforcement authorities in the emerging and established United States from the 17th century to the present. More than 600 entries highlighting the world of American law enforcement and its role in U.S. history are written in a clear, engaging style that documents key achievements in police work as well as some of its darkest moments. Concise and thoroughly researched, this volume is the perfect handy reference to the subject

Encyclopedia of American Crime / Carl Sifakis. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, c2001. 2 vols.  Main Library HV6789 .S536 2001 : This two volume work presents personalities and events in the history of American crime from the earliest recorded raids to the recent practice of using DNA evidence in the courtroom. It offers more than 2,000 entries and more than 180 photographs and illustrations. This work chronicles America's criminal "firsts" and key social issues contributing to crime. (An earlier edition -- 1982 -- is available in the Main Library Stacks.

Encyclopedia of American Prisons / Marilyn D. McShane and Frank P. Williams, III, eds. New York, N.Y. : Garland Publishing, 1996. 532pp. Main Library HV9471 .E425 1996 : Features more than 160 signed articles by recognized authorities that cover every important aspect of American prisons, from the handling of convicts with AIDS to juvenile delinquents behind bars, from boot camps to life without parole, from racial conflict to sexual exploitation. Each article provides an overview and includes a selective bibliography. The book introduces readers to individuals noted for their work with prisons (James Bennett, Dorothea Dix, Howard Gill); facilitie srenowned for setting precedents (Walnut Street Jail, Alcatraz, Marion); current policy, procedure, and program-oriented descriptions (contraband, boot camps, classification, technology); concise discussions of current prison issues (prisoners' rights, gangs, visits by the children of incarcerated women). The Encyclopedia also surveys and analyzes policies and procedures, such as chain gangs, building tenders, and "Scared Straight" programs, as well as legislation that has shaped prison policy.

Encyclopedia of American Prisons / Carl Sifakis. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, 2003. 336pp. Main Library HV9471 .S54 2003 : The United States currently holds the highest incarceration rate per capita of all Western nations. There are more than 2 million men and women incarcerated in the U.S., and more than 1,500 others are being locked up weekly. Prisons are such a fundamental part of criminal justice today that it is hard to imagine our society without them. The Encyclopedia of American Prisons is a comprehensive reference work covering the full gamut of the American penal system. From the early Pennsylvania and Auburn models, both of which drove many prisoners mad, to later attempts at correctional improvement through the so-called Elmira reformatory system, to limited contemporary efforts to privatize prisons, this book covers the entire history of prisons in America. Entries cover convict labor, escapes, famous and infamous wardens, fires, notable prisoners, prisons, prison riots, prison society, scandals and triumphs, reformers, terminology, and much more. The Encyclopedia of American Prisons also covers key social issues connected to prisons such as overcrowding, mistreatment of prisoners, and the cost of maintaining prison programs.

Encyclopedia of Assassinations / Carl Sifakis. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, 2001. Revised edition, 258pp. Main Library HV6278 .S54 2001 : The Encyclopedia of Assassinations explores the stories surrounding more than 400 assassinations and other attempts at politically motivated violence. Each entry provides the date, location, and a full description of the incident as well as biographical information on the victim and assassin. The Encyclopedia of Assassinations is also illustrated with more than 50 photos.

Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment / Mark Grossman. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998. 330pp. Main Library HV8694 .G76 1998 : Includes articles on myriad topics related to capital punishment, including court cases, organizations, people who were executied, and execution methods. Articles vary in length but each one includes bibliographical references.

Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States / Louis J. Palmer, Jr.  Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2001. 606pp. Main Library HV8694 .P35 2001 : The primary purpose of this volume is to provide a comprehensive source of information on the legal, social, and political history and present status of capital punishment in the U.S. The encyclopedia accomplishes this through the use of A-Z entries, both brief and extensive, covering almost every capital punishment opinion issued by the U.S. Supreme Court through 1999. In addition there are entries covering each jurisdiction in the U.S. that summarize the relevant death penalty laws as well as provide information on the judicial structure of each jurisdiction. There are also entries for the status of capital punishment in other nations of the world; famous capital prosecutions; organizations that are either pro- or anti-capital punishment; capital punishment in the military; and the impact of capital punishment on minority groups in the U.S.

Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States / Louis J. Palmer, Jr.  Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2008. 2nd edition, 623pp. Main Library  HV8694 .P35 2008 : A comprehensive source of information on the legal, social, and political history and present status of capital punishment in the U.S. The encyclopedia accomplishes this through the use of A-Z entries, both brief and extensive, covering almost every capital punishment opinion issued by the U.S. Supreme Court through 1999. In addition there are entries covering each jurisdiction in the U.S. that summarize the relevant death penalty laws as well as provide information on the judicial structure of each jurisdiction. There are also entries for the status of capital punishment in other nations of the world; famous capital prosecutions; organizations that are either pro- or anti-capital punishment; capital punishment in the military; and the impact of capital punishment on minority groups in the U.S....There is a wealth of statistical data and tables presented within the entries. For instance, in Actual innocence claim, a table shows death row inmates released after proving their innocence, giving name, year convicted, year released, and the state in which they were convicted. The entry Women and capital punishment is also interesting, with charts showing that since 1932 only 35 women have been executed on death row, versus 4,418 men. This entry also discusses the controversy over gender discrimination in capital prosecutions....A major proportion of the essays deal with Supreme Court death penalty decisions, and each entry for a Supreme Court case follows a prescribed format. The first paragraph provides a case citation, issue presented, and case holding; the second section provides factual and procedural background on the case; the final section provides the opinion of the Court....Cross-references are used liberally to help the nonspecialist gain access to the many legal issues and terminology. An index also helps to provide access via terms, names, and cases. A two-page bibliography provides sources for additional research and reading.

Encyclopedia of Child Abuse / Robin E. Clark and Judith Freeman Clark. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, 2001. 2nd edition, 344pp. Main Library HV6626.5 .C57 2001 : More than 3 million children are the victims of child abuse each year. An overview of the tragic issues of child abuse. More than 500 A-to-Z entries cover every aspect of the problem - from psychological concerns to political and legal factors, from medical terms to sociological and educational considerations. This edition is revised and expanded.

Encyclopedia of community corrections / editor, Shannon M. Barton-Bellessa.  Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE, c2012.  HV9279 .E46 2012  Online : In response to recognition in the late 1960s and early 1970s that traditional incarceration was not working, alternatives to standard prison settings were sought and developed. One of those alternatives-community-based corrections-had been conceived in the 1950s as a system that might prove more progressive, humane, and effective, particularly with people who had committed less serious criminal offenses and for whom incarceration, with constant exposure to serious offenders and career criminals, might prove more damaging than rehabilitative. The alternative of community corrections has evolved to become a substantial part of the criminal justice and correctional system, spurred in recent years not so much by a progressive, humane philosophy as by dramatically increasing prison populations, court orders to “fix” overextended prison settings, and an economic search for cost savings. Although community correction programs have been in place for some 40 years now, to date no comprehensive reference resource has tackled this topic. Accessible and jargon-free and available in both print and electronic formats, the one-volume Encyclopedia of Community Corrections will explore all aspects of community corrections, from its philosophical foundation to its current inception.

Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem Solving / Kenneth J. Peak, editor, University of Nevada, Reno.  Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE reference, [2013]  41pp.  HV7936.C83 E53 2013  Online : Community policing, as a philosophy, supports the systematic use of partnerships and problem-solving techniques to proactively address the immediate conditions that give rise to public safety issues, including crime, social disorder, and fear of crime as opposed to responding to crime after it occurs. Community policing expands the traditional police mandate. It broadens the focus of fighting crime to include solving community problems and forming partnerships with people in the community so average citizens can contribute to the policing process. Originating during police reform efforts of the 1970s, the philosophy of community policing is currently widespread and embraced by many citizens, police administrators, scholars, and local and federal politicians. What sorts of collaborative partnerships have evolved between policing agencies and the individuals and communities they serve? How do police departments engage in systematic examination of identified problems to develop effective responses? How have police departments aligned their organizational structures to best support community partnerships and proactive problem solving? Just how effective have efforts at community policing been? These questions and more are explored within the pages of this new reference work.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice / Joshua Dressler, ed. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2002. 2nd edition, 1780pp.  Reference HV6017 .E52 2002 vols. 1-4
Also available as:
Crime and Justice, Vol. 1
Crime and Justice, Vol. 2
Crime and Justice, Vol. 3
Crime and Justice, Vol. 4
Contents: v. 1. Abortion to Cruel & unusual punishment -- v. 2. Delinquent & criminal subcultures to Juvenile justice: Institutions -- v. 3. Juvenile justice: Juvenile court to Rural crime -- v. 4. Schools & crime to Wiretapping & eavesdropping. Glossary. Indexes.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice / Sanford H. Kadish. New York, N.Y. : MacMillan, 1983. 4 volumes. Main Library HV6017 .E52 1983 : Although dated, it serves as an excellent reference to the major issues of criminal justice about twenty years ago. Provides long articles on topics such as "Alcohol and Crime", "Capital Punishment", "Crime Causation", "Mass Media and Crime", "Police Misconduct", "Prisons", "Probation and Parole", "Race and Crime", "Sentencing", "Terrorism", "Women and Crime", "Youth Gangs and Groups", etc. Articles are accompanied by bibliographies for further research.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment via Sage Reference Online : The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, the spread of anthrax through the mail, and the constant threat of new attacks have given crime and punishment a new meaning. Words and phrases such as crime scene investigation, criminal profiling, bioterrorism, behavioral forensics, surveillance abuse, toxicology, and victim rights that most of us heard only in television crime dramas or read in mysteries are now part of the daily lexicon. The tragedy of these attacks and the continuing threat posed by domestic and international terrorism make this encyclopedia all the more necessary, as we all need to know and understand more about crime and punishment to make informed decisions as citizens in the twenty-first century.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment / David Levinson. Thousand Oaks, Ca. : Sage, 2002. 2nd edition. 4 volumes. Main Library HV6017 .E539 2002
Also available as:
Crime and Punishment in America, Vol. 1
Crime and Punishment in America, Vol. 2
Crime and Punishment in America, Vol. 3
Crime and Punishment in America, Vol. 4
Crime. It started with Cain and Abel, and it won’t end with the Sopranos. Our fascination with transgression and its punishment is universal. And now, from Sage – the publisher of criminal justice abstracts and other standards in the field – comes the ultimate reference source on this all-consuming subject: comprehensive, authoritative, up-to-the second. Each volume has an appendix, which include ‘Careers in Criminal Justice’ (Vol. 1), ‘Web Resources’ (Vol. 2), ‘Professional and Scholarly Organizations’ (Vol. 3), and ‘Selected Bibliography’ (Vol. 4). The fourth volume also contains a chronology of event in criminal justice from 1795 B.C.E. to the present era of Sammy the Bull, identity theft, and cybercrime.

The Encyclopedia of Crime Scene Investigation / Michael Newton ; foreword by John L. French.  New York : Facts on File, c2008. 334pp.  Main Library HV8073 .N49 2008 : A comprehensive, accessible reference to one of today's most fascinating topics. More than 300 clearly written entries cover all aspects of crime scene investigations, including ballistics, counterfeiting, forensic medicine, firearms, hijacking, identification, poisons, scandals, sex crimes, smuggling, tool marks, and trace evidence. This comprehensive reference also features many case studies that highlight facets of criminal investigation, as well as historical and biographical entries about key breakthroughs and pioneers in the field of forensic science.

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice / Gerben Bruinsma and David Weisburd.  New York, NY : Springer New York : Imprint: Springer, 2014.  5614pp.   HV6001-7220.5  Online : An international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice from the University of Amsterdam that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige. This 10-volume work provides a complete and systematic coverage of the field that is unprecedented. The Encyclopedia "defines the field" through its choice of organization and entries. It identifies and brings emerging ideas and trends to the forefront. The Encyclopedia covers Criminology and Criminal Justice in ten broad areas, with leading researchers writing substantive contributions within their area of expertise: Corrections and Criminal Justice Supervision in the Community Courts, Sentencing and the Judicial System Crimes, Criminals and Victims Crime Places and Situations Explanations for Criminal Behavior Forensic Science Data, Methods, and Statistics Police and Law Enforcement Psychology of Law Social Interventions and Prevention This work features approximately 600 entries, organized in alphabetical order. The work is comprised under the direction of two Editors-in-Chief in consultation with 12 Associate Editors and more than 180 Area Editors. It is an essential and dynamic reference for researchers in the fields of Criminology and Criminal Justice, as well as useful a research tool for those in related fields of the social and behavioral sciences.

Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior / Clifton D. Bryant, editor-in-chief.  Philadelphia, PA : Brunner-Routledge, c2001. 4 volumes. Main Library HV6017 .E53 2001 : The 4 volumes of this set contain more than 500 long entries dealing with matters that are central to the study of deviance. This work aims to define and compile the body of knowledge about deviant behavior and in doing so provides a reference work that is convenient and coherent. Contents: v. 1, Historical, conceptual, and theoretical issues; v. 2, Crime and juvenile delinquency; v. 3, Sexual deviance; v. 4, Self-destructive behavior and disvalued identity.

Encyclopedia of Cybercrime ' Samuel C. McQuade. Westport : Greenwood, 2009. 210pp. Main Library HV6773 .E53 2009 : There are today no more compelling sets of crime and security threats facing nations, communities, organizations, groups, families and individuals than those encompassed by cybercrime. For over fifty years crime enabled by computing and telecommunications technologies have increasingly threatened societies as they have become reliant on information systems for sustaining modernized living. Cybercrime is not a new phenomenon, rather an evolving one with respect to adoption of information technology (IT) for abusive and criminal purposes. Further, by virtue of the myriad ways in which IT is abused, it represents a technological shift in the nature of crime rather than a new form of criminal behavior. In other words, the nature of crime and its impacts on society are changing to the extent computers and other forms of IT are used for illicit purposes. Understanding the subject, then, is imperative to combatting it and to addressing it at various levels....This work is the first comprehensive encyclopedia to address cybercrime. Topical articles address all key areas of concern and specifically those having to with: terminology, definitions and social constructs of crime; national infrastructure security vulnerabilities and capabilities; types of attacks to computers and information systems; computer abusers and cybercriminals; criminological, sociological, psychological and technological theoretical underpinnings of cybercrime; social and economic impacts of crime enabled with information technology (IT) inclusive of harms experienced by victims of cybercrimes and computer abuse; emerging and controversial issues such as online pornography, the computer hacking subculture and potential negative effects of electronic gaming and so-called "computer addiction"; bodies and specific examples of U.S. federal laws and regulations that help to prevent cybercrimes; examples and perspectives of law enforcement, regulatory and professional member associations concerned about cybercrime and its impacts; and computer forensics as well as general investigation/prosecution of high tech crimes and attendant challenges within the United States and internationally.

Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice System / Louis J. Palmer. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2004. 464pp. Main Library RA1057.55 .P34 2004 L Forensic DNA analysis was first introduced to the American criminal justice system in the mid-1980s. In spite of its relatively brief existence in American jurisprudence, DNA testing has become the leading forensic tool for obtaining sexual assault criminal convictions, and the single most powerful evidence for establishing the innocence of criminal suspects and wrongfully convicted defendants. The development of DNA “fingerprinting” and the role it has played in the American criminal justice system is covered in this encyclopedia. Numerous entries explain the relationship of forensic DNA analysis with microbiology, population genetics, statistics, and the legal rules of the admissibility of scientific evidence. The encyclopedia also presents the full text, preceded by summaries, of all state and federal government statutes that address the forensic use of DNA analysis, and the edited text of judicial case opinions that address specific forensic DNA issues. Also included are entries on many of the organizations that use DNA fingerprinting to free wrongly convicted defendants and many of the individuals who were released from prison (many of whom were on death row) after DNA testing proved their innocence.

Encyclopedia of domestic violence and abuse / Laura L. Finley, editor.  Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2013]  2 volues.  HV6626 .E535 2013  Online : This comprehensive, two-volume work examines domestic abuse in the United States and worldwide, providing research, personal stories, and primary documents that reveal the extent of the problem. * Presents personal narratives that highlight the importance of each survivor's unique experience with abuse * Includes primary source documents that address key legislation and court cases * Provides a wide range of resources for researchers, such as recommended reading and film lists as well as state, national, and international organizations related to domestic abuse

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior / Rosalyn Carson-DeWitt, editor-in-chief. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2001. 2nd edition, 4 volumes. Main Library HV5804 .E53 2001 : Provides access to more than 550 articles related to the social, medical and political issues related to drugs and alcohol, as well as different types of addiction, from gambling to overeating. Whether researching current trends, such as "raves" or the illegal use of Oxycodone, or looking into policy issues involving Mexico as a drug supplier, this new edition covers all aspects of drug use, addictive behaviors and their treatments.

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science / Suzanne Bell. New York, NY : Facts on File, 2008. Revised edition, 402pp. Main Library HV8073 .B425 2008 : Students are flooding college and high school forensic science classes with an exciting enthusiasm for science. Television, with shows such as C.S.I. and Cold Case, has made forensic science so popular that the interest has touched many different levels of students. Encyclopedia of Forensic Science, by Suzanne Bell, is an excellent resource for the beginning student in forensic science. The book is arranged by topics A–Z with 12 featured essays interspersed throughout the topics. Each essay is an interesting case study beginning with the history of forensic science, myths of forensic science, testing methods used in forensic science; the final essay is Top Ten Cases in Forensic Science. This book gathers together the core topics in forensic science and arranges the information into a comprehensive volume that is informational and enjoyable to read. The encyclopedia is richly illustrated with more than 200 black-and-white photographs and illustrations, plus a full-color insert containing photographs with depictions of firearms, tool marks, and DNA analysis. Most of the photographs were supplied by working forensic scientists in many different organizations. With updated appendixes aiding further research, this essential revised edition will remain the ultimate primer in the subject of forensic science for high school and college students alike.

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science : A Compendium of Detective Fact and Fiction / Barbara Gardner Conklin, Robert Gardner, Dennis Shortelle. Westport, Conn. : Oryx Press, 2002. 329pp. Main Library HV8073 .C595 2002 : Covers all aspects of forensic science past and present, from types of crime and evidence, to forensic scientists and officials, to the criminals they seek.

Encyclopedia of forensic sciences / editors-in-chief, Jay A Siegel, Professor Emiritus, Michigan State Univeristy and Adjunct Professor, Indiana University, Purdue University, Indianapolis, USA, Pekka J Saukko, Professor and Chairman, Department of Forensic Medicine, University of Turku, Finland ; senior editor, Max M Houck, Department of Forensic Sciences, Consolidated Forensic Laboratory, Washington, D.C., USA.  London, UK ; Waltham, MA, USA : Elsevier, Academic Press, [2013]  4 volumes.  Reference HV8073 .E517 2013 : Forensic science includes all aspects of investigating a crime, including: chemistry, biology and physics, and also incorporates countless other specialties. Today, the service offered under the guise of "forensic science’ includes specialties from virtually all aspects of modern science, medicine, engineering, mathematics and technology. The Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences, Second Edition is a reference source that will inform both the crime scene worker and the laboratory worker of each other’s protocols, procedures and limitations....Written by leading scientists in each area, every article is peer reviewed to establish clarity, accuracy, and comprehensiveness. As reflected in the specialties of its Editorial Board, the contents covers the core theories, methods and techniques employed by forensic scientists – and applications of these that are used in forensic analysis.

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences / Jay A. Siegel, Pekka J. Saukko, Geoffrey C. Knupfer, eds. San Diego, Ca. : Academic Press, 2000. 3 volumes.  Main Library HV8073 .E58 2000 : The largest comprehensive reference source of current knowledge ever made available in the field of forensic science. It covers the core theories, methods and techniques employed by forensic scientists and their application in forensic analysis. Note: Also available electronically.

Encyclopedia of Gangs / Louis Kontos and David C. Brotherton. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008. 289pp. Main Library  HV6439.U5 E53 2008 : "In light of Los Angeles' gang "state of emergency," ethnic and minority gangs are arguably more high profile now than at any other time in our history. News media typically focus on the crime and violence associated with gangs, but not much else. This encyclopedia seeks to illuminate the world of gangs, including gang formations, routine gang activities, aberrations and current developments. One hundred essay entries related to gangs in the United States and worldwide provide a diffuse overview of the gang phenomenon. Each entry defines and explains the term, provides an historical overview, and explains its significance today. As the following entries demonstrate, gangs are part of the fabric of American society. They are not only in our communities but also our schools and other social institutions. Understanding the world of gangs is therefore needed to understand American society." "Entries include: Bikers, Bloods, Cholas, Crips, gang mythology, gang warfare, graffiti, Hell's Angels, Hong Kong Triads, Latin Kings, law enforcement, occultic gangs, mafia, media, prison gangs, rites, Skinheads, Streetgang Terrorism Omnibus Prevention Act, tattoos, trafficking, Wanna-bes, West Side Story, Witness Protection programs, and youth gangs."

Encyclopedia of Genocide / Israel W. Charny. Santa Barbara, Ca. : ABC-Clio, 1999. 2 volumes. Main Library HV6322.7 .E53 1999 : Genocide has been a recurrent theme in human history from antiquity to the present day, and recent events in Kosovo, Rwanda and East Timor have served as a grim reminder that this dreadful phenomenon knows no boundaries of time or place. This encyclopedia is the first reference work to document the full extent of the past and present of this awful subject with authority and objectivity, while also looking to the future and showing how education about the subject can perhaps lead to a world where genocide is better anticipated and prevented....Detailed coverage is provided of many of the known and documented instances of genocide. The best-known instance of all, the Nazi Holocaust, is thoroughly dealt with and set within the context of other genocide such as that of the Armenians in the First World War, the killing in Cambodia under the Khmer Rouge, the treatment of many indigenous peoples by colonizers in the New World, Australia and elsewhere, and the worst aspects of ‘ethnic cleansing’ in the Former Yugoslavia. Attention is paid to the perpetrators and victims of these genocides, the psychology and ideology underlying genocidal acts, the art, literature and film which have been produced in the course of or as the result of genocide, and the treatment of survivors.

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity / Dinah L. Shelton, editor in chief. Framington Hills, MI : Macmillan Reference, c2005. 3 volumes. Main Library HV6322.7 .E532 2005 : Every continent and likely every people have had their share of the crimes, and while the impact of the Nazi Holocaust drives much of the work, the editorial team has cast its net wide, encompassing, for example, less-known crimes against the Beothuk people in Newfoundland and Labrador. Birth and death dates of persons and specific dates of the crimes are given. Entries cover ancient and modern genocides, perpetrators and Victims, incitement and resistance, denial and documentation, international tribunals and national trials, and cultural aspects, such as the ways in which genocide intersects with music and dance. The work includes separate two-page entries on the atrocities at Carthage, Srebrenica, and Wounded Knee as well as concise biographies for individuals ranging from Klaus Barbie, chief of the gestapo in France, to Louise Arbor, chief prosecutor for the International Tribune for the Former Yugoslavia. Concluding the set are a glossary, an excellent filmography, 190 pages of primary sources (historical and international texts and judicial decisions), and an accurate index, which is supplemented by a topical list of entries. Black-and-white photos convey some of the horror of what humanity has wrought. The layout of this very accessible work is noteworthy.

Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights / Glenn H. Utter. Phoenix, Az. : Oryx Press, 2000. 376pp.  Main Library KF3941 .A68 U88 2000 : Presenting information on the Columbine High School shooting and other school-related incidents, this encyclopedia is a natural attention-getter for high school students doing research or writing papers. It's also an excellent first-step resource for college students, teachers, administrators, law enforcement officials, and others interested in gun policy. Arranged in an A-Z format with numerous cross-references, this encyclopedia is especially easy to use. It also contains a guide to selected topics, a chronology (from 1775 to the present), a selected bibliography (including selected Web sites), and more than a dozen tables that list state firearm provisions, trace the growth of federal gun legislation, and track gun imports.

Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime-Fighting (From Airport Security to the ZYX Computer Virus) Michael Newton. New York: Facts on File, 2002. 400pp. Main Library HV6773 .N48 2004 : The history of crime in American has proven that criminals are often the first to seize upon opportunities presented by new technologies and use them for nefarious purposes. It has also demonstrated that law enforcement groups are quick to respond and use high-tech tools to defend the public safety. This is more true than ever, now, when virus alerts arrive in e-mail in-boxes on a regular basis and sophisticated surveillance systems scan every face in a crowd of thousands at football games to weed out suspected criminals....The Encyclopedia of High-Tech Crime and Crime-fighting is the first comprehensive survey of how the underworld takes advantage of new tools and techniques and how authorities can fight back, prevent crime, and capture criminals. In more than 420 entries, the author provides clear, extensive coverage of everything from DNA and medical evidence to computer virus attacks, from blood spatter analysis to explosive detection devices. Many of these topics have become all the more relevant in the wake of the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001.
Topics covered in this unprecedented look at the hottest emerging field in law enforcement include: Acme Rent-A-Car, illegal use of GPS, Airport security, Bank security cell, Chemical and biological weapons, Computer fraud and sabotage/hacking, Computer viruses, Cryptology, Cyberangels , DNA and other medical evidence, Electromagnetic pulse “blackout bombs”, Forensic anthropology identification devices, Identity theft, Luminol testing, Non-lethal weapons, Nuclear emergency search team, Phone cloning and fraud, Police equipment, Psychological profiling, Satellite surveillance, School security, Software, video, and satellite piracy, Synthetic narcotics and designer drugs, Telephone fraud, Toxicology, and Traditional crime and high-tech tools.

The Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime / Carlo DeVito, ed. New York, NY : Facts on File, c2005. 386pp. Main Library HV6441 .D48 2005 : DeVito, an accomplished author and expert on organized crime, presents readers with a comprehensive guide to infamous Mafia warlords and true accounts of organized crime on a global scale. This alphabetically arranged volume covers organized crime units in a variety of countries including, but not limited to, the US, Mexico, China, England, and Australia. Not only does this reference tool span a wide geographical area, it also covers a lengthy time period, from the mid-19th century to the present. This work highlights individual organized crime leaders, specific criminal groups, and various Mafia-related activities. Sections range from a quarter page to several pages, depending on the depth of the topic. Black-and-white photographs accompany the text, adding to an understanding of the subject matter. The references listed at the end of each section include many URLs. An extensive index allows for easy maneuvering through the book and includes helpful cross-references.

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice / Marilyn D. McShane and Frank P. Williams III. Thousand Oaks, Ca. : Sage Publications, c2003. 550pp. Main Library HV9104. E58 2003 : From boot camps to truancy, this Encylopedia provides more than 200 up-to-date, concise, and readable entries in a single, authorative volume. Covers historical and contemporary theories, concepts, and real-world practices of juvenile justice in the United States. Entries cover a broad range of topics such as alcohol and drug abuse, arson, the death penalty for juveniles, computer and Internet crime, gun violence, gangs, missing children, school violence, teen pregnancy, and delinquency theories. In addition, topics cover society's response to the problems of juvenile justice, punishments meeted out to America's juvenile offenders, juvenile rehabiliation programs, and well-know researchers and professionals in the field.

Encyclopedia of Kidnappings / Michael Newton. New York, N.Y. : Facts on File, 2002. 373pp. Main Library HV6595 .N49 2002 : Explores the sinister criminal activity of kidnapping. More than 900 entries survey kidnappings from Biblical times to the present, detailing notorious kinappers, well-known victims, infamous cases as well as numerous other examples of this crime.

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement / Larry E. Sullivan, ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 2005. 3 volumes. Main Library HV7921 .E53 2005 : This three-volume Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement provides a comprehensive, critical, and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. This work is a unique reference source that provides readers with informed discussions on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework. The volumes treat subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing. Many of the themes and issues of policing cut across disciplinary borders, however, and several entries provide comparative information that places the subject in context. Over 400 essays are included.

Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime / Eric W. Hickey. Thousand Oaks, Ca. : Sage Publications, 2003. 603pp. Main Library HV6515 .E5323 2003  : Includes over 500 entries from "aeronautical mass murder" to "zoot suit riots". Among the topics covered are documented cases of serial killers, organized crime, cyberstalking, the death penalty, ethnic cleansing, and terrorism.

Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States : from Capone's Chicago to the New Urban Underworld / Robert J. Kelly. Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press, 2000. 358pp. Main Library HV6446 .K43 2000 : Organized crime in the US dates at least to the Plug Uglies gang in the 1820s. Kelly (Brooklyn Col. and CUNY) confines his coverage to the 20th century, unlike Jay Robert Nash's World Encyclopedia of Organized Crime (1993). The 250 alphabetically arranged entries cover major crime figures as well as public personalities peripherally associated with the underworld (e.g., Walter Winchell; Jack Ruby, who as a teenager worked for Al Capone). In less than half the number of Nash's entries, Kelly supplies 116 unique entries. The entries also include words ("omerta," "consigliere") associated with the Mafia that have entered popular usage. Although drug trafficking and garbage and waste collection are covered, prostitution is not, nor are the Westies, a notorious Hell's Kitchen mob, 1960s-1980s. The entries are generally briefer than Nash's (Kelly devotes nine pages to Capone, Nash 20) and less liberally illustrated with photographs, but nearly all Kelly's entries have see entries and suggested readings. Kelly covers well gangs dominated by various ethnic groups; e.g., Chinese tongs. The style is fluent bordering on breezy, befitting a work discussing hoodlums bearing monikers like "The Ant" or "Benny the Bum." Kelly, a recognized authority on organized crime, has produced a current, authoritative work essential for all academic libraries.
[Organized crime -- United States -- Encyclopedias]

For additional criminal justice encyclopedias, search the MSU Library Online Catalog. Try typing in the following subject headings under Subject: crime--encyclopedias
criminal justice, administration of--encyclopedias
law enforcement--encyclopedias
police--United States--encyclopedias

 

Encyclopedias, Section Two

Encyclopedia of Police Science / William G. Bailey, ed. New York, N.Y. : Garland Publishing, 1995. Second edition, 865pp.  Main Library HV7901 .E53 1995 : A basic overview of modern police administration. Covers topics such as the essential facts and statistics on spouse abuse, Rodney King, the basics of DNA fingerprinting, the legal liabilities of police, the correlation between age and crime, and a review of police patrol experiments. Each article includes a selective bibliography. Contains a separate bibliography of police history and an index to legal cases mentioned throughout the volume.

Encyclopedia of Police Science / Jack R. Greene, ed. New York : Routledge, 2007. 3rd edition.  Main Library HV7901 .E53 2007 : In 1996, Garland published the second edition of the Encyclopedia of Police Science, edited by the late William G. Bailey. The work covered all the major sectors of policing in the US. Since then much research has been done on policing issues, and there have been significant changes in techniques and in the American police system. Technological advances have refined and generated methods of investigation. Political events, such as the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 in the United States, have created new policing needs while affecting public opinion about law enforcement. These developments appear in the third, expanded edition of the Encyclopedia of Police Science. 380 entries examine the theoretical and practical aspects of law enforcement, discussing past and present practices. Also added are themes such as accountability, the culture of police, and the legal framework that affects police decision. New topics discuss recent issues, such as Internet and crime, international terrorism, airport safety, or racial profiling. Entries are contributed by scholars as well as experts working in police departments, crime labs, and various fields of policing.

Encyclopedia of Prisons & Correctional Facilities / Mary Bosworth, editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2005. 2 volumes.
Main Library HV9471 .E693 2005 : This encyclopedia features 400 alphabetically arranged, signed entries on the history and current state of imprisonment in America. The varied topics include prison architecture (Cottage system, Supermax prisons); life in prison (Gangs, Islam in prison, Lawyer's visits); security (Electronic monitoring, Minimum security); prisoner characteristics (Drug offenders, Mothers in prison, Native American prisoners); and technicalities of punishment (Habeas corpus, Three-strikes legislation), among others. Although there are entries for some other English-speaking countries, such as Australia and Canada, emphasis is on the U.S. In the introduction, the editor remarks that the high incarceration rate in the U.S. is now an indelible part of the country's collective cultural imagination.

Encyclopedia of Rape / Merril D. Smith, ed.  Westport, CT : Greenwood, 2004. 336pp. Main Library HV6558 .E53 2004 : Offers 185 entries in an A-to-Z essay format covering the historical scope and magnitude of this issue in the United States and globally. Written by a host of scholars from diverse fields, it provides informed perspectives on the key dimensions of the topic, from concepts, social movements, offenders, high-profile cases, legislation, influential activists, landmark texts, and victimology to representations in literature and art.

The Encyclopedia of Robberies, Heists, and Capers / Michael Newton.  New York, NY : Facts on File, c2002.  358pp.  Main Library HV6648 .N49 2002 

Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence / Laura Finley.  ABC-CLIO, 2011.  692pp.   Main Library HV6250.4.S78 E53 2011 : Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence is the most comprehensive reference on this deeply unsettling topic ever undertaken. No other volume integrates as much information about the many types of crime and violence occurring in schools as well as the variety of responses and prevention efforts aimed at curbing it....In a series of alphabetically organized entries, Encyclopedia of School Crime and Violence looks at significant cases both at high schools and on college campuses, with coverage that includes professional and community responses, and theories as to why these events happened. Unlike other volumes that focus only on the most sensational events, the encyclopedia spans the full spectrum of school crime—not just the high profile cases like Columbine and Virginia Tech, but the insidious problems of theft, bullying, cybercrime, violence, sexual assault, and more. Coverage includes information on some cases outside the United States, as well as entries on the government agencies and other organizations dedicated to analyzing and eradicating school crime and violence.

Encyclopedia of Security Management : Techniques & Technology / John J. Fay, ed. Boston : Butterworth-Heinemann, c1993. 792pp. Main Library HV8290 .S365 1993 : “To be truly qualified generalists, professional security practitioners need an authoritative reference source to help keep them informed. Encyclopedia of Security Management is a complete reference for security managers, encompassing topics in administration, specialized security functions, and technology. Continuous learning is required of security managers who' are determined to stay current. The area of electronic technology, with its myriad of security applications, has practically exploded in recent years. The product of this rapid evolution is specialization, which can be both positive and negative. The usual experience of a security practitioner is to spend formative years in a relatively specialized area, such as supervising contract guard services, conducting investigations, or installing alarm systems. When promoted to a managerial level, the individual brings to the new job a limited, one dimensional viewpoint. With coverage of the A to Z topics concern security mangers, this volume describes the basics of each topic, and the information needed to apply this knowledge to any reader's job, business, or industry. In addition, the book's sample policies, procedures, guides, forms, checklists and drawings can be easily converted for a security manager’s use.” Contents include: Access control; Bank security; budgeting; Business ethics; Corporate crime; Drug abuse in the workplace; Fire protection; forensic sciences; Government security; Home security; Hospital security; Information security; Management of people; National security; Office security; Physical security; Policy and procedures; Real estate security; Racketeering; Risk analysis; Security education; Security officer operations; Systems management; Terrorism; Training; Transportation security; Violence in the workplace; White collar crime.

Encyclopedia of Serial Killers / Michael Newton. New York, N.Y. : Checkmark Books an imprint of Facts on File, 2000. 391pp. Main Library HV6245 .N49 2000 : The Enclyclopedia of Serial Killers offers an unprecedented view of serial killing from ancient Rome to the present day, providing the most comprehensive resource available on the topic and shattering many of the popular myths about this most terrifying breed of criminal. Topics covered include: case studies of notorious serial killings and the criminal monsters who perpetrated them; key law enforcement figures and the techniques they use to catch their prey; the psychology of serial murder - what contributes to the making of a murderer and what motivates them; how societies choose to deal with and punish serial killers; different types of serial killers and their methods; and baffling unsolved cases, including Jack the Ripper and the Green River Killer. Includes more than 240 detailed entries, 70 photographs, and extensive appendixes.

Encyclopedia of Sociology / Edgar F. and Marie L. Borgatta, eds. New York, N.Y. : Macmillan, 1992. 4 volumes. Main Library  HM17 .E5 1992 : As the definitive encyclopedia for the field of sociology, this covers such topics as U.S. court systems, crime deterrence, crime rates, theories of crime, criminal and delinquent subcultures, criminal sanctions, criminology, family violence, organized crime, probation and parole, police, sexual violence and abuse, violent crime, white-collar crime, etc. Each entry includes a brief bibliography.

Encyclopedia of Sociology / Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda Montgomery, managing editor. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2000. 2nd ed., 5 volumes. Main Library HM425 .E5 2000 : The second edition, under the guidance of Borgatta, the original editor-in-chief, continues to serve in the role its predecessor claimed as a complete overview of the field but with more up-to-date coverage.

Encyclopedia of Street Crime in America / editor, Jeffrey Ian Ross, University of Baltimore ; foreword by Francis T. Cullen.  Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Reference, [2013]  538pp.  HV6789 .E53 2013  Online : Anyone living or working in a city has feared or experienced street crime at one time or another; whether it be a mugging, purse snatching, or a more violent crime. In the U.S., street crime has recently hovered near historic lows; hence, the declaration of certain analysts that street life in America has never been safer. But is it really? Street crime has changed over past decades, especially with the advent of surveillance cameras in public places the territory of the street criminal but at the same time, criminals have found ways to adapt. This encyclopedic reference focuses primarily on urban lifestyle and its associated crimes, ranging from burglary to drug peddling to murder to new, more sophisticated forms of street crime and scams. This traditional A-to-Z reference has significant coverage of police and courts and other criminal justice sub-disciplines while also featuring thematic articles on the sociology of street crime.

Encyclopedia of Terrorism / Harvey W. Kushner.   Thousand Oaks, Ca. : Sage Publications, c2003. 550pp. Main Library HV6431 .K883 2003 : With more than 300 articles, the Encylopedia provides detailed discussions of the who, what, where, when, and why of terorism. Up-to-date and tmely, the articles cover such topics as Al Qaeda, biological terrorism, extremism, Saddam Hussein, Jihad, Zacarias Moussaouit, and suicide bombers.

The Encyclopedia of Theoretical Criminology [electronic resource] / edited by J. Mitchell Miller.  Chichester, West Sussex, UK : John Wiley & Sons Inc., 2014.  HV6017 .E536 2014  Available online via Wiley-Blackwell Books. : The definitive reference resource for theoretical criminology. This encyclopedia offers a state-of-the-art survey of leading theories, concepts, and key figures in the field. It combines this breadth of coverage with the authority and international perspective of an experienced team of contributors, creating a definitive reference resource for students, scholars, and professionals.

Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention / editors, Bonnie S. Fisher, Steven P. Lab. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, c2010.  2 volumes.  1174pp.  Main Library HV6250.3.U5 E55X 2010 : In many ways, the two fields of victimology and crime prevention have developed along parallel yet separate paths, and the literature on both has been scattered across disciplines as varied as sociology, law and criminology, public health and medicine, political science and public policy, economics, psychology and human services, and others. The Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention brings together in one authoritative resource the dispersed information and knowledge on both victimology and crime prevention. With nearly 375 entries, this two-volume set moves victimology and crime prevention one step further into recognized scholarly fields whose research informs practice and whose practice informs research. Key Features:Provides users with the most authoritative and comprehensive coverage available on victimology and crime prevention. Presents victimology and crime prevention as their own separate, justifiable disciplines rather than subfields within more established disciplines. Discusses the status of victims within the criminal justice system, as well as topics of deterring and preventing victimization in the first place and responding to victims' needs. Offers "anchor essays" written by leading scholars in their respective fields to provide starting points for investigating the more salient victimology and crime prevention topics. Key Themes: Business Prevention Actions, Civil Justice System, Correlates of Victimization, Courts: Alternative Remedies, Courts: Lawand Justice, Crime Prevention, Crime Prevention Partnerships, Criminal Justice System, Fear of Crime, Individual Protection Actions, Interventions and Intervention Programs for Victim and Offender, Intrafamilial Offenses, Legislation and Statutes, Media and Crime Prevention, Methodology, Offenses, Special Topics, Official Crime Data, Personal Offenses, Property Offenses, Psychological, Mental, and Physical Health Issues, Residential Community Crime Prevention, School and Workplace Offenses, School-Based Crime Prevention, Services and Treatment for Victims, Theory, Victimization Scales and Surveys, Victimology, and Youth-Focused Crime Prevention. The victimology-crime prevention nexus provides the foundation for a comprehensive and, hopefully, long-lasting approach to addressing the publics risk of being victimized and aids individuals who are targeted by a criminal act. This is a welcome addition to any academic library.  Note: online access coming soon.

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict / Lester Kurtz, ed.  San Diego ; London : Academic Press, c1999. 3 vols. Main Library  HM291 .E625 1999 : Brings together 196 articles covering what is known about violence, how it can be mitigated and what are its alternatives. The authors of the articles come from a wide variety of disciplines and countries, and the articles cover issues such as: security studies, ethnicity and identify politics, chemical and biological war crimes, violence toward homosexuals, hate crimes, genocide, clan and tribal conflict, drug control policies, pornography, homicide, serial killers, mass murderers, child abuse, human rights, sexual assault, mental health issues, and violence toward animals.

Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime / general editor, Lawrence M. Salinger Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications, c2005.  2 volumes, 974pp.  Gast Business Library HV6768 .E63 2005 : Using a broad definition of white-collar crime that is both sociological and legalistic in nature, Salinger (Arkansas State U.) presents an encyclopedia meant to provide college, public, or high-school library users with legal and historical information about white-collar crime--particularly in the contemporary United States. The 500 or so alphabetical entries cover specific companies and individuals as well as legal and thematic topics which fall under categories such as business fraud and crimes, consumers, countries and regions, criminology and justice, financial and securities fraud, medical and healthcare fraud, political scandals, pollution, products, regulation, scams and swindles, war-profiteering, and work-related crimes. The encyclopedia also contains a brief timeline and appendixes providing a glossary, summaries of laws, and a bibliographical guide to additional research. Note: online access coming soon.

Encyclopedia of White-Collar Crime / edited by Jurg Gerber and Eric L. Jensen with the collaboration of Jiletta L. Kubena. Westport. Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007. 316pp. Main Library HV6768 .E65 2007 : The high profile collapse of Enron, WorldCom, and Arthur Andersen are recent examples of corporate scandals that have rocked the business world. This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the history and current state of major corporate and other forms of white-collar crime. While emphasis is placed on contemporary events, the most significant events from the history of white-collar crime are included as well. Geographic coverage focuses on events in English speaking parts of the world, but major cases in other countries are also included.

Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime / Lawrence M. Salinger, ed. Thousand Oaks, Ca.: Sage, 2005. 2 vols. Gast Business Library Reference HV6768 .E63 2005 : While we can easily name examples of white-collar crime, such as the Enron accounting scandal and the recent trial in the US of Martha Stewart for illegal share trading activities , there is no clear definition of what is meant by the term white-collar crime. The term White Color Crime was coined in 1939 by Edwin H. Sutherland in a ground-breaking address to the American Sociological Society. Sutherland challenged conventional theories and stereotypes to point out that we needed to look beyond poverty in studying crime, as criminal behavior could also be seen in persons of affluence and high social status....With more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime attempts to provide an indepth examination of this relatively new social phenomenon. Encompassing historical perspectives, definitions, examples, investigations, prosecutions, assessments, challenges, and projections this forms the definitive reference work on this topic.

Encyclopedia of Women and Crime / Nicole Hahn Rafter. Phoenix, Az. : Oryx Press, 2000. 361pp. Main Library HV6046 .E56 2000 : The first comprehensive reference book on the topic of women and crime. Covering women as offenders, victims, criminologists, criminal lawyers, reformers, and workers in the criminal justice system, it brings together information developed in widely separated places and published in diverse sources since the late 1960s.

Encyclopedia of World Crime / Jay Robert Nash. Wilmette, Il. : CrimeBooks, Inc., 1989-1999. 8 volumes. Main Library HV6017 .N377 : Aims to present a complete historical perspective of crime, from ancient times to the present. Contains more than 50,000 entries. The international scope of the work encompasses all countries and continents, presenting the most notable and important international criminal cases, persons, places, and events, as well as important persons in the fields of law enforcement, criminal justice, the judiciary, criminology, identification systems, forensic medicine, pathology, penology, and criminal psychiatry and psychology. Moreover, this work provides thousands of entries dealing with works of drama, fiction, film, poetry, and song, explaining the real-life role models for such works. Individual entries often contain bibliographic references for further research. Complete bibliographic information is provided in Volume 6 (327 pages worth), plus a detailed subject index.

Encyclopedia of World Terrorism / Martha Crenshaw. Armonk, N.Y. : M. E. Sharpe, 1997. 3 volumes.  Main Library HV6431 .E53 1997 : This timely three-volume set illustrates how deeply the world has been changed by violent events in the 20th century and provides students with a new awareness of how these events continue to shape modern history. Each highly accessible article includes summaries and key fact boxes as well as a list of further readings. The up-to-date Encyclopedia includes entries on the Oklahoma City Bombing, Pan Am Flight 103, and other such terrorist acts that continue to be front-page news. No other reference on this topic explains in such careful detail how violence is being used to achieve political ends all over the world, even in the United States....Volume 1 explores the historical background of different eras: from ancient Greece through 1939; during WWII; and modern terrorist compaigns worldwide. It discusses specific types of terrorism; techniques and methods; and the psychology of terrorism. Volume 2 focuses on terrorist groups and campaigns, with emphasis on the Middle East (including the 1996 peace process), and also covers radical Muslim terrorism, terrorism in Latin America, post-Colonial Asia and Africa, and war and civil war since 1945. Volume 3 is devoted to terrorism in the industrialized world: the United States, Europe, Israel, Britain, and Latin America, with a complete section on responses to terrorism.

Encyclopedia of World Terrorism / Edited by Frank Shanty and Raymond Picquet ; John Lalla, documents editor]. Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, 2003. 2 volumes.  Main Library HV6431 .E53 2003 : Today more than ever, terrorism is one of the most compelling domestic and international concerns. This timely and authoritative work is the definitive research tool for the topic. It picks up where the original and highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of World Terrorism leaves off, and examines terrorist activity worldwide from the mid-1990s to the present. The set covers the attack on the World Trade Center, the War on Terrorism, and the escalating violence in Israel and the occupied territories in detail, offering historical context and contemporary analysis by terrorism and counter-terrorism experts. It investigates key issues and events related to global and domestic terrorism, as well as current and future trends in terrorism and counter-terrorism. The work includes completely new and original entries on terrorist individuals, organizations, and activities around the globe, and it also update entries from the original Encyclopedia of World Terrorism where appropriate. In addition , this set includes a complete volume of primary source documents relating to terrorism from ancient times to the present.

FBI Encylopedia / Michael Newton.   Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, 2003. 440pp. Main Library HV8144 .F43 N48 2003 : The FBI, America’s most famous law enforcement agency, was established more than ninety years ago. Since its inception in 1908, the FBI has been the subject of countless books, articles, essays, congressional investigations, television programs and motion pictures, but it remains an enigma to most U.S. citizens, deliberately shrouded in mystery on the basis of privacy or national security concerns....This work presents entries on a broad range of topics related to the FBI, including biographical sketches of directors, agents, attorneys general, notorious fugitives, and people (both well known and unknown) targeted by the FBI; events, cases and investigations such as ILLWIND, ABSCAM and Amerasia; FBI terminology and programs such as COINTELPRO and VICAP; organizations targeted for surveillance or disruption including the KGB and the Ku Klux Klan; and various general topics such as psychological profiling, fingerprinting and electronic surveillance. It begins with a brief overview of the FBI’s origins and history.

FBI Most Wanted: An Encyclopedia / Michael and Judy Ann Newton. New York, N.Y. : Garland Publishing, 1989. 342pp. Main Library HV6785 .N48 1989  : A case by case description of fugitives who made the FBI's Most Wanted list from its inception to the summer of 1988.

Guns in American Society : An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law / edited by Gregg Lee Carter.  Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2002.  2 volumes.  Main Library HV7436 .G8783 2002 : Top scholars present an unbiased, two-volume set that takes on the explosive issue of guns and gun violence in the United States.

Guns in American society : an encyclopedia of history, politics, culture, and the law / Gregg Lee Carter, editor.  Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 2012.  2nd edition, 3 volumes Main Library HV7436 .G8783 2012 :  This three-volume reference offers wide-ranging coverage of the topic in a manner accessible to students and general readers, and useful, perhaps, to professionals involved with law enforcement or policy planning who need a one-stop source of information. Roughly 450 alphabetically arranged entries (100 more than the first edition published in 2002) address background, issues, and controversies, drawing on research in multiple disciplines including criminology, history, law, medicine, politics, and sociology. The entries are short, ranging from a half page to several pages; they are signed and include reference and cross references. A substantial narrative chronology occupies 20-plus pages in the front matter and offers a history of watershed events since 1787, with discussion of their context and implications for today's debate. Appendices present key federal and state gun laws and a list of organizations concerned with the role of guns in American society. Indexing in the third volume provides access by subject, and cross references in the entries themselves help with navigation of the contents; but future editions could be enhanced by inclusion of a thematic guide to the entries.

The Ku Klux Klan : An Encyclopedia / [by] Michael & Judy Ann Newton.  New York : Garland Pub., c1991.  639pp.  Main Library HS2330.K63 N49 1991

Mafia Encyclopedia / Carl Sifakis. New York : Facts on File, c1999. 2nd ed., 414pp. Main Library HV6441 .S53 1999 (Also available electronically) : Covers history, biographies, and key events.

Prisons and Prison Systems : A Global Encyclopedia / Mitchel P. Roth . Westport, CT : Greenwood, 2006. 351pp. Main Library HV8665 .R67 2006 : A historical overview of institutions and systems around the world, as well as penal theories, prisoner culture and life, and notable prisoners and personnel.

The War on Drugs : an International Encyclopedia / Ron Chepesiuk. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1999. 310pp. Main Library HV5804 .C47 1999 : Despite such countermeasures as the execution of narcotic dealers in China and the United States's much-ballyhooed "War on Drugs", drug traffickers have always managed to supply drugs to meet the demand and satisfy an ever-growing customer base. This work presents information about such topics as : the infamous Opium Wars, the legal availability of narcotics in the United States during the past century, and the unexpected boost given to illicit drugs by the "Prohibition" of alcohol.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Forensic Science / editors in chief, Allan Jamieson, Andre  .  Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; [Hoboken, N.J.] : John Wiley & Sons, 2009.  t volumes.  HV8073 .W55 2009 Online  : This A-Z encyclopedia provides a definitive and comprehensive reference on the main areas of specialist and expert knowledge and skills used by those involved in all aspects of the forensic process. It covers all topics which, either as part of an established forensic discipline or as a potentially useful emerging discipline, are of interest to those involved in the forensic process. This work represents the interdisciplinary nature of forensic sciences and covers such key areas as:

  • Behavioural Sciences
  • Biological Sciences
  • Criminalistics
  • Digital Evidence, Multimedia and Engineering
  • DNA Analysis of Biological Fluids
  • Fire and Explosives
  • Investigation & Law Enforcement
  • Law
  • Medicine
  • Statistics and the Evaluation of Evidence
  • Toxicology and Drug Analysis
  • Trace

This includes both the scientific methodology and the admissibility of evidence. The encyclopedia also provides case studies of landmark cases in the definition and practice of forensic science including Frye v. United States and Kumho Tire v. Carmichael.

World Police Encyclopedia / Dilip K. Das, editor ; Michael J. Palmiotto, managing editor. New York : Routledge, 2006. 2 vols. Main Library HV7901 .W64 2006 : The increasingly international nature of crime underscores the need for countries to work together to control crime and terrorism. For there to be effective and efficient cooperation on the international level, it is necessary for countries to understand the structure of other police systems. The World Police Encyclopedia fulfills this need by providing a systematic survey of the police systems of all the member nations in the United Nations and Taiwan.

World Terrorism : An Encyclopedia of Political Violence from Ancient Times to the Post-9/11 Era / James Ciment.  Armonk : M. E. Sharpe, 2011.  2nd edition, 911 pp. in 3 vols.  Main Library HV6431 .W67 2011 :  Provides a wide array of 200 articles on terrorism and counterterrorism.  Materials are sorted into five major sections: essays that cover the meaning of terrorism; historical global attacks; a special section devoted to 9/11; tactics, methods, and aims; and counterterrorism. While articles are arranged alphabetically within each section, they are not arranged alphabetically across the set, and this makes the index to the printed version essential. The global and historical coverage is impressive." Special end features include a listing of terrorist groups and individuals.

For additional criminal justice encyclopedias, search the MSU Library Online Catalog. Try typing in the following subject headings under Subject: crime--encyclopedias
criminal justice, administration of--encyclopedias
law enforcement--encyclopedias
police--United States--encyclopedias

 

Ask a Librarian

Michigan State University